A chance encounter, gray heron in a shallow river

Dear community, some days ago I went for a little bike ride and passed this little river. Out of the corner of my eye I saw something fly up from the bank and land in the water again a few meters away. It was a gray heron, lat. Ardea cinerea.

img_1169_1.jpg

The heron had seen me much earlier than I saw him and first went to distance to me. He moved slowly through the water and did not take his eyes off me.

img_1170_1.jpg

At some point he was tired of seeing me standing there and flew away.

img_1171_1.jpg

img_1172_1.jpg

Grey herons feed not only on fish and frogs, but also on mice, worms and insects. You can often see them hunting on cattle pastures (or at the neighbor's fish pond). Unfortunately I had only a small camera with me (one that fits in my pocket), so the photos didn't turn out so great.I hope you like the photos anyway.

All photos were taken by me with my small Canon Ixus135.
Yours , @werkseberle

Sort:  

Las garzas son muy hábiles, a medida que te acercas salen corriendo y volando, igual me gustaron las fotos, creo que disfruto verte en el riachuelo modelo un poco para ti la garza.

Saludos y Exitos!

Muchas gracias por el bonito comentario. Las garzas también son muy tímidas aquí, pero les gusta cazar en los estanques de los jardines de la gente. Puedes reconocer muy bien a los peces de colores.

 2 years ago 

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.
Please check my new project, STEEM.NFT. Thank you!
default.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38