How anxiety can quietly change your life (+ my personal experience) [SPA/ENG]

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago
English version


Image source

Anxiety is real and I know this because I have lived it for years since I was a very little girl and I only realize to this day how it has affected me emotionally and physically, because yes, this can harm you physically if it is prolonged.

The root of my anxiety is because I was born and raised in a very strict religion with a mother who made sure that I always followed every single rule to the letter, this whole environment created in me a complacent personality that I still struggle with. It wasn't just about following the rules, it was also about living up to the image of the good and perfect child, as we were always reminded that our reputation was not only ours but that of the whole "organization" as they call it, that put a lot of pressure on me because I liked things that the other kids did, like Christmas, carnival and birthday parties. I was constantly struggling with those feelings of guilt and it was worse when the teachers noticed that it affected me, I always felt that I had to say what was expected of me and always show that I was well, I did not know it then but I was already consumed by anxiety inside and because of it since I was 8 years old or so I could not sleep well or rest, it was even more exhausting having to get up on weekends to preach and go to the classroom, it bothered me a lot having to get up so early on my only days off to do something I did not like, but that I should not express because it was wrong. Added to all this pressure was being in the shadow of my sisters, they were always so impeccable, so correct and with an admirable reputation.

Remember my first strong anxiety attack when I was about 10 or 11 years old, it was because my conscience was eating me because I had been saying some rude things at school to fit in, that night we had to study in family a related subject and all this produced so much anxiety that I felt pressure in my chest and stomach, so strong that I could not eat dinner and what I managed to eat I threw up in the bathroom, my body could not stand the pressure anymore and obviously I told my mom everything, she was very understanding and took care of me.

Due to this and the constant fights between my parents because they did not share beliefs aggravated my anxiety, I had to learn by myself to face these situations, I did not know that I felt anxiety, for me it was just pain in my back and constant migraine that did not stop, my migraine episodes got so bad that I ended up several times in the emergency room, my neurologist mentioned that some of the possible causes of my migraine was stress, but as I was a child I could not feel stress, so it was assumed that it was because of food. Looking for an escape at the age of 12 years old, suicidal thoughts started in me.

image.png

image source

I have many more stories from my life of how anxiety caused me health problems, how I got out of them and how I still fight these thoughts. But I would rather stress that comments of "don't feel like that" or "don't think like that" changes absolutely nothing, it only makes the situation worse, because that person is in a vulnerable moment and is giving you the confidence that she won't give just anyone to tell you what's wrong with her, if she had the opportunity to put that aside, she would. Please don't be insensitive and please even pretend empathy, enough to shut up and hug, let that person unload their pressure, you may even be saving a life because it is horrible to battle against your own mind.

With this little summary of my childhood I want you to understand that children can also suffer from anxiety, they may not even know it themselves, if you do not know how to give them a healthy guide to face the problems they have at that moment, take them to a psychologist or therapist and teach them that this is not bad or crazy, also as parents it is important to accept the things you do wrong, because no one is perfect and we all make mistakes, wrong is what we do after making a mistake, do you try to correct it or do you continue in the same?

Source

Lastly I want to leave some advice if you feel this way, if your anxiety has already reached a point of making you sick like me.


  • Stop trying to control situations, strive to accept that things will never go your way but you can enjoy the planning and the outcome, as that lived moment is a gift.

  • If school, work, family or all create anxiety and you think you are going to explode get away! get lost to the place you have liked the most that you have nearby, no matter what others think if you do that, tomorrow you could die from any cause and you would not have enjoyed your life, there is no future without health. Getting away from there will give you peace and tranquility, enough to look for a solution.

  • Cry, it feels great when you are done crying, the mind clears and the body weighs less.

  • Send everything to sh*t and be happy What does it matter! there are other schools, there are other jobs, you can finish your degree later, remember, it's no use if you're unhealthy or dead.

  • Don't fight against the world, you have too few years of life to waste it, if it is your family stay away, if they love you they will understand your reasons and if not you are already far away to be affected, if you are a minor, talk respectfully to your parents as many times as necessary, if you communicate in the right way what you feel, I am sure they will understand.

Well this is part of my experience struggling with the anxiety monster, if you need someone to talk to, I will always be here for you whoever you are

Success in your life, peace and love.

Salutations!

It is my pleasure to make my first post in the SteemWomen Club community and thank you all for extending me such a hearty welcome.

Achievement 1


Translated with www.DeepL.com





Versión al español


Fuente de imagen

La ansiedad es real y lo sé porque la he vivido por años desde muy niña y solo me doy cuenta hasta hoy en día como me ha afectado emocional y físicamente, porque si, esta puede dañarte físicamente si se prolonga.

