⚽ Football Nostalgia || Liverpool's Czech Mate (October 5, 1996)steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

Every now and again, I like to revisit some old football magazines and get lost in a little nostalgia. Today, I've looked at Shoot magazine from this week back in 1996 (dated 5th October).

image.png

I'd normally choose an article featured on the cover which in this case, is all about Liverpool's new signing Patrik Berger but before diving into one of the standout players from Euro '96, this image of England's current manager caught my eye...

image.png

South Gate. Get it? No context for the "Odd Bod" bit, just this image 🤷‍♂️


Some Background

That Patrik Berger might look like a big girl, but he sure can play.

Having played a key role in helping the Czech Republic reach the final of Euro '96, Berger secured a £2.4m move to Liverpool whilst Czech compatriot Karel Poborsky signed for Man Utd after scoring one of the goals of the tournament. It was these 2 players who were involved in the penalty incident in the final with Poborsky winning it, and Berger converting it.

Source

I'm not sure what VAR would make of that decision.

Prior to this and his subsequent move to Liverpool, Berger had just won the Bundesliga with Ottmar Hitzfeld's Borussia Dortmund playing alongside the likes of Andreas Möller, Karl-Heinz Riedle (who would later join him at Liverpool) and Steffen Freund (who played for Spurs). Even earlier than that, he started his career at Slavia Prague.


Settling In

It seems to be a tradition that when a foreign player signs for an English club, the first thing he learns is how to swear...

He is taking a crash course in English, but has already been taught to swear!

Which reminds me of this great quote from Andrei Kanchelskis' biography...

image.png
Source

Whenever a foreign footballer comes into a dressing room, he will be taught how to swear. I've seen exactly the same thing with Brazilian players when I have been managing in Russia. They also taught me the correct way to address the manager of Manchester United.

Almost the first time I came across Alex Ferguson in the corridors of the Cliff, he said to me, 'All right, Andrei, how's it going?'

I smiled at him and replied, 'Fuck off, Scottish bastard.'

Ferguson stopped dead in his tracks and then began to smile as
he heard laughter echoing down the corridor, while I stood there
bewildered.


Ambition to Win Trophies

Like so many who moved to Anfield around this time, there were high expectations around the club and the desire to win trophies.

I was flattered to have received so many offers in the summer. Dortmund aimed to win trophies every season, and the ambition at Liverpool is very much the same.

I believe we will do well, both at home and in Europe.

In Berger's 7 seasons at Anfield, he won a League Cup, FA Cup and UEFA Cup so he did win a few trophies both at home and in Europe but I'm sure he would've liked to have won a lot more in his time there.


My Memories

Upon his arrival at Liverpool, I remember him being a poster boy to rival Jamie Redknapp. On the pitch, a quick winger with a good left footed shot from distance. I don't remember him scoring any tap ins and his domain was very much outside the box. I think he'd do well in today's game as an inverted winger, cutting in from the right flank and he'd probably also benefit from the softer refereeing!


Some Liverpool Highlights

Including an accurate translation from Jason McAteer.

Source


A Sneaky Contest

Those that read my content regularly know that I like to sneak a contest in every now and again so there's a 5 Steem prize to the first person who can tell me which player the "Maths of the Day" challenge is referring to.

image.png

UPDATE: Contest won by @petface

Separator.png

Previous Football Nostalgia

  1. Bryan Robson's Testimonial (November 17, 1990)
  2. Euro '96 Round-Up (July 13, 1996)
  3. Liverpool's Future Heroes (Shoot Annual 2004)
  4. Swede Music - Bjork hits the right note with Rangers (July 27, 1996)

Footer-Top.png

Please share your thoughts about Fantasy Sports or Sport in general either in the comments or via your own post, remembering to post in World of Xpilar and using the tag #woxsports or #woxfantasysports.Footer-Bottom.png
Footer Source 1Source 2Source 3 + Photoshop

Sort:  

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

 3 years ago 

I think the answer is Jordi Cruyff?🤔 @the-gorilla My first thought was Justin Kluivert but then the post was about football from 1996 and he played for Manchester United around then⚽️I don’t think I need to say who his dad was!

 3 years ago 

It is indeed Jordi Cruyff 🙂 Good knowledge and here's your prize 🏆

image.png

 3 years ago (edited)

Thank you @the-gorilla 🙌 It feels good to have won so I even took a screenshot of your reply 📲 I would say Patrick Berger was definitely the better player though ⚽️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53