🤯

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

After reading a few of the replies to my "😨 Are You Scared Of UPVU Yet?" article, I knew that a follow-up was needed. I have thought about little else since writing it and I'm writing this in the hope that my brain will leave me alone once I hit the "Post" button. We'll see.

image.png
Source

My initial thinking was an article along the lines of "🤯 UPVU Is Good For STEEM" with the thought that it was clickbait at its best. As I type this, I haven't decided upon a suitable clickbait title but I'm sure that something will come to me.

UPDATE: It didn't.

Separator-blue.png

New Learnings

Following various discussions recently, there are 2 things I've learnt:

  1. Steem.DAO poses little risk: I've been reliably informed that the $2.5m SBD which is dormant in the @steem.dao account is only accessible to the owner of the accounts keys. I have no idea who this is and don't need to know. If a proposal was voted to the top of the list, surpassing the "Return Proposal", there's a limit to how many SBD can be withdrawn which will allow time for somebody to react. The Steem.DAO is still a mysterious being to me so even with this additional knowledge, I'm certainly not an expert (and even what I've written here is probably wrong).
  2. UPVU's Witness Proxy has good intentions: Following my post, I discovered this post by one of UPVU's developers explaining their rationale behind allocating UPVU to do your witness voting. Whilst I disagree with the idea that you receive higher votes for setting UPVU as a proxy, I agree with the sentiment of voting for witnesses that keep STEEM on the platform.

I wanted to keep this bit brief to focus on the next sections.

👇🏼 Source
image.png
Separator-blue.png

The Need to Please Investors

As many of the comments pointed out and if you spend some time looking around the Korean community, the fact is that UPVU ties up a lot of STEEM and keeps it on the platform, giving some stability to its price. This is UPVU's biggest benefit to STEEM (hence my clickbait title idea). As I've mentioned repeatedly, UPVU's returns can't be rivalled and investors benefit hugely which explains why UPVU's growth is so significant.

Following on from my previous article, I thought some Venn diagrams would be cool which I'd like to share with you. It's a comparison between Steemit when UPVU launched and how Steemit looks now (in my opinion).

At Launch

image.png
Created on Edit.org

Prior to UPVU and when UPVU first launched, Steemit was full of active bloggers who were also investors. The Investors were largely inactive, earning a passive income whilst the bloggers were active. They were essentially one and the same with few solely interested in blogging and some only interested in a return on their investment.

Now

image.png

Since the HIVE fork, the relative number of bloggers has reduced and the Steemit userbase has shifted towards Investors. The Investors are more interested in maximising their return on investment and need to blog to do so. (I thought about adding "scammers" but decided not to, I'll leave the size and positioning of this ellipse to your imagination.)

A Comparison

-At LaunchNow
OpinionActive Bloggers, Inactive InvestorsActive Bloggers, Active Investors
ConsequenceInvestors Didn't Need To Blog to Maximise ReturnsInvestors Earn More By Blogging
OpinionHigh Quality Content (reflected by the high ranking (SEO) of numerous articles posted 4 years ago)Lower Quality Content (reflected by a lack of high ranking (SEO) articles)
ConsequenceAttracted More High Quality AuthorsAttracts More Trash
ConsequenceGreat For Bloggers and InvestorsBad For Investors (and probably Bloggers)
FactLittle To No CompetitionSignificant Competition (e.g. HIVE, Blurt)

I've probably articulated it badly in the table above but essentially, the ratio of Investors to Bloggers being in its current state is simply bad for everybody.

In a Witness Proxy post, UPVU's developer says (translated):

We plan to disband @upvu.proxy at any time when STEEM normalizes to some extent .

Personally, I hope that Steam will become active soon and @upvu.proxy will be disbanded.

I don't know how these things can happen without a rebalancing of the Investor / Blogger ratio. This can only happen if:
a) we attract more quality bloggers (with competition from HIVE and Blurt, this is more difficult than it has ever been) or;
b) we reduce the number of investors.

In my opinion, (a) won't happen due to the current lack of quality, (b) won't happen because nobody wants to "turn away money".

Which I believe means that the current trend will continue - more money being delegated to UPVU which leads me on to UPVU's developer's response.

Separator-blue.png

UPVU Response

First off, a lot of credit must go to UPVU for taking note of the concerns outlined and thinking about improvements. Korean to English translations are notoriously shit so please read the post yourself and this is my overly-simplified summary:

  1. 10% voting power reserved for upvoting community (non-UPVU) articles (perhaps an automated steemcurator service).
  2. Accumulated upvotes removing the need for daily posts.
  3. Ability for UPVU users to distribute their own votes.

