100 DAYS OF STEEM : The Diary Game - 9th July 2020

in Steem Africa4 years ago

2020 farm project /covid 19 farm project

IMG-20200710-WA0006.jpg

I am a teacher at Ghana Education Service.I go to school at 8 :00 morning and closed 2:00 afternoon.So after school I do spend my next hours before night at farm

The distance from my home to the farmland is about 5km and because of this I go to farm by motorcycle.

I always do for my family consumption but because of covid 19,I expanded the farm in order to sell some of the produce to reduce food shortage

The crops that can be seen in my farm are PLANTAIN,CASSAVA,COCO YAM and MAIZE

I have vegetables like forest pepper('amesoa') , 'abeduru' cocoyam leaves etc.

This method of farming is known as MIXCROPPING

When project this economically, it will help my family to reduce costs on food and increase our monthly savings. Meaning we can save much of salaries (money) earned every month

My maizes have matured for consumption. When I started snowing in early April, some people were thinking that I was joke. I even had a supportive hands from @oppongk and @fortune182 which we all live in the same community. These are fresh corns 🌽 that can be roasted or boil on fire🔥, so that when your add the required salt you can consume. As I had already said because of the distance I came with my motorbike to help my movement. The path is very bad, especially when it rains heavily, but I don't bother.

IMG_20200706_161626_746.jpg

It was evening time around 4pm when the weather was very cool. I did my small rounds to check how the farm is going; my cassava, plantain, cocoyam, cashew and pepper. This is the second time I had weeded here, but look at how the weeds are competing with the produce here. This means that I have to weed the third time before the hamattan season comes. Oh yeah, there crops are growing very nicely as a surveyed around the farm. Very soon, the maize will dry up for me to harvest and leave other crops like cassava, cocoyam and plantain to grow well.

IMG-20200710-WA0014.jpg

IMG-20200710-WA0002.jpg

After visiting every corner of the farm, I cut about twenty corns 🌽. Look; they are almost tried up, I know by two weeks time I will not get corn to chop again. I prefer the boiled one to that of the roasted ones. I have many neighborhood and friends around in me in the house; they will rather take the lion share of these corns. For me, I can consume only two, that's my limit because of my fever but I have that passion to serve my friends right.

IMG-20200710-WA0011.jpg

When I finished, I conveyed them into the sack I brought. The sack is almost full, but these corns if boiled my Guys can chop everything at the brink of an eye, hahahaha!!!.......…

IMG_20200706_161718_602.jpg

I tied it on the motorbike and began my riding on this torturous path. On my way with the motorbike I had my last shot.

IMG_20200706_161615_217.jpg

I came to the house and continue the rest of my diary record of activities, that's setting fire🔥 and cooking the corns for my Guys. This is how I ended my diary game today. Thanks to all my funs here for your immense support.

For those of you who don't know me, I'm @menak in Steem. Get more to know me via my "This is Me" here:

https://steemit.com/hive-194804/@menak/100-days-of-steem-day-83-wednesday-challenge-this-is-me-introductory-post-for-the-diary-game

Thanks to All my Sponsors Team here:

Sort:  

That is great project in this Covid 19 hectic time, but in all, you manage to tilt the soil and now your are reaping comfortably. Thanks for all your effort and energy leverage to come out with these produce. I really love your enthusiasm, despite being youth and you didn't relate yourself to those hot cot Guys. Thanks for sharing with us in the Diary game. I anticipate your continues activeness. And note: season 2 is coming on 1st August, there are massive package to harness, be prepare to grasp yours. It's cheerio for now!

Thanks for your comment.

Thank you for commenting on this post.

You have won a Lucky 10 upvote.

The Steemit Team

This subsistence type of farming is well arranged in a big way. You have thripple advantages here.

  1. You provide food for yourself and family
  2. You sell some parts, and get some money
  3. You can easily save reasonable part of your salary

I think that's amazing. The plants looks fresh and green and it makes me think whether you used any form of manure. The weeds are also fast growing, which you must clear before they start sharing much nutrients with the plants.

Farming is a good form of providing food for everyone to survive. It's most easy for those in the rural area than those living in the city, except if it's the outskirt. Your friends will be happy you brought them some corn. Hope @oppongk taste from it. 😀

Nice diary.

As usual he is among my friends I harvested these corns for. Thanks very much for your good comment.
But i did not apply any manure

That's great. It means the land is very fertile.

I really happy with you, because you harvesting your needs, and also saving your hard earnings too.

Your corn looking so fresh and healthy, keep going.

Have a Nice Day.

I am very happy on meeting you hear,

Greetings from India!

Thanks you so much, how is India? I really love Indian film and I have been watching daily.

I am glade you liking our country movies.

Wow ! I love maize and plantains. It’s good to see that you are engaging in more valuable things during this covid19 period. I wish you a bountiful harvest.

Thank you very much Buddy!

You have to ride your bike in the jungle???

Thanks for your suggestion, you are welcomed.

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31