🎥 Hard ForksteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Untitled-3.png
Source 1 + Source 2 + Photoshop

Having read a post by an angry fraudster who still believes that a Steemit vulnerability that was fixed in Hard Fork 0.9 is still present (for a rough time reference, the HIVE fork was 0.23), I ended up being consumed by content written around May 2020 both on and off chain.

Whilst 2020 doesn't seem like a long time ago, the UK (and pretty much global) population were locked in their homes at risk of being fined if they dared to venture out into the real world.

20200120 02.JPG
👆 My Photo from when I ventured out into the real world

Pre-COVID, stages in life could be defined by music - Jive Bunny and the Mastermixers being my first cassette (and still a favourite of mine), Big Fun's "Blame it on the boogie" and New Kids On The Block's "Happy Birthday" at friends' (primary school) parties, the entire Smash hits '93 album (with hit after hit after hit - another album which I'll always cherish), Meatloaf doing anything for love and Coolio's "Gansta's Paradise" whilst studying for my GCSE's along with my introduction to The Prodigy. So many periods of my life that music instantly takes me back to.

That's not the case from 2020 though. Rockstar's "Da Baby" topped the UK charts back in May that year and I could look through the top 100 and struggle to find a tune that I recognise.

That's not what this post was supposed to be about though, I've been distracted by my nostalgia again... Back to May 2020 and the fallout from Justin Sun purchasing Steemit's Ninja stake...
Separator-grey.png

Various authors at the time commented that "They'll make a movie out of this one day" and I eventually stumbled across this article on decrypt.co. Ignoring my perception that there's a HIVE bias to this piece, it certainly reads like a story that would be beyond the imagination of many Hollywood screen writers - not least because it's original and not a rehashed version of something released 20 years ago. They wouldn't need to "base it upon real life events" and make shit up because it's "actual, real life events".


Source. It's remarkable to think that Steemit was created in this (👆) room and in time went on to be sold for $8m.

When I read that "story" and some of the posts by "the antagonisers" at the time, it's difficult not to think about what some of the witnesses on "Steemit's side" of things must have been thinking and feeling. @justyy, @steemchiller and @dlike were 3 names that cropped up time and again as targets for many of the threats, always accompanied by Justin Sun's name of course (and occasionally the entire Korean community). Having not been around Steemit at the time and looking back at it now, their staying power is nothing short of remarkable and I wonder if Steemit would even be here if it weren't for their efforts (apologies to anybody whose names should also be appearing here).

No matter how much I read about it all though and no matter how many opinions I see supporting the Hard Fork 0.23 to create HIVE, it all looks so completely unnecessary and I can't help but wonder where Steemit would be today with so much knowledge and immense financial backing fuelling the growth that was already underway. Instead, there's Steemit and Hive continuing to compete against each other. Those that try to venture onto both chains will only succeed on one - Either through Steemit's #steemexclusive or eventually through Hive's unrelinquishing anger. Whilst I admire some of the content on Hive, I've made so many friends on Steemit and it'll always feel like home.
Separator-grey.png

As usual, I've started writing with an idea and ended up completely losing my trail of thought and not knowing where to go next. The only thing on my mind now is that it really would make a great movie.

Sort:  
 last year 

I have always been interested in this story as well. I am very sorry that there is a big split, but on the other hand, competition will inevitably lead to improvement, it will force to find new solutions for survival and prosperity.

I read that at the time it was planned that STEEM would migrate to the TRON blockchain. I wonder if this is true and if so, why leave something of your own and switch to someone else's. Perhaps this was one of the factors of the split as well.

When I found out about Steemit and started writing here, one of the authors told me that everyone had switched to HIVE. That's how I learned about HIVE. I created an account there and tried to post on both platforms for a while. However, very quickly I made friends here and became bored with HIVE. From this I conclude that the main advantage of such a project is not new developments, not even money (not always money), but the community.

Some time ago, due to the fact that my country has been at war for six months now, the financial situation forced me to start writing in HIVE again. I didn't last more than a month. Once again, Steemit has a complete victory. I'm not interested in HIVE and I don't intend to post there anymore.

my introduction to The Prodigy

Oh, I was listening to The Prodigy too. Where is my youth...

