SteemWomen Club Engagement Contest (Week 2)| This Year Holiday Travel Plans ||Marina Resort Calabar Is My Choice

I’m glad to participate again in another Engagement Challenge, but actually, my first time participating here in this Community. It is an honor.
I’ve been busy these few days but I manage to make a few good publications. So here is my Contribution on this topic.

Two years ago before the pandemic, I visited my friend during his graduation, I spent my vacation at Calabar Cross River State, Nigeria with a Friend who had insisted that I spent one more week with him. , well I did.

VID-20220421-WA0019_1.gif

Cross River state is said to be one of the best in Nigeria, it’s nice and beautiful, and that was my first time there. Its state capital is CALABAR.

While at Calabar, I got to know so many things, their culture, tradition, dress, and Foods which were similar to ours.
Cross River state is majorly dominated by the Efik tribe, known for their dishes such as"Ekpang-Nkukwo, Edikan-ikong soup, Afia efere, etc."

They also have ancient ancestral masquerades such as "Ekpe, Nnabo, Nkoriko".All magnificent and beautifully adorned.

The people of Calabar have a nice spirit of welcoming visitors and they are known for their famous "Ekombi" dance displayed at traditional events and Marriage ceremonies done by maidens and related to her ancient deity called Anansa".

However, I learned a lot at Calabar and went to so many amazing places such as the "Cultural center, Tinapa,11-11 park, drill range where I saw monkies, Spar and lots more.

I also got to know that Calabar was one of the cities where slave trade and exchange took place in Nigeria and the head office of colonialism. Mary Slessor, who stopped the killing of twins was living there Many years ago.

Of all this, I was privileged to Visit Marina Resort, a natural site, endowed by nature, surrounded by rocks and trees majorly for recreation, relaxation, and leisure time. Also, there is a very large river there where early traders parked their ships and now the fishing ground for its citizens.

The Ancient Marina Resort is a tourist attraction site consisting of a Cinema/Film House, the Boat Cruise, a Children's play park, and the slave trade museum.

Marina Resort is located in the heart of Calabar and it can be used to host events of all kinds too.
Also there, there are a lot of activities for everyone.

People troop in to see movies at the cinema in their leisure time.
Its authority offers boat cruises for fun lovers, those who love adventure so much, with just a token, you pay and you're given a coach to ride in case of accident or fear.

The children's park is another irresistible place for me since I love kids a lot, it consists of large toy horses on a Merry-go-round, I sat on it and had excessive fun with my friends.

The beautiful Environment would always be attractive.

The scariest though interesting of all was the visit to the slave trade museum at marina Resort. There were so many crafted and symbolic materials even war instruments, said to have been used in the ancient days. I also saw monuments of slaves positioned at different points though crafted they looked alive and terrifying. My experience at Marina resort, Calabar is one I'll never forget in a hurry.

Any Plans to Visit there this year?

My answer is yes, but this time it’s going to be in a group. I would be going with a group of 4 people. And we are going to spend just one week. Before we planned to visit there in December, but we consider some certain things like the cost of transportation during December time, which is always very expensive.

So we shifted it from November 14th to 20th, 2022. We are going to use public transport.

Unfortunately in Nigeria, you don’t pay or book for such transportation Services since we still have many months left and it’s going to be by land, so it’s not a big deal.

I can’t wait for this year's November. And maybe I would be going there with a Special person, Alright guys, I rather not say that, it wasn’t part of the deal. If you stay within Nigeria and you feel like Joining me then, please feel free to contact me.

How about the cost of this Arrangement?

Well, it’s just a few bucks(Money). Here is it: Transportation fair for one person To and Fro is Four thousand Naira(N4,000) which is approximately 23 Steems. And a night in a hotel room there is three thousand Naira (N3,000) per night which is approximately 17 seems.

That means, for the 7 days the hotel bill would be twenty thousand Naira(N21,000) for one person. And Feeding budget for the Four of us is thirty thousand Naira(N30,000) which is approximately 169 Steem.

And each of us will go with some extra cash of ten thousand Naira each (N10,000) and that is Approximately 56 Steems. In a nutshell, each person is expected to budget Fifty Nine thousand Naira (N59,000), that is 330 Steems.

To make this easier, we had earlier agreed to be paying our money installments to One of our Friend’s Accounts and that’s what we are doing.

But hey, I have a little secret, I only paid mine 3 times now, and I’ll still complete it.

Who Are We visiting Here?

Actually, we just want to take Some time out, we are not visiting anybody really, my friend that I visited two years ago relocated from Calabar to Ghana. So, it's just a tour.

