The Weekly Writing Challenge #4: The Street where I live or who is Adam Smith?

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

a1DSC02698.JPG

“Adam Smith and St. Giles” by @Stef1

 

*

 

Hello my dear Steemians and Art Fans,

 

Another week and another challenge, it is nice that @steemitblog keep going with its “100 days of Steem” and we users have a topic for our creativity.


 

The Street where I live or who is Adam Smith?

 

When I think about our street then I recall the people in the past when I was telling them where I live immediately said: “Ah… that is the street where the theatre of “Adam Smith”. It is right there are many historical buildings on our street and even our house belongs to one of the oldest one that was build in 1820. There are three famous buildings on our street and I wanted to tell you more about them

 

Adam Smith if the famous Scot was born in Kirkcaldy, Fife, on the 16th of June 1723 he made a great input in the Worlds Economy. First I heard his name when it was a time of Independence Referendum in Scotland. The people in Scotland very proud of this important figure in world of economy. Those of you who has something to do with economy maybe heard his famous work ‘The Wealth of Nations’ that was written in 1776.

Here I wanted to share my painting of Adam Smith, that I have done with acrylic paints. Because he lived in 16th century there is no photographs of him, I found a pencil drawing and Oil portrait, that is why I have done my portrait using it as a reference.

 

qUzar.jpg

Acrylic portrait “Adam Smith” by @Stef1

 

*

 

The theatre that is called after Adam Smith is situated on our street and was opened in 1899 , it is made of sandstone and the architecture of the building makes me to think about maritime time because of round windows and here is the old drawing of the theatre how it was looking in the past

 

Kirkcaldy-Adam-Smith-Halls_1024x669_800x523.jpg

Sourse - Kirkcaldystampclub

 

Usually theatre, cinema and concerts are all under the same roof. We are lucky to live on the same road and be able to attend it any possible moment. Here is the picture we did this week on one of the sunny days. There isnot much difference

 

DSC03083.jpg

Kirkcaldy-Adam-Smith-Hall

 

Trenner groß.png

 

Police my friend and helper

 

The other astonishing building on my street is from 1900 in the same style that give s flare of early 20th century. The police officers are very lucky having such historical building. From our side we are glad that we have police as our neighbors, they are next door

 

4YYht.jpg

The Kirkcaldy police

 

Another old building on the same street is St. Bryce Kirk Church built as a Free Church 1877-81 by James Matthews of Aberdeen. When we go for walk we have to cross at this traffic light. The picture was done the same day as the other pictures. The people here especially elderly love to spend time meeting together, therefore it is also the place when on weekends the place offers free tea and coffee with some biscuits. Of course nowadays the Church is empty the services are done remotely thank to Internet.

 

1DSC03425_2.jpg

St. Bryce Kirk Church

 

Normally there are some double-decker buses passing by and during the day it is busy but evenings and weekends are luckily quite. During lockdown time we really enjoying the silence and fresh air. That is only the positive side of lock down that it helps to reduce pollution and noise. I am glad to live on this street surrounded with historical buildings, actually the street belongs to conservation area as a historical heritage. Hopefully you enjoyed this tour and my paintings.

Trenner groß.png

 

XTest-1ab.jpg

 

*

 

I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

Wow in your street there are lots of places to enjoy, I imagine that tourists enjoy the historical places on your street and you of the diversity of people who visit them.
You are right the positive of the quarantine is the peace that we now live !!
Cheers!

Hi @anasuleidy and thank you for reading my post, yes, you are right, we have quite busy street normal days and luckily the train station with museum is also so close so it is easy to find all those place to see. What I also like this street is always used to March of Scottish bagpipers, so hope we are back to normal soon.

Wow your street if it is active ... I imagine that every day is exciting and fun.

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Thank you @steemcurator01 it is a pleasure to take part in this challenge :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46