SEC-S18W4 | My worst holiday travel memory| Four hours of frustration: A story of deception and delay by @rossnenye

in Traveling Steem6 days ago (edited)
Hello everyone, good morning to you all. Welcome back to my blog, I'm so excited to participate in this week's engagement contest titled "My worst holiday travel memory"

pexels-freestockpro-1008155.jpg
Source

When was your worst trip that you would like to forget?

One of my worst trip was on the day 20th January 2021 when I and my elder sister were going back to school after the strike action embarked on by Universities due to the COVID"19 pandemic.

What problems have you faced and who was with you?

So on that very day, my sister and I left our house in Onitsha to the famous Upper Iweka. Anybody from my Country Nigeria would have heard about this place and how notorious it is. The Upper Iweka has varieties of motor park.
pexels-jakob-scholz-267696-808846.jpg
Source

The park we usually board their bus while traveling to school was Peace Mass Transmit but on that very day, the cost of their transportation was high and I told my sister let's go board another bus that is cheaper and that was how we went to another Park that was going to our School.

On getting there we asked for the bus going to my School and they pointed to one bus and I went there to check by myself to confirm if they were real passengers in the bus before paying because on several occasions I will see people sitting down on the bus only for them to leave when the real passengers come.

They usually use those people as bait to attract passengers to purchase tickets. On getting there, I discovered that it was remaining five people for the bus to get filled. After purchasing tickets, we were directed to another bus that has only one passenger in it as the bus going to our destination.

I was very angry and requested for my money but those touts at the park didn't look at my face at all. It took four long hours for this bus to get filled. We stayed in the park from 12pm to 4pm. We finally got to school around 8.35pm in the evening. I learnt my lessons the hard way, not all that glitters is gold.

How you managed this situation in the end?

At that point in time, the deed has already been done because we have purchased the tickets and there was no need wasting our time arguing with touts. We just maintained our calm and promised ourselves never to make that mistake again.

Share photos of this travel memory or give some referential pics

The park is very notorious, known for harbouring thieves so I didn't even tried to bring out my phone, so I will be sharing referential pics.

pexels-zeeshaanshabbir-7079360.jpg
Source

pexels-shvetsa-3943882.jpg
Source

Thanks for reading my post, I invite @nsijoro, @entity01 and @ukpono to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 6 days ago 

السلام علیکم پیارے دوستو امید ہے اپ خیریت سے ہوں گے اپ کی پوسٹ پڑھ کے میں قسم سے یہ سوچ نہیں سکتی کہ دوسرے ملکوں میں بھی ایسا ہوتا ہے کیونکہ پاکستان میں یہ انسیڈنٹ اکثر و بیشتر بلکہ روزانہ ہی مجھے دیکھنے کو ملتا ہے جس میں ریل پیسنجرز نہیں بیٹھے ہوتے بلکہ صرف لوگوں کو دکھانے کے لیے ادھر ادھر سے لوگ بٹھائے ہوتے ہیں اور جیسے ہی ہم ٹکٹس بائے کر لیتے ہیں وہ لوگ اتر جاتے ہیں جیسا کہ اپ کے ساتھ وہ اور پھر ظاہر ہے ٹکٹ کے پیسے نارملی وہ واپس نہیں کرتے اور ہم اینگری بیٹھے رہتے ہیں اور ہمارا ٹائم بھی ویسٹ ہوتا ہے بس زندگی میں یہ چیزیں ہوتی رہتی ہیں ہم ان کو اوائڈ نہیں کر سکتے اللہ اپ کو ترقی دے

 3 days ago 

Amen, thanks for your comment dear friend.

 3 days ago 

Its always my pleasure to support my lovely steemian friends.

Blesses

 3 days ago 

Thanks

 6 days ago 

Hello traveler! 👋🏼

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community. Here you are the feedback and evaluation results:


AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club5050☑️
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI > 5.9☑️

~ Join the Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



Curated by @benoitblanc

 4 days ago 

I completely agree with you that not everything that glitters is gold. You chose the second bus according to your budget which was cheaper. But there they had seated more people to attract passengers. Due to which it took more than 4 hours to fill your bus. I can understand how much time was wasted.

 4 days ago 

I was really angry that day, thanks for your comment.

 3 days ago 

I can understand dear. 💖💖

 3 days ago 

🥰

 4 days ago 

Hi @rossnenye

I don't understand how people can think of such cheating methodsNow surely those who were seated earlier and who were attracting the passengers would have received money from them, they would have taken a certain commission from them.Strict action should be taken against these people but we can't do anything because we have bought the ticket and they have our money then they drive the bus as per their will.But the thing is, how can we know whether the people sitting there first are real passengers or they are so deceptive.

 4 days ago 

My dear so many things are wrong in my Country Nigeria.

 3 days ago 

I have heard about the Upper Iweka, but have never been to the place before. But from your experience, I can relate to how you and your sister feel. The cost of transportation often changes and the worst part of it is how someone still feels uncomfortable inside the vehicle that he or she paid for. At least you have learned a lesson from your worst experience trip. I wish you success.

 3 days ago 

I learnt my lessons the hard way, thanks for your comment.

 3 days ago 

Hello dear good afternoon, how's your day going? Your story is really a painful one and if I was in your shoes I will definitely be very angry because I will also have plans for myself in the evening once I get to school and is almost evening that the journey began.

Is good you successfully arrived at your destination at the ending. I wish you good luck in this engagement challenge.

 3 days ago 

Thank you so much for your wishes dear friend.

 3 days ago 

That was really tough time. In such seatuin remain calm is the only good option because all other peoples are theie people so they will not took our side. You did well.

I also see here somewhere that driver keep their people in vehicle to show that its about to full so real person get their assuming this vehicle will go earlist,.But the way real person start getting in a vehicle the fake person start getting out from the vehicle. vehicle remain on its place untill its full completely.

 3 days ago 

I have to keep calm because arguing with them at that time was pointless. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65342.69
ETH 3543.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39