Do European Magic Investors have an Advantage?

100pt.jpg

Source: Pixabay (https://pixabay.com/en/discount-percent-save-advantage-1015452/)

Every morning I check mtgstocks and day after day I see the same thing. The old cards rising again. Not just cards from the Reserved List either.

NINE of the today’s top twenty risers are from the Reserved List, these can be seen with the * after the name, e.g.. Volath’s Strongold. NINE are reprinted legacy cards, all from the first three expansions.

OldCards.JPG

Source: mtgstocks (https://www.mtgstocks.com/interests)

The original printings are becoming rather iconic, and today’s gains are small compared to some of the three digit daily increases I have been seeing lately.

I have noticed some discrepancies between prices listed in the USA and Europe, the latter being generally cheaper and in some cases quite significant. I think European’s do have an advantage and it should be exploited. Europe tends to catch up eventually.

Lately, I have not been buying any Reserved List cards or any of the old series but I did make a purchase today. I will explain why, and the possible gains I intend to make. These are quite long term holds, although technically they could be considered instant ones.

Purchase.JPG

Source: magiccardmarket (https://www.cardmarket.com/en/Magic)

Above is my purchase: Cards €12.80, Shipping, €4.70, Total €17.50.

True, there is some difference between the $ and the € but it’s not so great as to make a conversion for this example. Below is the US average prices for all of these cards and the gains that can be made TODAY.




If I can sell these cards at the US values, I am generating an ROI of greater than 100%. However, I can’t sell them at these prices, why?

There is little demand for some of them. They are being bought by speculators; this is the reason why they are going up for the most part.

JestersMask.JPG

Source: mtgstocks (https://www.mtgstocks.com/prints/10970)

Why am I buying them?

Look at the trajectory? Do you think they are ever going to retreat from those prices? This is not cryptocurrency, I doubt they will ever recede in value as no more are being made.

If I can make a technical profit today, what can I make if I try and sell these in one year?

LeigeoftheHollows.JPG

Source: mtgstocks (https://www.mtgstocks.com/prints/9935)

I too am a speculator, they are cheap enough to not break the bank, they are on the reserved list and some of them are finding a home within the casual scene. New sets are being released all the time.

Quite often a new set will make an old previously worthless card valuable, because it can cause a new combo to materialise. If this ‘old card’ is on the Reserved List, it can potentially have massive gains.

For me, it’s a no-brainer to pick some of these cards while they are relatively cheap. I have a varied portfolio of Magic cards, FTSE stocks and of course crypto-currency. If you have any interest if knowledge of Magic the Gathering, you will know its good to horde some Reserved List cards.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38