Alright, guys, that’s my vacation plan. And I know a lot of friends who also like traveling, people like @adylinah, @ddwosky, @iddy and @janemorane who love pictures, definitely, I’ll like to know your plans concerning this year's Vacation.

[images and graphics by @ubongudofot]

About Me

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow, @ubongudofot, there are so many beautiful places in Calabar. A must visit because I have not been there before. You really had fun the last time you visited. Let's go there then. Thanks for your entry

Club statussteemexclusivevoting botplagiarism
75yesnono

Thank you very much Ma, ofcourse Calabar hS alot of beautiful places. You and family can join us, it would be a great tour😊.

And i'll name our jouney..."Steemians on the Move". Thank you for the Analysis.😊

 2 years ago 

The price of the accommodation is very friendly. Just like on the island of Sabang, Indonesia. Lodging is also cheap. It turns out that the more hotels that are built, the more profitable we tourists are. It is because of price competition.
😊😊😊

Yeah, it is. Wow, good to onow its the same over there.

Price Competition has helped alot to reduce the cost, because everybody wants to have customers.

Unfortunately, if the price is high then tou lose but if its low, you gain.

I hope i realize the remaining amount because i really need to visit there.

Thank you for visiting dear 😊

Amazing just from the way you presented, I'm already interested in coming to Calabar, and I already know some of their cultures thanks to you and also their traditional dishes all thanks to you.
Thanks for sharing

Yoy are welcome bro. It would be nice to see you in Calabar within the Year.

Cross River state is said to be one of the best in Nigeria, it’s nice and beautiful, and that was my first time there. Its state capital is CALABAR.

Woow though in Cameroon here, I have been hearing about Cross river state alot. Seeing this your pictures tells me exactly why people speak much about this place because of how good Looking it is

They also have ancient ancestral masquerades such as "Ekpe, Nnabo, Nkoriko".All magnificent and beautifully adorned.

When hearing about this make me happy because I always love seeing masquerades display

I also got to know that Calabar was one of the cities where slave trade and exchange took place in Nigeria and the head office of colonialism. Mary Slessor, who stopped the killing of twins was living there Many years ago.

Woow this is really ancient history. Here in Cameroon, exchange of slave trade and exchange took place at most tribes in the northwest and southwest. I haven't heard about the killing of twins before. Thanks letting me know about it

If you stay within Nigeria and you feel like Joining me then, please feel free to contact me.

I wish I was in Nigeria so that I could join your crew in travelling to this place.

And each of us will go with some extra cash of ten thousand Naira each (N10,000) and that is Approximately 56 Steems. In a nutshell, each person is expected to budget Fifty Nine thousand Naira (N59,000), that is 330 Steems.

Woow for 7-days of stay in a hotel after including transportation to and fro gives you this? Woow this is cheap as compared to what I was thinking.. I really wish I was there so that I can be able to join your team so that we visit and explore this area

Yes calaba is one of the most beautiful state in Nigeria but I give Jos the best. Thou one of my biggest prayer request is that I am opportuned to visit calaba. I wish you safe journey friend. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah ,Jos is another interesting zone for tourism in Nigeria, starting from the strange weather condition to some mountanious regions and their unique foods.

All those, worth visiting too. And you can visit Calabar anytime soon.

 2 years ago 

Hello brother. Its good to see you here. The place you shared is so amazing. You also had a great time th them. Enjoy in this community. And welcome aboard

 2 years ago 

Greetings friend, what a beautiful place. I hope you can come back and visit your friend. May they be great days of fun.
Blessings

Thank you so much😊, sure i will.

 2 years ago 

I have a friend who stays in Calabar,he said Calabar is very beautiful and those pictures you posted just clarifys that.

I will love to visit Calabar someday for vacation, thanks for sharing.

Oh..yeah, Calabar is beautiful 😊. With those beautiful touring zone it makes it more attractive to visitors.

As for going there for vacation, i think you should, it will be a lasting experience.

Thanks for visiting my page too.

 2 years ago 

Amigo que bueno leerte. Me encantaría poder tener la posibilidad de conocer este lugar, no sabia de el y se ve maravilloso, mucha cultura y buena comida que sin duda vale la pena conocer. Espero viajes pronto y traigas mas fotografías y nuevas experiencias. Éxitos amigo.

 2 years ago 

Oooooh!!! What a beautiful place. From your descriptions, I also feel like going to the place. And from what you have said, it is not that expensive as well. That is wonderful.

I like how you guys are paying in installments so that when the time comes, there will be no wahala and it will be enjoyment nonstop. I wish you guys good luck.!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43