100 DAYS OF STEEM: My 3rd Diary Game - 25th June 2020 - A Visit To My Subsistence Farming

in Steem Africa4 years ago

Hello lovely players of Diary Game my regards to you all. My 3 days in the Diary Game has so been wonderful with the help from Steemit Team and @steemitblog and @steemcurator01. I also appreciate the motivation by @oppongk which has kept me on this amazing challenge.

Subsistence farming is one the farming practise in Ghanaian communities.About 70% of the population do practise it. It could be MIXED CROPING , MONO CROPING, ANIMALS REARING or MIXED FARMING. Because of this activities carries on in our various communities, individuals learn this trade unconciously.As today's happens be a rest day (Thursday) for the LAND GOD it a taboo to go to farm or wed. So i took this opportunity visit my YAM FARM arround my home. The Lockdown has caused so mess to some of us being Teachers, but I must say it has also help some of us in this, getting ample to to do our rounds in farming activities except those who are lazy.

IMG-20200625-WA0001.jpg

This yam farm is very close to my house. When I was cultivating, it seemed to some of my friends as a joke. Some of them were even laughing at me that I should stop, as a teacher, why should I worry myself in farming. But today, look at how beautiful the and succulent the yams have become. I didn't apply any fertilizer as some people used to do. This their natural growth. Only little cultural practices were ensured; staking, weeding and routine visits have made them grown up to this stage. The leaves look very green and freshly, this means that the tubers have produced, very soon they would ready to mature. I stood behind this one and had nice shot to display here for my fellow Steemians to see how good to farm when you have extra time:

IMG-20200625-WA0002.jpg

It was made purposely to sell, but I farmed purposely for my family consumption. This can reduce the cost of buying additional yams in the market. Last year, I did similar project and it helped me a lot. Looking at the size of the farm here, if I treat them well, the yam can sustain me for next year, far as I would also harvest my small maize farm too.

IMG-20200625-WA0004.jpg

On the other side of the land, I have about 50 stand of plantain farm. I started this project last two years ago. It has help my family a lot. Now that my wife has delivered, this plantain farm is supporting me very much. One challenge that we have during this season from January to June is that, most of our plantain farm are destroyed by the strong North-East wind which normally cause the plantain to fall into the ground. Most of the fruit from these plantains are forced to ripe or perished. Luckily, I was able to get what I would eat with my family.

IMG-20200625-WA0003.jpg

I used this holiday to visits these farms to see how they are faring. In fact this were going normal as I wished them to happen. I did few observation whether I would find some fault somewhere. Because crops too need caring. When I found out that my farms were Ok, I came to the house and relaxed.

Appreciation to my Sponsors:

Sort:  

You have a nice farm. The mini banana plantation is also cool. Thank you for joining the diary game.

Thank you for using Steem Africa and posting on steem. Join the ongoing contest on steem Africa, and follow @ steemitblog for more info about happenings on steem, and participate in more contest. Your post has been curated from the @steemcurator05 account. Stay inspired and keep steeming.

Thank you very much @steemcurator05 for your great support.

Thank you very much for your 3 days in the Diary Game challenge! Please continue to follow @the100daysofsteem and the other contest too. I love your hard work in farming in this lockdown.

Hi, @menak,

Your post has been voted on by the Ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider the following:

Vote for
Delegate
Join us
More Info
Symbionts.
Ecosynthesizer.
Discord.
Project Ann.
Join Our Ever-Growing Communities
1# Comunidad Latina

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

The yams look very good!

The Steemit Team

Thank you for ur support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25