Me and Steem, me and WOX...

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

heike_0385_opt2_sl.jpg
photo: (c) Bernhard Kilian

I am Heike from Germany, 56, a self-employed environmental technologist and mother of four adult children. I construct and install small-scale biological plants where end users, agricultural producers or small businesses do not need or want to be connected to the sewage system. My customers therefore live away from the infrastructure of residential areas. I commute from construction site to construction site all over Europe. Most of the time, I get to see wonderful areas and thus excellently serve my migratory bird or gypsy gene ;-)) I love being on the road! I also have a social phobia; I can't stand people around me. So this is where my vocation exactly meets my sensitivities and I've set myself up nicely in this way.

klär10.jpg

And then Corona came along. That led to worldwide measures that put a temporary end to my continuous travelling. There were no more assignments, cross-border commuting was no longer possible. I haven't worked since March last year. There was no support for me because without fixed running costs for business premises etc. I was not eligible for existing support funds. So I kept my head above water with occasional jobs and otherwise lived on reserves, the dwindling of which definitely caused me discomfort and sleepless nights. I got by, I didn't suffer from deprivation. But my purpose in life had suddenly become obsolete, my work was no longer feasible, my inactivity was partly paralysing and in general I felt only tied to a place (which I don't even like).

screenshot_71.png

As a result, I could no longer write! This was new for me, because: I always write. For as long as I can remember, I have been processing everything I think, feel, experience into various texts. There are a few publications of mine - poetry books, reference books, a biography of my foster son... And I need this kind of creativity to free myself from mental turmoil, to sort out my plans and to give fears a name. I have never paused with this for more than a few weeks. I haven't put anything down on paper since my forced sedentariness... ;-((

screenshot_13.png

Out of one of my Facebook groups, holiday against hand (which, by the way, was also abruptly no longer possible), I was made aware of Steemit. I was curious. After a first look and some enthusiasm, I created my own account in May 2021. First, I looked around in German-speaking communities and was very taken with the broad spectrum of topics dealt with, the open and mostly respectful discussion culture and felt welcome from the very beginning. Since language barriers should hold me back just as little as physical barriers in real life, other communities quickly became interesting to me as well.

screenshot_14.png

Many cool people with exciting stories are on the move here. I am now very happy to be one of them. After several months of posting older texts that had been lying in drawers and files for a long time, the time had come last week: I posted my first new, up-to-date text. Of course I don't know yet if my blockade is finally overcome. But it feels good and hopeful. The multiple input here, away from my own environment and the so-called filter bubble, has definitely contributed to this. I am grateful for that.

15385538_1190369944380983_5402616789234182863_o.jpg

I probably came to World Of Xpilar inevitably ;-)) One of the largest communities here (or even the largest?) with standards that suit me and contributions that prove open-mindedness and a broad horizon. To read and comment on for several weeks came my first own post here the lately. So I don't have a great history with WOX yet - but hopefully a future ;-))

IMG0108A.jpg

All in all, I had a wonderful start on the Steem; after five months I'm at 2300 SP and have "established" myself, so to speak. It will continue, perhaps with interruptions, if there is a normal everyday life for me again at some point. But always with stories from real life, straight from the heart...

P9230066.JPG

Sort:  

Looking forward to reading more of your real-life stories, @weisser-rabe.

Oh wait... Today in the evening, I think...;-)))

Great ... I'm sure it will be fun to read it.

 3 years ago 

We congratulate @weisser-rabe for a great post about himself and his journey in steemit and in the World Of Xpilar community

You will receive a 100% upvote from our trail to your post "CONGRATULATIONS 15.000 SUBSCRIBER Me and Steem, me and WOX..." and you will also receive 100 Steem Power delegated for 3 weeks

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Hola amiga @weisser-rabe, que bueno que te sientas bienvenida y creando de nuevo, de seguro el bloqueo se irá progresivamente si es que ya no se fue 😊 ahora llegaras a más idiomas (yo no se alemán) por lo que será un placer poder leerte.
Saludos

Gracias - Estoy abierto y curioso a nuevas impresiones. Aprendí español en Colombia durante algún tiempo, pero hace tiempo que he olvidado gran parte de él...

Eso es genial!! el español es difícil porque una sola palabra puede significar muchas cosas diferentes dependiendo del contexto. De todas formas el Google traductor funciona bien para mi amiga jajaja
Saludos 😊

ANNOUNCEMENT
Dear WOX member,

I would like to draw your attention the Literacy Contest that is running by @romanie with good Prizes. Both Presents and Steem:

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@romanie/romanie-s-world-and-wox-literary-contest-concurso-literario-400-steem-prize-fund-and-other-prizes-400-steem-en-premios-y-otros

Cool idea! Thanks for nice hint!

Touching my heart story💔,it will soonest totally change with belief

 3 years ago 

Congratulations on being able to write again. Great post.

I hope you will return to your work soon and go on the road.

Thanks a lot! I'll do my very best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63