I read that at the time it was planned that STEEM would migrate to the TRON blockchain. I wonder if this is true and if so, why leave something of your own and switch to someone else's. Perhaps this was one of the factors of the split as well.

I'm still not clear on that. The article that @the-gorilla links to seems pretty certain on that point, where it says,

Sun had one condition, however: He said he would only pay 70% upfront, with the balance due once the Steem token was transferred to the Tron blockchain. His plan was to have the Steem token keep its name but run on the Tron network instead.

That claim was a huge part of the justification/rationalization that the attackers used for both the freeze and the split, but at the time it all seemed to me like a big miscommunication that arose from differences in language (I've read that article a number of times over the years, and I get frustrated by the misleading and one-sided presentation every single time - so I'm not going to take that claim at face value without a source behind it.). At the time, my take was that JS was talking about connecting/bridging the chains and the soon-to-be Hive witnesses were (intentionally or not) misconstruing what he said.

At this point, with the Hive people gone for the last 2 3/4 years, I tend to doubt it. If it were true, I assume it would have happened by now. Also, if it's true, then - as a 30% stakeholder - I would expect @ned to still have more of a presence.

I'm fairly certain that the Hive witnesses had already been planning to fork for a long time, and they were just waiting for an excuse, so they went all-in on FUD and misinformation when they launched their attack.

 last year 

I finally fully read the article @the-gorilla linked to. It looks pretty one-sided to me. It would be great to hear an opposing opinion.

Cryptocurrency news sites also wrote about the migration of STEEM to the TRON blockchain. But it is very likely that they copied the information that the witnesses of that time shared.

I finally fully read the article @the-gorilla linked to. It looks pretty one-sided to me. It would be great to hear an opposing opinion.

There's no doubt that the Hive camp won the propaganda campaign at the time. At one point, I thought about writing notes so I could eventually set the record straight with "Steve's Authoritative Treatise on What Really Happened." ;-) Maybe I should have. Many of the details are starting to get blurry now.

 last year 

"Steve's Authoritative Treatise on What Really Happened."

I really hoped that this was going to make a cool acronym but I've been left disappointed.

lol. And it was off to a good start, too.

I'm fairly certain that the Hive witnesses had already been planning to fork for a long time, and they were just waiting for an excuse, so they went all-in on FUD and misinformation when they launched their attack.

I suspect they had been planning on eliminating or redistributing Steemit's stake, which is why Ned wanted to sell, but they probably wanted to keep control of the chain rather than building a new one. They probably expected Justin's response to be something that forked the chain, and then they could claim that theirs was the "real" Steem chain and Justin was the one splitting off a new chain.

I suspect they had been planning on eliminating or redistributing Steemit's stake, which is why Ned wanted to sell, but they probably wanted to keep control of the chain rather than building a new one.

Yeah, I agree. I remember they had even talked about something like "forking Steemit out" a year or two beforehand. I guess they never really gave up on that idea.

and then they could claim that theirs was the "real" Steem chain and Justin was the one splitting off a new chain.

Some of them even tried to make that claim anyway.

 last year 

I get frustrated by the misleading and one-sided presentation every single time

I think that the bias comes through - especially as a lot of the people referenced were those that initiated the switch to Hive. As though they'd been "interviewed" and proof-read the article before release.

At this point, with the Hive people gone for the last 2 3/4 years, I tend to doubt it. If it were true, I assume it would have happened by now. Also, if it's true, then - as a 30% stakeholder - I would expect @ned to still have more of a presence.

I wondered about that bit too and maybe ned does still have some ninja stake tucked away under a mattress somewhere. Or like you suggest, maybe the TRX integration was that step 🤷‍♂️

I'm fairly certain that the Hive witnesses had already been planning to fork for a long time, and they were just waiting for an excuse, so they went all-in on FUD and misinformation when they launched their attack.

It was interesting to read a lot of complaints prior to the fork about lack of progress and development, much like the criticism we still see on Steemit. There was also a general feeling on the platform that people were looking for a fight and it didn't matter where they looked, they'd find one. I think we're somewhat fortunate that the haters all left together which has left us with pretty much ubiquitous peace and love 💖

Maybe not quite ubiquitous, and I do miss many of the people who left, but I mostly agree with this:

There was also a general feeling on the platform that people were looking for a fight and it didn't matter where they looked, they'd find one. I think we're somewhat fortunate that the haters all left together which has left us with pretty much ubiquitous peace and love 💖

There was a lot lot lot of toxicity that predated the JS buyout and disappeared when the fork happened. I don't miss that dysfunction at all. And I notice that when I do get curious and venture over there, I still see much of the same toxicity from some of the same players.

 last year 

Maybe not quite ubiquitous

Fair point.

