๐Ÿฅ•๐ŸŒฝ๐Ÿฅ” Home Grown DinnersteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR โ€ข 3 years ago

Having written about the life of Carrot Man a few days ago, today, I went foraging in the garden for something to go with some sausages we had in our fridge and this is what I harvested...

IMG_9868.JPG

I'd already chopped up one carrot for the-toddler-gorilla so it was slightly better than what I've shared but it's so satisfying knowing that all of this was grown from seeds that I planted in my garden. I feel very proud.

I didn't do anything very exciting with them - the carrots and sweetcorn got prepared and then boiled and the potatoes got boiled and then mashed with a little milk and plenty of butter. The raspberries have been frozen for the-toddler-gorilla to eat on another day.

The outcome, although simple, was rather satisfying and to eat a meal that was almost entirely home grown is something that I'm rather proud of. I think I've already mentioned the proud bit ๐Ÿ˜Š

IMG_9870.JPG
I'm not one to mess about with presentation

the-toddler-gorilla enjoyed it too... until he got over tired and started mashing the mashed potato into the table cloth (which I didn't take a photo of). He was in bed shortly after.

Sort: ย 

๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š family man๐ŸŒ

ย 3 years agoย 

That is certainly a fantastic harvest @the-gorilla ๐Ÿ‘I like the smiley sweet corn on the cob ๐Ÿ˜Š Maybe youโ€™ve got a BBQ out there so you can grill the sweet corn next time if you can be bothered - it tastes divine! You can also add some grated parmesan on top and have it the Mexican way ๐Ÿ’โ€โ™€๏ธ

ย 3 years agoย 

Nice suggestions - I love a BBQ but I fear that BBQ season is over now for this year. It's really ๐ŸŒงโ˜” here at the moment.

ย 3 years agoย 

Oh Dear @the-gorilla ๐ŸŒง Itโ€™s quite windy in London at the moment, itโ€™s messing up with the now quite tall tomato and cucumber plants ๐ŸŒฌThe sun was out at lunch time. It did rain hard the night before though. I always love a BBQ even in winter. Itโ€™s not the full experience but still the foodโ€™s worth it. Iโ€™m still left will 25kg of charcoal and Iโ€™m hoping to use some of it before Christmas ๐Ÿคž

ย 3 years agoย 

We had the same problem with our lettuce - it's grown so tall because we don't eat it often enough and now it's fallen over in the wind! Quite inconvenient, I must say!

I love a BBQ too, the chargrilled taste can't be beaten.

ย 3 years agoย 

Sorry to hear about your lettuce @the-gorilla Have you maybe got any other than green? I find the ruby coloured the most special, maybe just because it's different. I've not tried growing lettuce, maybe I should but I've always been afraid of the slugs which attack nearly anything here anyway. I guess I need the mighty Carrot Man to keep clear of the slugs ๐Ÿ‘Š

ย 3 years agoย 

I think they're little gem and we've let them grow tall - they still look good so I won't be uprooting them just yet ๐Ÿ™‚

We have problems with slugs (the size of mice) and caterpillars which have totally destroyed our broccoli. Both the slugs and caterpillars are members of our "pest relocation programme" which secures them a flight to the water company next door. A lot of pests have joined the initiative and our broccoli is recovering slowly.

ย 3 years agoย 

๐ŸฅฌI usually go for little gem lettuce when shopping as some other varieties are just too big, Romaine lettuce for instance and then half the lettuce ends up rotting in the fridge. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ Iโ€™ve not seen this big slugs @the-gorilla and I really hope I wonโ€™t๐Ÿคž Iโ€™m glad your pest relocation program is a success ๐Ÿ† In general, luckily this year I got less caterpillars than last year. Iโ€™ve not grown broccoli either ๐Ÿค”Are they big broccoli heads or summer, tender stem broccoli? Maybe you will also post about them?

hahaha, good appetite ...

ย 3 years agoย 

A nice dinner. ๐Ÿ‘ I wouldn't refuse.

Loving the corn end thingies, never seen them before although i have led a sheltered life LOL

Looks good brother - hello to the baby gorilla and co

ย 3 years agoย 

Ha ha - we went to a friends house and they had them for the kids and I thought they were brilliant. I couldn't just buy boring, plain ones though - I had to get ones with little faces on ๐Ÿ™‚ It didn't stop the-toddler-gorilla getting in a right old mess. Especially with the mashed potato mashing ๐Ÿ™„

I love your platter. ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹ Greetings to the little one as well.

Very delicious..

Yummy!

This is nice.. and am glad you wrote about it.. kudos

Felicidades por su cosecha, debe ser una alegria enorme comer los alimentos de su propio esfuerzo

ย 2 years agoย 

Thanks - I was very proud of my efforts. Hopefully this year will be even better!

En el nombre de Dios., asi sera. Suerte y exito

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63