Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Margate is totally worth a few nights stay even considering that you live at the seaside. It is livelier than Eastbourne and there are few local attractions like Margate Caves, the Shell Grotto, a Tudor house which is now an ethnographic museum, an old part of town and a sandy beach of course with swings for the kids. Our accommodation even came with deck chairs which were well used on the beach. You can also check out the tidal swimming pool in nearby Birchington-on-Sea and hire a Surrey bike to visit Reculver abbey. There is even a family run pub right by the ruins which does tasty food too. If you have longer to spend in the area, Broadstairs is my favourite seaside resort here. It is even livelier, the horseshoe shaped bay is iconic visible from the surrounding gardens and there is plenty of music even on the beach and a larger tidal pool too.

 3 years ago 

Welcome to "Tourist Margate, your guide today is @petface" 😄

Who knew there was so much to do?? It's a shame you can't add a little ⭐ to comments so that you can return to them later. I'll remember to ask you again if we decide to make the relatively short journey there 🙂

 3 years ago 

I like the sound of that as I simply love being a guide! Maybe I should start taking short videos so more people can travel at least virtually to places 🌍

Bookmarking comments is a great idea 💡 Maybe we will see it being developed one day. Please feel free to ask me again if you really decide to visit Margate. I can even recommend a fish and chips shop worth queuing for.

 3 years ago 

You could set up a hat with lots of GoPro's that could produce a 3D model that could be experienced in VR. You could do bus sightseeing tours and be the voice of the guide. Or walking tours which include stops at cafe's or takeaways which will also record you having your lunch. It'd be just like the viewer is there for themselves.

I'll certainly ask again. I like a good chippy - the best I've ever been to is in Bexhill so it'll have a lot to live up to.

 3 years ago 

I have done it for work but never for my own projects. Last year a colleague of mine drew the short straw and had to wear the GoPro helmet when snowboarding 🏂

I have not been to Bexhill yet but I have seen it from the train. I have been to nearby St Leonards though and I enjoyed it very much. So if I happen to have some free time when in the area I might ask you for that fish and chips shop. I remember you said that you have been to Hastings of course. Did you maybe have fish and chips in Maggie’s?

 3 years ago 

That's pretty cool too. What's your line of work?

Bexhill's probably very similar to St Leonards. There's a couple of rows of shops, a decent venue which attracts some good comedians (and possibly music too) and the sea front. The fish and chip shop's called Athena's - yum yum yum.

I've even done a half marathon in Hastings 🙂 I don't recognise Maggie's. I can't remember where we've eaten there - nowhere particularly good 😆

 3 years ago 

I am a product executive for a tour operator. I am in charge of the digital and printed content, relationships with the suppliers, renegotiating agreements and supporting the reservations team. It is an exiting week right now as the first charter flights are about to take off. We all simply can’t wait to see English people on holiday in Europe as this time last year we had to cancel all bookings due to the global pandemic. Many are still reluctant to travel but luckily there are some who didn’t give up on their travel plans.

I saved Athena's Fish & Chips in my TripAdvisor account so it will be there for when I need it. Thanks for sharing.

A half marathon sounds cool 😎 I have not done anything like it. Did you run for charity? Maggie’s is ideal for a sit-down meal whilst enjoying the sea view from the old town’s fish market.

 3 years ago 

My Aunt works for a well known Tour Operator too 🙂 She got to take a lot of the family on a "test" cruise earlier this year which sounded amazing. I was very jealous that we weren't invited!

Many are still reluctant to travel

I wouldn't be sure myself. Especially with yet another variant that's being marketed as more contagious than the one before. It'll be nice if they discovered a new variant that we could point and laugh at how pathetically weak it is. But no, we don't hear about those ones.

I bet your TripAdvisor can tell a story!!

I think that for that half marathon, I used it as a training one for a marathon that I did. I remember that one well as it's the fastest time I've ever done (1 hour 52 minutes) and after about 2 miles, there's a brutal hill which goes around a corner and never seems to end. I think it's about 1 mile uphill. Brutal.

Is Maggie's at "the end" near to the car parks? Near to where you catch the train from (one of my all time favourites photos is me holding the-toddler-gorilla (previously known as the-baby-gorilla) on it).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64