This addresses many of the concerns without deterring existing investors - my thoughts can be seen in reply to the post and I recommend that you follow this user if you have an interest in this.

I have many thoughts which I will find difficult to articulate. The overarching one is very much that this solution makes UPVU attractive to a wider audience - users who want to improve their rewards and retain the ability to vote themselves. Making UPVU even more appealing and accelerating the shift of power to UPVU even quicker.

Separator-blue-Football.png

Despite thinking about this almost exclusively for many days, I still find myself coming to the same conclusion that I did in my original article - Steemit is becoming UPVU. With the additional improvements, I see more reasons for users to delegate their power to UPVU to the extreme scenario where everybody delegates their power and the remaining "purely bloggers" and New Users are competing for the 10%.

There is of course Steemit Inc. that I haven't mentioned who would obviously have a significant say in Steemit's future direction.

Based upon these improvements to UPVU, what does the future of Steemit look like to you?

Separator-blue.png

I've thought long and hard about every sentence in this article and I really need to stop thinking about it. My plan now is to quietly get on with my work in the knowledge that UPVU's developers are listening and want what's best for STEEM / Steemit's future.

Sort:  

From your first post, I've been thinking about one particular excerpt. This is almost an argument in favor of the bidbots:

The reward from this single vote will eclipse the equivalent that you'd get through self-voting so as far as maximising your returns (your ROI), it's in your interests to submit 1 post per day, every day.

So if you consider the low-appeal content as a form of "pollution", then the argument can be made that they've reduced pollution by 90%, since there could, otherwise, be 10 times as many low-appeal posts.

In today's post, this is a good point:

If a proposal was voted to the top of the list, surpassing the "Return Proposal", there's a limit to how many SBD can be withdrawn which will allow time for somebody to react.

Also, to control the SPS, they would have to have more SP than Steemit + all other non-proxied voters. It's not just a matter of out-voting Steemit, so getting unilateral control of the SPS is probably still far away.

In addition to the potential improvements above, we also have to give upvu credit for innovating with their @steem-punks. To my knowledge, not even Steemit recognized the blockchain's 6th anniversary last week, but steem-punks did.

Basically, services like UPVU and other bidbots turn Steem into a proof-of-stake rewards system, so maybe we need to turn the question on its head, and ask, "How can we get better than proof of stake at delivering profits to high-appeal content producers?"

In the end, less pollution would be better, and 0 pollution would be best. I'm not gonna turn around and start delegating or proxying to them any time soon, but this has been a good exercise. I'm starting to see that things aren't as clear-cut as they might seem, superficially. At any rate, I'm less alarmed now than I was when I read your first post.

Now, excuse me while I go learn about the Coase theorem ;-).

 2 years ago 

So if you consider the low-appeal content as a form of "pollution", then the argument can be made that they've reduced pollution by 90%, since there could, otherwise, be 10 times as many low-appeal posts.

Yes and no. At a blockchain level, yes... but from what I've seen, most self-voters vote their comments which hides most of it from the front-end. And arguably, makes their self-voting more sociable than using a bidbot 🤔 So many contradictions 😆

I don't understand steempunks 🙂

It's all just too much for my simple mind to cope with. More often than not on Steemit, "Ignorance is bliss".

Now, excuse me while I go learn about the Coase theorem ;-).

Have fun with that... 😴 ...having just opened it, it looks quite interesting.

Well, it's hard to tell. And also hard to react to it. If new people join the platform they definitly have wrong ideas of how it works here.
I started to use it more often in the last couple of weeks. Most of my post were never seen by anybody I think. At first I was really sad seeing some people just painting a sketch that would took me around 1 minute, and post it with 2 sentences and earn 20$. While, in my case, taking the photo edit it, write something about it takes me 30 Minutes and more and I am on 0.00$. I know how it works here, and I know there were different times, maybe that's why I am still around. But as someone who joins the platform without knowing what's going on, I would not stay around.
We need more people that curate others so there are more opportunities to feel that someone interacts with you - I am not sure but interaction in general seems to be on a minimum level. There are a lot of people around that vote their own post with like 100%, if you write something nice in the comments they not even reply. It's hard to find the right people who actually want to use steem like it was intended. It's in my opinion more about the mindset of the most users that makes things complicated here.

Вы сделали большую работу. Спасибо!
Новые условия Upvu выглядят привлекательно. Это интересно и для инвесторов и для блогеров.

You've done a great job. Thanks!
The new Upvu conditions look attractive. This is interesting for both investors and bloggers.

 2 years ago 

Thank you although I don't think that I did anything🙂

 11 months ago (edited)

.

 11 months ago (edited)

It’s quite late here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86