My experience with Watercolour or how everything began

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

image.png

"Leon" by @stef1

 

Hello dear Steemians,

 

Recently while having our Visual Art contest in WOX, we see many different works, but it is noticeable that there are some users who put their efforts and time to gain the results and there are good for beginners.

We all know how much it depends on the feedback that they receive and of course, in our Challenge it is a luxury to get a feedback from Professional Artists. When chatting to @jorgevandeperre he also mentioned that as Profi the person has responsibility to give constructive feedback to be polite but the same time to tell what was weak and how to improve. He also showed his first watercolour paintings and I was pleased to see that his first works were not so perfect like his present work, that means he also started like many of us.

When I recall the time 5 years ago when I decided to try watercolour and of course my first works were horrible. Jorge was keen to see them and I am presenting them today.
 

My early watercolour works

 
This is my first watercolour ship, you know that I love sailing ships but aftert this one I was disappointed and was not sure if I should try it again.
 

image.png
|

 

The format was too small and while usinghte waterolour I used to concentrated waterolour on we surface that is why it had no possiblity to spread but was looking like spots on paper, without possiblity to be smoothly mix wiht other colour. Also it was too much of colour, so that absolutely distracts the attention of view, sky is too overwhelming and the water looks too boring.

 

image.png
|

 

The same here, horrible overwhelming sky, that is first that viewer can see, but then after that you can see how wrong the shape of the building, proportion of objects and finally horrible application of watercolour.

 


image.png
|

 

After all I tried portrait, that again due to colour application I made it look dead, such grey colour like alien. No attention paid to highlights looks too flat. It makes me to stare at because there is something that does irritate me but I can not understand what.

Of course, I was not satisfied with all three. The old time there were some Professional Artists on Steemit. When I posted my post about my battle with watercolour I was please that one of them wrote me a comment.

Here I attach the comment from Professional Watercolour Artist who used to be active on Steemit Dunja Jung from Serbia @jungwatercolor She kindly left her comment under my post:

image.png

image.png

This is the Instagram of Dunja and her works:

 

image.png
|

https://www.instagram.com/jungdunja/
 
If not that comment and encouragement of Dunja I do not think if I would continue my battle with Watercolour. But I am grateful her for this little attention and time that she spent leaving such comment. That motivated me and I started to do more and more works so now I am more comfortable with watercolour, still I am learning but I am enjoying that, so you can see my other works I have chosen the same topics:
 

 

My recent watercolour paintings

 

When I do portrait, I always think about Dunja because I like her style and find that it gives nice effect. Here is one painting that I prepared for Easter and posted couple of years ago:
 

image.png
|
 

”Happy Sunday Easter 2020“ by @stef1

 

Here is one of my early successful painting with seascape and boats, I was really happy to reach the result. Now, when I look at them I noticed that the dark area of boats at the water surface is too dark, because normally hte reflection of boat should be darker then the objects themselves. But also I do not like that colour of bushes again too dark.

 

image.png

 

“Boats at haven” by @Stef1

 

That is why if you also love to do something like drawing or painting, then use the chance of having the opportunity to get the advise of our Professional Artists here on Steem. That will change your life and opens you new world of Art that you definitely will enjoy to discover.

 

*


CURATION TRAIL @worldofxpilar


 

YaFx5Xh8dcRE2tjviA.jpg

 

Trenner groß.png

 

XTest-1ab.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

When I saw the first painting…the first thing that I thought about was “Léon: The Professional.” I know it's a good painting whenever I can instantly recognize what you painted :) Great job @stef1.

The rest of the paintings are awesome too. Years ago my wife and I took a painting class, and we used watercolors, I was horrible at it, but she did a great job :)

Yes, “Léon: The Professional” was my favourite movie and this scene was very interesting.

It would be nice to see some of you or wife's painting, if you like you can perhaps share them.

 2 years ago 

Lovely.
You started with Leon, that movie is a masterpiece!

Yes, I watched Leon very long ago and immediately loved it, a strong emotional movie and great actors!

I love all your workarts, before and after.

Thank you for your nice words :)

 2 years ago 

I loved your post!
I am not going to criticize your work because you are already critical enough of yourself. That is very good.
The watercolour "Boats at haven" is really beautiful. The atmosphere and the red boat that counterpoints the seascape are great.
I don't agree with you, regarding the darkness of the boats, I find them perfect.

Thank you for your assessment Jorge, it is nice to hear your opinion, I really love the painting with boats, that time I was trying to reach the same values like on photos but now I do not do that. That is also another thing I changed since. I was glad to know that the darkness of boats are all right, because until now I was not sure. The problem is it is not possible to discuss with users such details only @myskye and usually he likes all my seascape. He has some comments usually to portraits or architecture but boats usually for him OK.

Like others, loved the movie Léon: The Professional. What a great start to a wonderful actors career. Nice showcase of your early works. I threw away many early pieces because I messed things up. That's how we learn and grow.

Thank you @scratched-burnt for your lovely comment, yes Leon is a classic the same like Jean Reno, I am glad that he is well known worldwide he really deserves that.

As to my works, I also threw away many but kept some, just as reminder. Nowadays it is easy to keep as electronic version does not need any space. But it is always good to return and see what we did and what is now changed in our practice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35