Some Urban Exploration in Mexico City during Covid times

in Actifit3 years ago

A few days ago I saw @slobberchops' post about Urban Exploration and I was a little bit inspired, not only because of the quality of his pictures but also because of the topic.

I used to walk a lot when I was younger, and during my travels I walked pretty much everywhere but recently I haven't been able to walk a lot - only between 5k and 15k steps per day, which is a lot but not nearly enough as much as I used to walk.

Yesterday I went to Mexico city, just like I do once a month, every month, to visit the grandmas, my brother and also because I'm the designated driver on the way back with my dad.

Between the visitation hours and when my dad got free, I had around 4 hours to spare between beers, eating or exploring. Guess which one I did?

The subway in Mexico city is always a mess. Every day at all times it is at least at it's 70% capacity and at rush hour it is probably around it's 180% max cap - yeah, no Osha measures followed nor Covid safety but, after all, when you need to work in order to be able to put food in your mouth, you don't care about stupid covid measures.

I'm not wearing a mouthpiece - or muzzle, as I like to call it -, not to be a rebel, but because I don't see the point.

I saw this construction site and thought it would be interesting for you to see it for two reasons: we do have big buildings in Mexico and, we do close the stress and block the way for cars while doing so because well, third world kind of planning.

Some, if not most of our corner shops are improvised little spots where people just open up in their spare room. People just destroy their wall, create a small door and voila, they now have a store for the miscellaneous - in fact, in Mexico this type of store is called "miscelánea".

Notice the roof and how they have clothes left to dry right above the corner store. Ahhh, Mexico.

Every neighborhood has to have a street with a half ass, half finished repair or renovation which will take several weeks - or months - longer to be finished by an overpaid contractor. If your neighborhood doesn't have one, you are probably not in Mexico, double check your window.

Yeah yeah, covid-19 is still a thing at least for some people, but not for Mexicans. We already have street basketball happening, not only as a hobby but I found these guys training, with a coach and discipline and organization and all that crap. Who would've thought, right? Well, I'm not surprised, people are getting tired of not being able to do anything.

A lot of restaurants are rebelling against the government's stupid health and safety measures where they just bankrupt every honest - and dishonest - business and restaurant owner in the country. Several places are already opening at full capacity even though we are at yellow stage in the city. I'm glad the people are responding to this actions by the business and they are visiting them and giving them their money. Restarting the economy no matter what the fools in charge say.

Of course there are some empty streets but they are not that common. Of course I had to take a picture, it's not all sand and cactus in Mexico!

This was an Actifit post but I'm thinking of making a similar one with more pics, better quality and way more text so you can get a glimpse at how Mexico looks :D

OH RIGHT, 41 THOUSAND STEPS. TAKE THAT FOREST GUMP!

This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


41311
Walking

Sort:  

Dude, loved it! Mexico is as insecure as Venezuela and knowing that you were doing some urban exploration I said "this has to be a good one" and it was. I always wanted to do some urban exploration too, maybe one day I will. Greetings bro! nice job you've done here.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 80.26 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 41311 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 1.42% upvote via @actifit account.


Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Hive Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Hey Eric, I LOVE Mexico. It was so nourishing to read you post on various levels, thank you. I lived a few years in Mexico in the 90's - but my nomad heart has belonged to Mexico all my life and I will keep returning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34