[Creative Writing Contest Vol. 17 | Education: What is or was your favorite and worst subject? What makes it or made it your favorite and worst subject?

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

Hello steemians

Hope we are all in good shape. I will be sharing with us about my favorite and worst subjects so far.
In the quest for academic excellence there are always drawbacks as well as pushful subjects. My academic career met both of these categories of subjects at different points in time. I am that type of student who believes in challenges when it comes to choice of subjects within the scope of the curriculum. I have always loved the subjects that are challenging to most learners and I make sure I excel in them.

MY FAVORITE SUBJECT(S)

As a student who loves to take the tough subjects to the horn, it is with no doubt that my best subjects fall within science subjects. My best subjects so far are maths, physics, and chemistry. I consider chemistry best of all and I’m currently studying Geochemistry.

What made chemistry my favorite subject?

My line of education started from a technical field and chemistry was a minor during CAP levels. Due to this aspect, chemistry was considered as a tough subject by my mates and I. This hit my interest instead and I pushed forth and started exceling in chemistry. By 2010/2011 academic year I wrote CAP exams and failed. The next year, I changed school. Chemistry in my new school that year (2011/2012) never had a good teacher and so I forced to improvise in order to continue being good in chemistry. I organized maths, physics, and chemistry preparatory classes for I and my mates together with students from different departments. This aspect made me became a pro in chemistry (pro in the technical sense of chemistry). When I finally had CAP, I decided to leave Woodwork department and decided to apply for Industrial Chemistry (IC). I became the best in the department of IC after writing probatoire and only two of us passed the exams. During my Terminal (Bacc class) year, I was teaching chemistry to most students of my high school and also some from the gramma section. I had Bacc 2014/2015 academic year and was admitted in the University of Bamenda under Department of Geology, Mining, and Environmental Science where I’m currently doing post graduate studies with Geochemistry as specialty.
The photo by the right is my University performance in Geochemistry. Chemistry became my best subject at first not because of the teachers but because it was challenging to I and my mates. Later in the high school, my performance was influenced by learning conditions and tutors involved. I love chemistry 😉.

MY WORST SUBJECT

My worst subject was French and so far is still French. I’m an anglophone Cameroonian and with my country being bilingual, I am expected to be moderate in French language.

What made French my worst subject?

French is not that difficult as a subject but I believe the method of teaching practiced by most of the teachers handling this subject in the anglophone schools is not the best. As an anglophone student my first language is English but the teachers who have taught me French so far don’t see it that way. Imagine being taught a strange language in a strange tongue. A French teacher will be teaching French using completely the French language not allowing the anglophone learner ( I for one) to even understand what the class is all about. Most at times the teacher teaching French will focus on students who can already understand and speak French, leaving the pure anglophone student to suffer. Due to this teaching method, I find the subject French not interesting and I had poor results in the subject countless number of times. No matter how much effort I put in, it always ended up in failure. I believe in very few circumstances I had an average in French as a subject. I believe the French subject is not difficult but the method of teaching I have been through makes it very difficult and also makes French my worst subject of all times. The photo below is part of my high school results showing “very good” in chemistry and “weak” in French.

CONCLUSION

In general, I think no subject is too difficult to the learning community but one way or the order, something comes into play and makes learners to shy away from some subjects. My best subject will always be chemistry and the worst subject French unless one day I meet the right tutor. Thanks to @thegreens for another edition of such a wonderful contest. Thanks for reading.
Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Reading through your write-up kept me thinking as to what subject exactly do i like or hate. You had challenges in chemistry just because you did not study it in detail in your school like the grammar education students but am glad to hear you were able to make your through the subject. For french hahaha its a pretty easy language if you put your mind to it. If you just had love for that language no turtor would have ever made you hate it. I call that lack of interest in a subject. Love your write-up though.
#percent
#cameroon

 3 years ago 

I actually don’t really hate French as a subject but the tutors and their method of teaching. This goes especially to the teachers who taught me French

 3 years ago 

Wehhhhh French 😅

Great write up

 3 years ago 

Bro I share in your pain concerning that french, chai, the stuff was something else

 3 years ago 

Wow, we have very similar choices😁, although amongst my favorites, English would be inclusive... As for the worst, i'm 200% by your choice🤝🏻.
Love your entry, i wish i could partake in the contest, this ENEO guys are really pissing me off!

 3 years ago 

😂😂 I had no problems with French but French had problems with me I even forget sa na subject that for school

 3 years ago 

weeh!!! French in trouble. I can attest to the fact that English is more difficult than french. You just have to make up your mind to study it and you are halfway there.

 3 years ago 

French 😆my worst subject too

 3 years ago 

I like the determination that you had for chemistry bro.thats inspiring

 3 years ago 

Thanks man. Our best can only come from our greatest fear, that I believe

 3 years ago 

Your post has been curated by @thegreens with the Steem Cameroon Community Account. Keep dropping creative content to get beautiful rewards from the Steem Cameroon Community and feel free to contact @thegreens for all your steem questions and challenges.
Remember to participate in any of the following contests or programs organized for Cameroonian Steemians;

  1. The Power Up Challenge
  2. Creative Writing Contest
  3. Green Deeds Contest: To be launched
  4. Best Day of the Week Contest
  5. Steem Cameroon Record My Status Vol. 06 Contest
  6. Steemit Achievement Pledge Program
  7. Steem Cameroon Delegations Reward Program

Steem-on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37