You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Communities and Cross Posting Made Ridiculously Simple for Everyone!

in BDCommunity4 years ago

I just found out about you discord a few days back and I really admire what you have been doing! I do post my links on your discord and I'm so glad that you found this post helpful.

Yes, if more confusing features are rolled out in the coming days I will continue with this series.

I did in fact quit for a few months too, out of frustration. Which is why I can fully appreciate the weight of the help You're providing new authors reach an audience, get some curation and an incentive to keep posting, something we didn’t have in our early days. I hope to catch up with you more in the coming days.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Sort:  

Thank you for replying. Hopefully you will get more of your posts curated by us. We do as many as we can in a week and I know some may be missed.

I am very happy I came back to Steemit. I have worked in helping profession, mostly as a Rehabilitation Counselor, for over 50 years, so once I changed my mind set to "helping" here on Steemit things fell in place for me. It has been great getting to know so many people from all over the world. It is also wonderful when I see someone improve enough they tend to go off in their own direction. When I see the quality work they do now I know I am on track.

Wow, what kind of rehabilitation counselling did you do? Pardon me, this spurred my interest as a Doctor!

My specialty was vocational rehabilitation, and I further certified in doing vocational evaluations for those with injuries and/or disabilities. My task was to work with someone to find a new career that they could do even though they had a disability (taking into account the medical and/or mental health limitation brought on by the disability). I used testing and counseling during this process. I also worked with youth with disabilities who were transitioning to higher education or work. I did this work for around 36 years, 32 of which I was in private practice.

I closed my private practice when my wife's disabilities caught up with her and she was in a rehabilitation hospital for 3 weeks. She had not been taking care of herself and with my long hours I was not paying attention. She was in early kidney failure and addicted to opiod medications. She got off of those medications which has helped but her health is still frail.

We had an in-home care business where my wife took care of disabled adults. We were close to getting closed down because she was not doing everything she was suppose to. I knew I would be caring for her when she got home from hospital so I had the in-home care switched to my name and shut down my practice. We had three disabled ladies at the time, and one passed away during the first month due to congestive heart failure. I have continued caring for the other two and of course my wife. My wife now has been diagnosed with early onset dementia. I cannot afford to retire and had planned on working into my 70's to continue saving. Becoming the primary caregiver allows me to be home to care for my wife and continue having an income.

One of the ladies we care for has been with us 18 years and she has only known living at home and with us. She functions at about a 2 year old level. I do not think she could handle the change if she had to be moved somewhere else. I am in excellent health for my age, so have not put a time limit on how long we will continue in this work. It is possible I can continue as care provider throughout my 70's (I am not quite 70 yet). We have been doing this for around 27 years now.

That is probably more information than you wanted but it is a summary. Prior to getting my Master's Degree I spent years working as a physical therapy assistant and occupational therapy assistant. I was attracted to the vocational model knowing I would bring a lot with me from the years working in hospitals.

Sometimes I miss the counseling work, but then it was extremely stressful. Recently a colleague had a severe stroke and died. She was my age. When that happened I realized things worked out for the best for me in leaving that work. I had told her when I left that the stress was taking its toll. I sure wish she had retired when I left. But life goes on.

Sorry about the length of this.

This was wonderful to read! Thank you so much for sharing.

Have you considered writing about these experiences as a part of your blog? I'm sure with the experience you have, we'd learn some wonderful lessons.

I always say textbooks can never teach you what experience will. So I'd be really into reading your experiences if you decide to start writing about them. We can all take a few life lessons!

Have a good day Sir!

Wow, all I was looking for was some guidance about cross posting and ended up reading this, I agree with @simplifylife your experiences would make a great blog, honest and open your words struck a chord with me, you seem to have given a lot of yourself and i'm pretty sure people would love to know more, your knowledge and compassion for others shines through, I was touched by how candid you are. The world needs more people like you, I will follow you and hopefully learn some more thank you. @biggypauls

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85