My ArtVenture: Watercolor painting „Stranger"

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

DSC05188a.JPG

„Stranger“ by @stef1

 

*

 

Hello my dear Steemians and Art Fans,

 

After my last watercolour painting I received a comment from @arcoiris who is a professional watercolour artist who advised not to stick to the colours of the original reference and just try to use different colours.

I thought to try that and decided to stay with primary colours because often when we mix the secondary and complementary in wrong way it can mess up and turn beautiful colours into grey or brown.

At this stage I thought to take a black and white photo and simply try to play.

My reflection:

  • Next time I would use more water to let if flow and mis better
  • I found that this time it was too much of colours and some areas had too much of colour
  • Otherwise, I was quite satisfied with my result

 

Trenner groß.png

 

My step-by-step process:

 

DSC05181.JPG

 

Trenner groß.png

 

DSC05182.JPG

 

Trenner groß.png

 

DSC05184.JPG

 

The finished painting:

 

DSC05188.JPG

Watercolor painting „Strager" by @stef1

Rough watercolour textured paper 30x40 cm, paper weight 300 gsm, watercolours colours in pans and tubes, flat and round brushes

 

Trenner groß.png

 

Source

 

pic.PNG

 
*


CURATION TRIAL @worldofxpilar


 

YaFx5Xh8dcRE2tjviA.jpg

 

Trenner groß.png

 

  • Unbenanntg-1.png

 


2023-02-21_093525.jpg


2023-02-18_171328.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

WOW @stef1! The mystique and beauty of this painting is amazing.

Thank you @fijimermaid, that was my aim, the photographer did a great job making such shooting, I believe every person who can draw or paint will be tempted not to try that.

 2 years ago 

Very beautiful work.

Thank you, I am glad you like my version of watercolour painting.

 2 years ago 

Very beautiful portrait!! I like the defiant and somewhat wild gaze of the girl that you have captured very well.

Thank you Jorge , I am really glad you like it. Yes, the gaze of the girl is something that got my interest. Beauty and mystique.

 2 years ago 

That's beautiful

I really like the thought to not to stick to the same colours and make your own innovation.
🥂

Thank you @crafter, glad to see you here. Hope to see your posts around too and to see your classes with teaching of young artists.

 2 years ago 

Thanks again
I will share my students work soon

Великолепно получилось, @stef1!!! Уже можно отправлять отправлять в галерею!))) С наступающей весной!

Спасибо Валентина, пока пробую разные подходы и стили. Мне надо найто что то свое, пока в поиске, когда найду тогда можно и на выставку :)

Удачи в поиске!

Really beautiful! ❤️ Thanks for sharing your wonderful artwork.

 2 years ago 

Wow, this has a different feel, compared to the other one, correct but somewhat "mechanical", here you can see more personality, your hand is noticeable. The face and the background are very well combined, there is a variety of colours without excessive stridency and you have worked well in wet. The brushstroke looks looser and braver.

What I don't like very much is that spot covering the shoulder, which has too much edge with pigment accumulation, as if you had tried to wash it with water after drying to extract colour. However, I do like those bold patches of red in the hair, which give her a striking and attractive air.

In portraits like this one, although the lighting on the model in the photo is fairly flat, I would advise shading an area of the face with blues to make it more interesting.

Perhaps the features of the face are too pronounced compared to the rest of the picture, but that is more a matter of personal taste. Remember that, in watercolour, the viewer finishes in his head what the artist insinuates with his stains and brushstrokes.

Greetings.

Hi Juan, thank you very much for your constructive analysis and YOU GOT ME, that was indeed shoulder area that I thought was too dark initially then wanted to lighten up and added water, tried to lift up some colours but it is really looks not nice, I do not like it.

I thought about the face, I envy the waterolour artists who dare to add bold colours like blue or greens on face. For me because it is not a natural I am a bit hesitant but I really love the contrast and this is something that I definitely will try.

I really enjoy and appreciate your feedback, please feel free to leave your comment and maybe the tips for me to improve my painting.

Wishing you nice weekend,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83