Overcoming fear

in Comunidad Latina2 months ago (edited)

Hello steemians, this topic I am sure is peculiar to everyone of us. I do not remember meeting anyone who claims he ordered she does not have a fear, be it physical, emotional, psychological, spiritual etc.
In this post I will be answering the following:
• My biggest fear in life?
• Phobias
• How I overcome fear

Before then let us understand what fear is.

Fear is a fundamental human emotion that affects us all, it is similar to anger, happiness, sadness, excitement etc. It affects each and everyone of us regardless of age, culture, or background. It is a natural way whereby we response to perceived threats or dangers, it triggers two response which is a fight-or-flight response therefore preparing our bodies to react. Fear is not really bad as it helps us protect ourselves and avoid harm.

Nonetheless, excessive fear or being irrationally fearful can have deliberating effect on an individual preventing them to enjoy their life. This can be seen in the case of those with phobias, anxiety disorder or those who experienced a traumatic event.

What I just learnt from the above is that fear is completely natural and not bad. But too much of it can be bad for us.

What is your biggest fear in life?

1000034010.png

For me, my biggest fear in life is the fear of failing. I so much want to succeed because as the first son there is a lot of responsibility on my head. Although I'm not being pressured by family yet but I know that there are things I am supposed to do which I am not doing. This worries me greatly.
I am afraid of turning out a failure, of failing them.

Do you have any phobia?

Phobia is the fear of something, could be an object, event etc
Let me define it more professionally according to the Cambridge dictionary

a type of anxiety disorder (= a mental illness that makes someone very worried and affects their life) that involves an extreme fear of something:

There are numerous phobias, and the list keeps growing as new specific phobias are identified and named. Below is a list of some popular and not so popular phobias I found while surfing the web:

  1. Acrophobia - Fear of heights
  2. Aerophobia - Fear of flying
  3. Agoraphobia - Fear of public places or situations
  4. Algophobia - Fear of pain
  5. Anthropophobia - Fear of people
  6. Arachnophobia - Fear of spiders
  7. Astraphobia - Fear of thunderstorms
  8. Astrophobia - Fear of space or the universe
  9. Aviophobia - Fear of flying
  10. Brontophobia - Fear of thunderstorms
  11. Cacophobia - Fear of chaos or disorder
  12. Claustrophobia - Fear of enclosed spaces
  13. Clinophobia - Fear of beds or going to bed
  14. Coulrophobia - Fear of clowns
  15. Cyberphobia - Fear of computers or technology
  16. Cynophobia - Fear of dogs
  17. Dentophobia - Fear of dentists or dental procedures
  18. Dermatophobia - Fear of skin or skin diseases
  19. Emetophobia - Fear of vomiting
  20. Entomophobia - Fear of insects
  21. Glossophobia - Fear of public speaking
  22. Gynophobia - Fear of women
  23. Heliphobia - Fear of sunlight
  24. Hemophobia - Fear of blood
  25. Hydrophobia - Fear of water
  26. Hypnophobia - Fear of sleep or being hypnotized
  27. Koumpounophobia - Fear of buttons
  28. Ligyrophobia - Fear of loud noises
  29. Mysophobia - Fear of germs or contamination
  30. Necrophobia - Fear of death or dead things
  31. Nostophobia - Fear of returning home
  32. Ophidiophobia - Fear of snakes
  33. Ornithophobia - Fear of birds
  34. Pogonophobia - Fear of beards
  35. Pyrophobia - Fear of fire
  36. Scolionophobia - Fear of school
  37. Sociophobia - Fear of social evaluation
  38. Taphephobia - Fear of being buried alive
  39. Technophobia - Fear of technology
  40. Thalassophobia - Fear of the ocean
  41. Trypanophobia - Fear of needles or injections
  42. Xenophobia - Fear of strangers or foreigners

Note: the above is not all the complete list as daily new additions are being made to the list.

Now amongst the above I have acrophobia, I am afraid of heights very much. And I do not like this because I wanted to become a pilot.

I also have Ophidiophobia and Hemophobia. I believe that is all.

How do you motivate yourself to overcome fear?

One of the fears I tried overcoming this year was the fear of heights. I first of all made a decision to overcome it.
There is a hill behind my house which I have never dared to climb before.
I set a side a Saturday and made the effort to climb this hill. It was scary but I overcame it.

1000034200.jpg

So I now started doing it every time I had a chance so that I would become accustomed to heights and stop having fear for it.

1000034199.jpg

Another way I motivate myself is by learning from the mistakes of others.
I learn from their experiences because experience they say is the best teacher.

15% to @cotina

I invite @mbetobongluke @rexzitek and @esty22 to participate in this engagement challenge.

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 months ago 

Hola amigo, que bueno que intentes hacer lo posible por enfrentar cada uno de tus miedos, subir ese cerro me imagino que fué muy difícil, aún así lo lograste!!!

No solo es quedarse con el miedo, sino enfrentarlo y salir de él... Te deseo mucho éxito amigo!!!!

Thank you for your good wishes friend. Yes facing the fear was one well I was able to overcome it.

Just like you, I'm so afraid of failing in life with all the hardwork I'm putting in. My fears also gets worst when I see that people that work hard aren't the most successful, but I put my trust in the Lord because I know he will surely bless the works of my hands.

@Zekanem, I have gone through your write up, & u clearly stated your biggest fear in life. Fear on his own also attributes to failure. You shouldn't let fear attributes to your biggest dream in life. And also, at time failure is the road map to success. Cos if you don't fail, you won't learn a new thing. I thank God you are now working on your weak point.
I advise, you shouldn't see failure as something negative. Keep doing what you know best and have a wonderful days ahead!

Thank you for the time to go through my post and your contribution. I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69