#club5050 Let It Take You Away

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

I love popping down to Kent for a weekend or even longer. A high speed train from London takes you to the coast in about an hour. If you like travelling and have family or friends to visit here and there in England, it is good to know that an annual rail card saves you a third of the cost of a journey.

PDSC_0336.jpg
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 200
Shutter Speed: 1/400 Aperture: f/5

So here I am in Margate in South East England. My accommodation where I took these sunset photos from, is just by the beach and near a restaurant with a terrace. It was quite windy that evening so I had an extra hoodie on while taking these photos.

PDSC_0340.jpg
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 250
Shutter Speed: 1/250 Aperture: f/3.6

Many people who weren’t spending a night or two here just drove and parked for an hour watching the sun set from their caravans, motor bikes or cars but surprisingly nobody turned up in a horse carriage. That would have made a one of a kind photo.

PDSC_0348.jpg
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 100
Shutter Speed: 1/160 Aperture: f/4.3

This sunset reminded me of when I was a kid on a holiday with my grandparents somewhere sunny in Europe and we decided to go to a drive-in cinema. The films weren’t anything new and just released but the experience, other than having to keep up reading the subtitles, was totally worth it. We had some fish and chips while the evening entertainment was on and then we all had an ice cream too before heading back to the hotel. Yes, we saw some unforgettable sunsets on such summer evenings. I just wish I could go back in time and enjoy one more evening like that.

PDSC_0337.jpg
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 200
Shutter Speed: 1/320 Aperture: f/5

The sunset is still a thing though, thousands of miles away and many years later. So I hope you enjoy my sunset photos and let’s see how far away this sunset will take you! I am really curious to find out.

PDSC_0356.jpg
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 360
Shutter Speed: 1/250 Aperture: f/5

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

We've never been to Margate - it's on Homes Under The Hammer a lot - is it worth a visit (considering we live by the seaside already)?

 3 years ago 

Margate is totally worth a few nights stay even considering that you live at the seaside. It is livelier than Eastbourne and there are few local attractions like Margate Caves, the Shell Grotto, a Tudor house which is now an ethnographic museum, an old part of town and a sandy beach of course with swings for the kids. Our accommodation even came with deck chairs which were well used on the beach. You can also check out the tidal swimming pool in nearby Birchington-on-Sea and hire a Surrey bike to visit Reculver abbey. There is even a family run pub right by the ruins which does tasty food too. If you have longer to spend in the area, Broadstairs is my favourite seaside resort here. It is even livelier, the horseshoe shaped bay is iconic visible from the surrounding gardens and there is plenty of music even on the beach and a larger tidal pool too.

 3 years ago 

Welcome to "Tourist Margate, your guide today is @petface" 😄

Who knew there was so much to do?? It's a shame you can't add a little ⭐ to comments so that you can return to them later. I'll remember to ask you again if we decide to make the relatively short journey there 🙂

 3 years ago 

I like the sound of that as I simply love being a guide! Maybe I should start taking short videos so more people can travel at least virtually to places 🌍

Bookmarking comments is a great idea 💡 Maybe we will see it being developed one day. Please feel free to ask me again if you really decide to visit Margate. I can even recommend a fish and chips shop worth queuing for.

 3 years ago 

You could set up a hat with lots of GoPro's that could produce a 3D model that could be experienced in VR. You could do bus sightseeing tours and be the voice of the guide. Or walking tours which include stops at cafe's or takeaways which will also record you having your lunch. It'd be just like the viewer is there for themselves.

I'll certainly ask again. I like a good chippy - the best I've ever been to is in Bexhill so it'll have a lot to live up to.

 3 years ago 

I have done it for work but never for my own projects. Last year a colleague of mine drew the short straw and had to wear the GoPro helmet when snowboarding 🏂

I have not been to Bexhill yet but I have seen it from the train. I have been to nearby St Leonards though and I enjoyed it very much. So if I happen to have some free time when in the area I might ask you for that fish and chips shop. I remember you said that you have been to Hastings of course. Did you maybe have fish and chips in Maggie’s?

 3 years ago 

That's pretty cool too. What's your line of work?

Bexhill's probably very similar to St Leonards. There's a couple of rows of shops, a decent venue which attracts some good comedians (and possibly music too) and the sea front. The fish and chip shop's called Athena's - yum yum yum.

I've even done a half marathon in Hastings 🙂 I don't recognise Maggie's. I can't remember where we've eaten there - nowhere particularly good 😆

 3 years ago 

I am a product executive for a tour operator. I am in charge of the digital and printed content, relationships with the suppliers, renegotiating agreements and supporting the reservations team. It is an exiting week right now as the first charter flights are about to take off. We all simply can’t wait to see English people on holiday in Europe as this time last year we had to cancel all bookings due to the global pandemic. Many are still reluctant to travel but luckily there are some who didn’t give up on their travel plans.

I saved Athena's Fish & Chips in my TripAdvisor account so it will be there for when I need it. Thanks for sharing.

A half marathon sounds cool 😎 I have not done anything like it. Did you run for charity? Maggie’s is ideal for a sit-down meal whilst enjoying the sea view from the old town’s fish market.

I am very glad to buy your sunset 🌇🌆 picture and gift ❤️ the same to my romantic indian wife in this chilled cold season at our Garden City:-)
@petface

 3 years ago 

This certainly is music for my years! It sounds like you love your wife who is lucky to have you. Sometimes even no material gifts are needed as nothing can compare to an experience. The time spent together enjoying such a beautiful sunset for example is the most precious.

Very beautiful sunset photography! Thank you very much for sharing it. 💙

 3 years ago 

You are more than welcome my friend and thanks for stopping by 💙 I really like the portraits you share too so I am already keeping an eye out for your next post in the WORLD OF XPILAR community. Have a lovely weekend my dear and we stay in touch.

 3 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 3 years ago 

Thank you ever so much for stopping by and upvoting my post @scilwa It is greatly appreciated! Have a wonderful day and till next time 👩‍💻

Qué bella toma.

 3 years ago 

Thanks a lot! I can’t wait to see and photo more pretty sunsets 🌅

You made a lovely picture of sunset

 3 years ago 

Thanks my friend! I enjoyed taking the photos and watching the sunset through the camera.

 3 years ago 

Greetings friend @petface

It is wonderful to enjoy this serene sunshine to the fullest, reflecting a beautiful work of art in the sky.

Thank you for your entry to the contest.

Participant #24

 3 years ago 

Pleasure is all mine my friend @adeljose I am pleased that you appreciate my sunset post. Thank you for responding and organising the contest in such a professional way. I am also glad to see that the sunset challenge is on for another week. I wish you all the very best and have fun over the weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34