Steemphotos || My Summer Getaway || @vanessageorge

in SteemPhotoslast year (edited)

Challenges.jpg

Summer is often associated with sunny days at the beach, drinking a cold beverage, and lying down getting tan. In Dubai where I live, summertime gets as hot as 48 degrees Celsius and as humid as 100%. It is not a nice place to be in the summertime unless your goal is heat stroke.

Most of the residents of the city plan a long getaway between July and August, the hottest months of the year. We try to do it too. The climate is so unbearable that almost anywhere would be more pleasant.

Most of the time we go back to our countries, Colombia and Brazil, or we go to Europe as is a close flight by. In the summer of 2019, we went to a place I never thought to visit and it was the most incredible trip of my life! Iceland.

If you ever have the opportunity to go, please, please, please do it. And summertime is the best time to visit as the weather is warmer and the days are longer. Even to the point of some days having nonexistent nights.

Iceland has hundreds of stunning and world-famous places. I will share with you the one I thought was the most beautiful one, The Highlands.

As we approached The Highlands I have to stroke my eyes with my fists as I couldn’t believe what I was looking at. It was as if God had lent us a piece of heaven. The shape of the mountains and the color of the water were unbelievable. The perfect blue sky and the warm weather make the day just perfect. I swear I wanted to live in that moment forever.

IMG_4594.jpg

We started our hike early in the morning, we were prepared to be all day hiking. It was just me and my husband and of course other tourists, but we were doing this trip alone. We chose the easiest path. I have never been the best hiker, I do get tired quite fast. Most of the pictures I took had my husband in front of me, a safe distance apart, nonetheless always in front of me.

IMG_4590.JPG

When we finally arrive at the top the view was breath taken. It is difficult to describe, how do you describe something so striking that looks unreal? I say unreal because actually, it looked like a painting, painted by the most talented artist, who made a masterpiece on earth, simply perfection.

IMG_4606.JPG

Getting closer we could see the different colors that were composing the mountains, as a sepia rainbow. At the bottom of the mountains, we could see the greenest grass, and at the top of the mountains, litter pots of snow, still dangling from the past winter. The hike took more hours than we were expecting as we constantly stopped at various spots to relish at the scenery.

IMG_4532.jpg

Even though had no beach, no cold drink, and no tanning on a sun bed, this was my perfect summer getaway!

Love,
Vanessa.

I would like to invite @gaurac, @gabylazarde, and @opa07 to take part in this contest.

Screen Shot 2023-03-19 at 1.22.31 PM.png

Achievement 1 Link

Sort:  

Hello 🥰

Welcome to Steemit !

Im invite you to join Steemit Travel, Steem Markeyting and CCS community !

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-109690

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-163291

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-153176

You are welcome

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Congratulations! (1).png


Curated by - @juichi

Thank you! :)

 last year 

Wow! Thank you so much for participating our communities' contest dear.

Your place is indeed has a great place to visit.

It was well explained and I felt I am already in your place while reading your entries and by just merely looking your picture,

It is perfect!

Thank you! :)

 last year 

Very nice presentation, i like all your photographs shared here, thanks for posting

Thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63086.21
ETH 3455.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50