Cannons on the waterfront ~ #club100steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

20211203_180200.jpg

This two exhibited cannons were manufactured in the early sixties of the 19 century for the navy of the Habsburg Monarchy.

20211203_152208.jpg

They were commissioned on the warship "Kaiser Max" which took part in the famous battle of Lissa in 1866, where they contributed to the victory over to Italian Royal Navy fleet.

20211203_152946.jpg

20211201_101954.jpg

In 1873, during modernization of the Austru-Hungarian Navy, cannons where withdrawn from their original purpose, subsequently served as ballast on the same ship.

20211203_155449.jpg

With the dissolution of Austro-Hungary, after the World War I ended, ship came into the service of navy of new state Kingdom of Serbs, Croat and Slovenians and changed its name to " Tivat" and then in 1923 to "Neretva".

20211201_101856.jpg

During the bombing of the city of Sibenik in 1943, the cannons sunk with the ship near the peninsula of Mandalina.
Several years leater they were lifted from the seabed and since 1959 they have been exhibited on the waterfront in front of Duke's Palace.

20211203_170659.jpg

Today, these cannons shoot only in celebration such as City Day or a medieval fair.

        ... thank you ...
Sort:  

Wow,this is really enlightening 👌👌👌

THX✌

Hi Toni, looks really massive seeing protection I believe not many people dared to approach that place.

You managed into my post with highlighted users who are powering up:

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@stef1/wox-community-highlight-n6-5-users-who-are-in-club100-stef1-power-up-240-steem

Yes, at that time these were nasty weapons, but later when time ran out they served only as ballast on the ship he..he.
Really, thank you so much for your support my friend! ✌😉

This is a great post, i have learned something new today :)

Thanks my friend, I'm glad you like it!

 3 years ago 

I love cannons and hope to own one at some point. There were 2 little ones (about 50cm long) in a market in London once which he was selling for £10,000. He said they were working - it's important to me that the cannon I buy works. But the price was too much. And he probably sold them now.

Ha..ha, yes, it would be interesting to have a small cannon firing and shoot from the balcony at noon. 😂
But it is a very high price to pay for such entertainment.

 3 years ago 

🙂 I wonder if the local law enforcement would be upset with me... or if I'd become a local tourist attraction. Another thing to add to Eastbourne's fine history!

 3 years ago (edited)

I think people would throw themselves on the floor if you fired from the balcony 😂, and I believe the police 👮‍♂️👮‍♀️would visit you soon after that.
I was watching a documentary with those little cannons and I can tell you it created a strong detonation, this man who fired surprised him and shook him well.
💥💨💣
I think they were also less than 50cm.

 3 years ago 

🤣 That sounds like my kind of documentary. Very educational and perhaps I should watch it before deciding to buy one 🙂

You might be able to fired now for the holidays🎅 when pyrotechnics are allowed. Just filling the confetti in the cannon you will probably be the main attraction in the neighborhood. 😄
These little cannons are standing on a wooden stand with a wheels, when they faired they roll 1.5 meters back, so watch out for the balcony door if it's glass💥 so that it wouldn't be;" I didn't know" 😂👍

 3 years ago 

🤣 The only problem is, I'm the poor fool who'd have to clear up the confetti!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84