Steem Cameroon Best Day Contest 02/09/2021

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

I... Don't know how to actually start. 😅My hands are a little shaky and I'm a little nervous. I have never done this contest before. But like the saying goes...

Everything has a first time I usually did not considered a day as a "best day". But something about this day stroke me differently and I wish to share it with you.

My best day was the 29th of August(Sunday) Let me tell you why I chose this particular day.
I hope you enjoy as you read through.

MORNING
I woke up very early and I prepared for church. I was going for the first mass. So by 6:30am I was done. I left the house and headed for church. Service took about 2hours 30 minutes.
Then I rushed home. I was all excited and a little tensed. I had a show to perform a poem in. And I had not mastered the poem perfectly.
At home, I took some pictures of I and my nephew. We'd dressed in the same fabric

IMG-20210829-WA0030.jpg
My nephew and I after church

LATE MORNING
It was about 9am when I rushed to the kitchen to cook. We had rehearsals at 11 since the event was to start at 2pm. I finished cooking and decided not to go for the rehearsals again but stay home and master my poem with a cool head.

MIDDAY
I left the house at a few minutes pass 11 and headed to town to see a makeup artist, special effects makeup artist. She was to do some transformation on my face.
So when I got there, the time they would take to do the makeup was far to much and it would have interfered with the show. I asked her that we postpone and she agreed. After "cramming" the poem, I headed to the place for the event. (Black Swagger Poetry slam).

AFTERNOON
I arrived in the centre just in time. There was a some finally touches to be made before the event kicked off.

IMG-20210829-WA0067.jpeg

Black Swagger Poetry slam was celebrating our 6th year anniversary.
About an hour later the even started. Majority of the people I had I voted came to watch me perform. And I did perform.

IMG-20210829-WA0082.jpg
Me performing woke sitting. The title of my poem is Nostalgia.

In that poem, I remembered old Africa. In the days of our grandfather's and all.
I presented another poem after that. This time I was standing and the title is I am Black.

IMG-20210829-WA0080.jpg
Performing I am Black

I was the last presenter of the day and then the event ended. It was a success. We headed home.

CONCLUSION
I know I have written too much 😅. You all probably have to get used to it.
The reason this day is termed my best day is the fact that...
👉 Firstly, almost everyone I invited came for the event which is a huge success for me.

👉The most important... I had the opportunity to remind my audience about old Africa and the things we have missed, the thing we threw away all in the name of modernism. The piece was felt and had the impact I hoped it would have.

👉I realised that I could actually create impact on lives through spoken words and that poetry also heals.

Thank you so much for reading. 😊😊

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

great nice good post you do go you sing about africa thanks i love that i aslo enjoyed your markdown stylings

 3 years ago 

Thank. You. I don't sing. I'm just a poet.

 3 years ago 

I can imagine your performance... Kudos to you girly

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much

 3 years ago 

What an amazing day
More grace and higher gear to your passion and skills.

 3 years ago 

Wow that's cool,me I love poetry but ion know how to write a poem.but keep maybe one day u will be a great African poet like John nkemgong or bolle botake .

 3 years ago 

Hajaja i am surprised you telling us it is your first time to partake in this contest.i knew you were as guru in it .
Secondly I I like your two outfits on especially the second onein black.it just goes with your poem.its a typical representation of african roots.
Lastly your write up is nice and lucid .it flows quietly like limpid water .
Thank you for sharing your day with us

 3 years ago 

Oh yes here goes my mighty woman. The lady who's writing speaks louder than her words. I now know why the scripture he teaches my fingers to fight came from.

Firstly, almost everyone I invited came for the event which is a huge success for me.

Nooooo you didn't invite me na. The little piece I listened to on your status i enjoyed it so much. The virtues of Africa are being erased lil by lil. The westerners are taking over🥺 so bad.

Thanks for sharing your day. God bless you.
#affable #twopercent #cameroon

 3 years ago 

Your post has been curated by @thegreens with the Steem Cameroon Community Account. Keep dropping creative content to get beautiful rewards from the Steem Cameroon Community and feel free to contact @thegreens for all your steem questions and challenges.
Remember to participate in any of the following contests or programs organized for Cameroonian Steemians;

  1. The Power Up Challenge
  2. Creative Writing Contest
  3. Green Deeds Contest (To be launched)
  4. Best Day of the Week Contest
  5. Steem Cameroon Record My Status Vol. 02 Contest
  6. Kamer Steemit Promo Vol. O2 Contest (To be launched)
  7. Steemit Achievement Pledge Program
  8. Steem Cameroon Delegations Reward Program

Steem-on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62714.40
ETH 3447.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51