The Diarygame || Travel Diary: Peschici || Thursday, August 8th

in Traveling Steem2 months ago


IMG_1325.jpeg

Dear friends of Traveling Steemit,

As promised, today I’ll share my encounter with wild capers.


IMG_4163.jpg


IMG_4164.jpg


During my walk through the medieval village of Peschici, I discovered a surprising aspect of its flora: caper plants growing wild on the stone walls of its narrow streets. These shrubs, which might seem like mere weeds to the uninitiated, are actually capers, a prized element of the Mediterranean diet.


IMG_4165.jpg


IMG_4166.jpg


My curiosity was piqued when I heard an elderly, very energetic and friendly lady explaining the characteristics of these plants to her granddaughter. She told me that capers must be harvested before they fully blossom; once the flower appears, they are no longer suitable for picking. She showed me how, after their flowering, capers become too large to be preserved effectively.

IMG_4168.jpg


IMG_4161.jpg


After harvesting, the capers are washed, stripped of their stems, and stored in a jar with salt for forty days. This method allows them to be preserved for up to two years. The lady emphasized the importance of these small buds in the local cuisine, used to enrich pizzas, salads, and dishes like vitello tonnato.

IMG_4160.jpg


IMG_4159.jpg


This discovery allowed me not only to learn something new about the nature and culinary culture of Peschici but also to appreciate the passion and connection of the local people with their environment. The caper plant, more than just a simple bush, represents a living tradition, maintained through generations. In this small part of Italy, even a casual stroll can turn into a lesson in botany and gastronomy, revealing the secrets of a landscape rich in history and flavor.


IMG_1629.jpeg


Stay tuned, I will take you to visit the village in the evening through the local craft shops.

The photos were taken with my phone.

Thank you for reading @ibesso

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Nothing is as great as good at hand. I like you show/tell about this. It's as good as a fairytale.

🍀♥️

 2 months ago 

Do you know what is fundamental in personal growth? Surrounding yourself with people who are more skilled and intelligent than you. To me, you are the signature of your comments.

🌻♥️

 2 months ago 

Thanks for your sweet compliment, but I still want a private storyteller.
🍀❤️

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @upex with a 0.27% upvote. We invite you to continue producing quality content and join our Discord community here. Visit https://botsteem.com to utilize usefull and productive automations #bottosteem #upex

 2 months ago 

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community. Here you are the feedback and evaluation results:


AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club5050☑️
Burnsteem25x
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI[ ? ] ( 0.00 % self, 27 upvotes, 15 accounts, last 7d )
Score8/10

~ Join the X profile, Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



 2 months ago 

Thank you!

 2 months ago 

Thank you so much! 🌈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72