"Steem Cameroon Best day Contest - 23-05-24

in Steem Cameroon2 months ago

PXL_20240523_104115164.jpg

Dear Diary,

It was my first day into an academic establishment where government is by the people, of the people and for the people. It was actually a public/government school that's free for the masses and it is called after the community of that environment. I was posted there with my colleagues to bring out the chemistry in these less privileged ones and also impact their lives academically. There's this popular saying; Anything free won't be taken seriously not until a fee is attached to it.

PXL_20240523_071110397.PORTRAIT.jpg

I came to believe that statement became of past experiences I had which is also evident in public schools. Even those in private sometimes feel lazy about school because they have sponsors and they aren't sponsoring themselves. So it was my first day to give out to the community. I call it service to humanity because my going there is to recreate a history already made.

This is the narrative of how my first day in that public school was.

Morning Activities

It was a Thursday morning and I was already feeling lazy to go to the assigned school. I had this feeling I could enter Anytime I wish but no, I had to do the right thing and it was my first day. I prepared as early as possible and got myself out of home. Transportation was going to be a big barrier to my going there everyday and that the distance to the place was unknown by me. I took to seeing everything that day before knowing what moves to take.

PXL_20240523_071852198.PORTRAIT.jpg

I consumed a street food as I was already late to eat breakfast at home. On boarding a vehicle to some junctions and finally to the school, I saw the distance was too long but the fare was quite considerable and not comparable to the distance of one is to measure. I paid #500 naira to a 45 minutes journey place which is equivalent to 1.4 steems.

Transport fare#500 naira1.4 steems

I got to the school by given descriptions from those who knew the place. I was stunned at first bit later got inside looking so confused. I tried changing my countenance as if I was familiar with the environment so no one would ask me questions. On getting to the administrative office, I got to see my colleagues. Classes were assigned us to create this impact and I was given SS2 as SS3 were undergoing their final examination in high school.

PXL_20240523_080931420.jpg

Going to the class given was actually the first thing I did after being addressed. The noise got me tensed. It was as if it were a market. I went in there to take control over the whole class and that silence was brought in. I try dishing out some motivational and funny words to them before a teacher showed up for her class. While teaching, I was the silent observer to see what ways I can create this impact among these learners. I took to knowing their challenges in class which are;

  • illness
  • stomach upset/ulcer due to hunger
  • incomplete note
  • lack of interest in the teacher and her subject
  • subject bring too callous and difficult to understand
  • not learning at the same pace etc......

I took these to mind to deliberate on at my leisure. It was time to leave the premises as I had to attend a lecture. I left with my colleagues and off we headed for campus to complete the rest of the activities there. It was a stressful day though but I got to know how and where to create the impact in that class.

IMG_7643.jpg

It was considered the best day of the week for me because of what transpired, the people I met and the experiences shared to me.

I invite @dwings @okere-blessing and @megareigns

Cc,
@steem-cameroon

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Enjoy your teaching experience, it's not always easy to teach in public schools,but someone like you who is always passionate about doing things well can cope. Don't flog too much oo. E get why!!

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

@tipu curate

;) Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

Loading...

Copy_of_Curation_Guidelines_20240529_204831_0000.png

We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

Greetings to meet you, Mr @bossj23, nice to see your extraordinary activities, taking care of your children's learning, I hope you always have a happy day✨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69812.20
ETH 3376.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78