La raíz de mi ansiedad se debe a que nací y me críe en una religión muy estricta con una madre que se aseguraba de que yo siempre cumpliera cada una de las reglas al pie de la letra, todo este ambiente creó en mi una personalidad complaciente con la que lucho todavía. No solo era el cumplir las reglas, era también cumplir con la imagen de niña buena y perfecta, ya que siempre nos recordaban que nuestra reputación no solo era nuestra si no de toda la "organización" como ellos lo llaman, eso ponía mucha presión en mi porque me gustaban cosas que hacían los otros niños, como la navidad, la fiesta de carnaval y cumpleaños. Me la pasaba luchando constantemente con esos sentimientos de culpa y era peor cuando los maestros notaban que me afectaba, yo siempre sentía que debía decir lo que se esperaba de mi y siempre demostrar que estaba bien, no lo sabía entonces pero ya me consumía por dentro la ansiedad y debido a ella desde los 8 años mas o menos no podía dormir bien ni descansar, era mas agotador aún tener que levantarme los fines de semana a predicar e ir al salón, me molestaba mucho tener que levantarme tan temprano en mis únicos días de descanso para hacer algo que no me gustaba, pero que tampoco debía expresar porque era incorrecto. A toda esta presión se le sumaba estar a la sombra de mis hermanas, ellas siempre tan impecables, tan correctas y con una reputación admirable.

Recuerdo mi primer ataque fuerte de ansiedad cuando tenia unos 10 u 11 años de edad, fue porque la conciencia me comía porque había estado diciendo algunas groserías en la escuela para encajar, esa noche nos toco estudiar en familia un tema relacionado y todo esto me producía tanta ansiedad que sentía presión en el pecho y en el estomago, tan fuerte que no pude cenar y lo que logré comer lo vomité en el baño, mi cuerpo no aguantó más la presión y obviamente le conté todo a mi mamá, ella fue muy comprensiva y me cuidó.

Debido a esto y las contantes peleas entre mis padres ya que no compartían creencias agravaron mi ansiedad, pues tuve que aprender yo sola a enfrentar estas situaciones, yo no sabia que sentía ansiedad, para mi solo era dolor en mi espalda y migraña constante que no cesaba, mis episodios de migraña se agravaron tanto que terminé en varias ocasiones en la sala de urgencias, mi neurólogo mencionó que algunas de las posibles causas de mi migraña era el estrés, pero como era una niña no podía sentir estrés, así se asumió que era por alimentación. En busca de un escape con tan solo 12 años empezaron en mi pensamientos suicidas.

imagen.png

Fuente de imagen

Tengo muchos mas relatos de mi vida de como la ansiedad me provocó problemas de salud, de como salí de ellos y como peleo aún con estos pensamientos. Pero prefiero resaltar que los comentarios de "no te sientas así" o "no pienses así" no cambia absolutamente nada, solo empeora la situación, porque esa persona está en un momento vulnerable y te esta dando la confianza que no le da a cualquiera para decirte lo que le pasa, si ella tuviera la oportunidad de dejar eso a un lado, lo haría. Por favor no hay que ser insensible y por favor aunque sea finge empatía, la suficiente como para callar y abrazar, deja que esa persona descargue su presión, pueda que hasta estés salvando una vida porque es horrible batallar contra tu propia mente.

Con este pequeño resumen de mi infancia quiero que entiendan que los niños también pueden sufrir de ansiedad, puede que ni ellos mismos lo sepan, si usted no sabe como darle una sana guía para enfrentar los problemas que tenga en ese momento, llévelo a un psicologo o terapeuta y enséñele que eso no es malo ni es de loco, también como padres es importante aceptar las cosas que haces mal, pues nadie es perfecto y todos nos equivocamos, mal está lo que hacemos después de equivocarse ¿Lo intentas corregir o sigues en lo mismo?

Source

Por ultimo quiero dejar un consejo si te sientes de esta manera, si ya tu ansiedad ha llegado a un punto de enfermarte como a mi.


  • Deja de intentar controlar las situaciones, esfuérzate por aceptar que las cosas nunca saldrán como quieres pero puedes disfrutar el planificarlo y el resultado, ya que ese momento vivido es un regalo.

  • Si el colegio, el trabajo, la familia o todos te crean ansiedad y crees que vas a explotar ¡alejate! piérdete a el lugar que mas te ha gustado que tengas cerca, no importa lo que otros piensen por si haces eso, mañana podrías morir por cualquier causa y no habrías disfrutado tu vida, no hay futuro sin salud. El alejarte de allí te dará paz y tranquilidad, la suficiente como para buscar una solución.

  • Llora, se siente muy bien cuando terminas de llorar, la mente se aclara y el cuerpo pesa menos.

  • Manda todo a la mierd* y se feliz ¡Que Importa! hay otros colegios, hay otros empleos, puedes terminar luego la carrera, recuerda, de nada sirve eso si no tienes salud o estas muerto.

  • No luches contra el mundo, tienes muy pocos años de vida como para desperdiciarlo, si es tu familia alejate, si te aman entenderán tus razones y si no ya estas lejos como para que te afecte, si eres menor de edad, habla de forma respetuosa con tus padres las veces que sean necesarias, si comunicas de forma correcta lo que sientes, estoy segura de que entenderán.

Bueno esta es parte de mi experiencia luchando con el monstruo de la ansiedad, si necesitas con quien hablar, siempre estaré aquí para ti seas quien seas.

Éxitos en tu vida, paz y amor.

¡Saludos!

Logro 1


Es un placer para mi hacer mi primera publicación en la comunidad de SteemWomen Club y gracias a todas por extenderme tan cordial tan cordial bienvenida.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44