One of the authors even mentioned something along the lines of "previous warring factions joined together like you would see in an alien invasion movie". I suppose that despite their common enemy (steemit), they've decided to return to their own conflict. I would say money's to blame but Twitter's probably worse.

 last year 

When I found out about Steemit and started writing here, one of the authors told me that everyone had switched to HIVE.

I think that something similar happened to me too, in an unnecessarily aggressive manner (not towards me but a rather venomous tone). I did try Hive but it never felt right trying to do both.

Oh, I was listening to The Prodigy too. Where is my youth...

Those were the days... I was fortunate enough to see The Prodigy at Reading Festival in 1998. Whilst bouncing around in the mosh-pit, I (literally) bumped into a friend from school. I can still feel the bass...

Oh the nostalgia... it's just too much.

Meets with all the other youths ;-))

Trifft sich mit allen anderen Jugenden ;-)))

 last year 

Hive didn't happen overnight, a lot was planned long before the split

You at Old Trafford now?😅

 last year 

Nah, not tonight. it’s on the telly. Are you watching it?

Yeah, I am. How is it still draw?!!😒😂😂

 last year 

No idea - Hoilett really should have scored that 😂😂

 last year 

The comeback’s on. Andy Carroll had a good game 🤡

Carroll is a fucking bully, he deserved it😂..
We won, good game. Better luck next time man 🫱🏼‍🫲🏾

 last year 

I lived the split through recording it all on Steem News.

There were at least two and half sides to every story... 😕


On the subject of a HardFork movie, there was in a HardFork TV series that got to pre production I think.

It was a TV series 'powered by Steem' under the auspices of film professionals @dougkarr and @ericvancewalton.

I interviewed them on one of my Use Case Radio shows...

The three hour recording is still on YouTube luckily if you fancy a listen...


Those were the days 🤠

 last year 

I've only got a 2 minute window to reply so hopefully I'll be able to write more later...

I'm about an hour into the recording and it's so interesting listening to you and your guests. It makes me wonder even more, what might have been had these people all worked together - such incredible passion about the potential for STEEM and Steemit.

I also expected you to sound more Welsh 😁

 last year 

1.5 hours in... you're a Man Utd fan... Come on Reading!!! 😁😁😁

 last year 

Greetings friend.

Interesting approach, starting with one story and ending in another, I have been able to live this last one, I think that a great opportunity was lost since there was no agreement between those who decided to leave, a lot of cognitive and financial potential went there, although also, heads With bad intentions. Steemit has become a nice place despite the impact caused by that moment.

 last year 

Interesting approach, starting with one story and ending in another

I'm afraid that this was not my intention - my head was all over the place as I wrote it and I tried my best to make it coherent. I'm not sure how successful I was!

Steemit has become a nice place despite the impact caused by that moment.

I think this is why Steemit will continue to live on and why we'll keep getting drawn to it. There might be better sites technologically with their dApps and features but it's the userbase that keeps people coming back and if a "Social Network" is built upon anger and hatred (or has no users at all) then it will inevitably fade away.

 last year 

That's right, my friend.

 last year 

😀 Have you written a post somewhere to say what this thumbup business is all about? And shouldn't it be "thumbsup" - thumbup sounds a bit kinky 🤭

Ha... i think both commands are acceptable. "thumbup" was a typo, I agree.

 last year 

!thumbsup

🙂

strange, this one didn't fire. !thumbsup

Hello @the-gorilla! You are amazing!


command: !thumbup is powered by witness @justyy and his contributions are: https://steemyy.com
More commands are coming!

 last year 

!bing


Credit: Bing Wallpapers


command: !bing is powered by witness @justyy and his contributions are: https://steemyy.com
More commands are coming!

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @ubongudofot

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 last year 

Thank you kindly Mr. @ubongudofot

Hello @the-gorilla! You are amazing!


command: !thumbup is powered by witness @justyy and his contributions are: https://steemyy.com
More commands are coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95