SEC-S18W4 | My worst holiday travel memory( my silent prayer worked)

in Traveling Steem23 days ago
AddText_06-11-08.53.20.jpgimage edited on add text app

It was the month of harmattan over here and some states are usually colder than the other because of their nearest to water or their location on hills or mountains.

img_1718135272720_1.jpgcollage picture from my phone gallery

I was just a corp member( a compulsory 1 year service to the country every graduate must go through after graduating from tertiary institution). I was posted to serve plateau state, one of the coldest cities and am traveling by land.

After buying my bus ticket at the park that morning I headed home to come back in the evening because my journey will be by night. At 4pm, mum and Dad saw me off to the park and weaved me good bye. I waited for the bus to get filled and sat down wondering how this long luxurious bus would carry so much luggages and humans.

collective-435584_1280.jpgsource

Our journey began at exactly 7:30pm and just 45 minutes into the journey, the bus stopped and I heard from some of the passengers that the bus has had issues. What? At the middle of a tick forest? I was scared. The weather was becoming so cold. Passengers stated coming down from the bus either to stretch their legs or to see how the bus will be fixed. I just decided to seat inside.

After about 1 hour the bus was finally fixed and our journey began again.

west-3708073_1280.jpgsource

Now we met a very long traffic in front. Very long that I can't describe the length. We could not even go back because buses were already at our back and the road was very narrow. I decided to ask what was the cause of the traffic? They said robbers were robbing in front so busses needed to wait for them to finish robbing so not to fall victims.

Many passengers were in panic of what will happen next. Some where calling back home to inform their loved one of what was going on just Incase they never saw them again. It was a scary scene. I could not call my parents, I feared that I may cause more harm for them so I decided to just be watchful. Although I was shaking but I tried to be calm after making a silent prayer in my heart. The cold seems like it intensified because I saw my self searching for extra clothes in my bag to cover myself.

hands-5634107_1280.jpgsource

I have heard so much about making silent prayers in the heart but I didn't think it was effective, neither did I ever think I would ever be in a situation were I would need to pray it. That night night sleep vanished from my eyes. Oh how I love to sleep during travel but this was a different type of travel. I wished I had never embarked on this journey.

We were there from 11pm to 1:30am. I don't know how the drivers got the information that the robbers were gone and busses began to move again. It was victory for me. My silent prayers was been answered! I was glad and I kept praising God. well I was not the one that seem excited because I saw smiles on the faces of most passengers.

We actually saw some dead bodies in front that were lying in the road lifeless and some things were scattered on the road. I guess those crying standing on the road were victims of the robbery attacks. I felt pity for them.

Our bus moved and this time the bus got bad again. I felt so frustrated that I had to complain like other passengers why this bus was always having issues. At least it was already morning, this time they said it was in the tyre that got bad. After a while, it was fixed and we continued.

The weather became terribly cold with winds blowing from side to side. I also noticed high rise mountains and hills that I have never seen before , I knew my destination was very close. Plateau state is characterised with heavy cold, high rise mountains, hills, rocky roads and heavy winds especially during the harmattan.

Finally we got to the park and the bus stopped. I have never been here before so I came down, took out my luggage and decided to find the nearest citizen that would be able to direct me accordingly to the Nysc camp where I was to report first for my trainings which is usually 3 weeks before been posted to a place of primary assignment to serve for the next 1 year.

When I got settled in, I called my parents to inform them of the terrible experience I had and they told me that my line has not been reacheable. They promised I would never travel by night again, they were glad that my silent prayers kept me through after all..

I would like to invite @ninapenda @pea07 @lhorgic to share their experiences

Sort:  
 22 days ago 

Hello traveler! 👋🏼

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community. Here you are the feedback and evaluation results:


AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club5050☑️
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI > 5☑️
Score9/10

MODs/Admins' Observation:
Wow, Ruthjoe, that was an incredibly intense and scary travel experience. I can't even imagine how terrifying it must have been to be stuck in the middle of a forest with robbers nearby. Your silent prayer really worked, and I'm so glad that you and the other passengers made it through safely.

~ Join the X profile, Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



Curated by @hotspotitaly

 18 days ago 

Thank you for the verification

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 7

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator09.

Curated by : @sahmie
 22 days ago 

Thank you for the support @sahmie

 22 days ago 

@ruthjoe have to face many hurdles to reach your goal of traveling happily. Bus breakdown, long traffic jam on the road because the robbers are blocking the road, it's a very scary moment, very cold on the mountain, then my bus tire is destroyed, oh what a painful moment, anyway it's about Vag to reach the park in the end. He shared a life experience with you. Best wishes for you.

 18 days ago 

Thank you for your best wishes..it wasn't an easy journey but am grateful I arrived safe

 20 days ago 

Hello dear friend, I'm so sorry about your ordeal during the compulsory 1 year Youth Service Corps. I have always wished that the Federal Government will allow Corper serve in their state of Origin or any state of their choice because people pass through a lot of danger in the cost of their service year. The risk is quite uncalled for.

 18 days ago 

Thank you for sympathizing with me. Well am glad I am done with that part of life where I ney to serve for 1 year.

 18 days ago 

Thank God.

Definitivamente usted tuvo un viaje muy accidentado y de muchos sustos ese día @ruthjoe, primero el autobús donde viajaba se accidenta en una zona inhóspita y menos mal se quedó dentro de él mientras repararon la avería, luego el asustó que le hicieron pasar los ladrones que estaban robando y dónde lo ayudó mucho a tranquilizarse la oración silenciosa qué le hizo a Dios, finalmente el autobús se volvió averiar ahora por un caucho, la verdad que yo en su lugar lo pensaría muy bien si me tocara viajar nuevamente con ese con esa línea de transporte.
Esto suele ocurrir porque muchas veces porque la línea de transporte no le hacen el debido mantenimiento a las unidades y existe ese riesgo a la hora de viajar, a mí me ha pasado algunas veces que he viajado y también no hemos accidentado pero tanto como le ha pasado a usted, Gracias a Dios llegó su destino en perfectas condiciones y sin nada que lamentar.

Saludos y éxito en el concurso.

 18 days ago 

What an experience I had, no wonder I couldn't forget it even up till now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60359.24
ETH 3303.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39