Skardu Chronicles: The Final Entry

in WORLD OF XPILARlast month (edited)


Manthokha Waterfall, Pakistan

تمہارا ہجر منا لوں اگر اجازت ہو
میں دل کسی سے لگا لوں اگر اجازت ہو

If you permit, can I celebrate your separation
If you permit, can I give my heart to someone else now

~Jaun Elia

That's how I felt when I bid goodbye to Skardu after a month-long trip. I left a piece of my heart there, knowing it will always belong to those waterfalls and blue lakes in the paradise of this valley.



This is my final diary entry about my trip to Skardu. I'll cover the Manthokha Waterfall and Blind Lake in my today's blog.

Manthokha Waterfall:

Manthokha is one of the most beautiful waterfalls, situated near Skardu, approximately 120 km away, in the extreme northern region of Pakistan. This waterfall is located in Kharmang Valley, one of the five main valleys in Skardu Baltistan. This place became a separate district in 2015, with its headquarters in Tolti.

The height of this waterfall is nearly 180 feet. It is the highest and most captivating waterfall near Skardu over the Indus River tributary. It is very popular for its picturesque beauty and amazing landscape. Information sourced from

It took us about three hours to reach the waterfall by road and of course on 4WD vehicles. The journey was filled with the most scenic and beautiful lush green valleys along the way, and the river rushing by the roadside added to the beauty of the drive.

We were accompanied by other families, and one person, who had visited Niagara and Victoria Falls overseas, remarked, "The Manthokha waterfall has its own allure and majesty." While I lack overseas experience to compare it, I must say, it felt incredibly refreshing. The cool breeze on our faces instantly washed away all the tiredness of the journey.

One has to cross this cute suspension bridge to come across the water fall

What more can one ask for when they have a waterfall on their left and a river on their right? Okay, a cup of tea... to enjoy this place. And yes, I got not one but two cups of tea during our three-hour stay there. We also had lunch there that we brought with us.


my peeps are having fun at skipping rocks

It was a day well spent in the refreshing waters of Kharmang Valley.

Blind Lake:


Birdseye view of Blind Lake sr

In the previous Skardu related blog, I described our route from Skardu to Shigar Valley. Blind Lake is approximately a 30-minute drive from Skardu city and lies on the way to the Shigar District from Skardu. Hence, this lake is located in Shigar Valley, a notable attraction along with Shigar Fort.

On our way, we crossed the Sarfaranga Desert, but we did not make a stop there, only taking quick photographs which I have shared previously in my blog featuring Shigar Fort.


sr. This road and this route to Blind Lake, which crosses Sarfranga Desert, is so beautiful. I wished it would take us a little longer to reach our destination.

Zharba Tso, or Blind Lake, is a panoramic lake near Shigar Valley in the Shigar District of the Gilgit-Baltistan region in Pakistan. Zharba Lake serves as a water reservoir for the residents of Shigar Valley and is fed by the Indus River. The lake is located along the route to Shigar Valley.

There are many activities for tourists, such as camping, swimming, boating, and fishing. However, we only went boating, and the males did some swimming.

Why is this lake called Blind Lake?

Blind Lake generally doesn't have any water supply or discharge source. The water in the lake doesn't flow and remains stagnant, which is why people named it Blind Lake. sr

Although there is no direct source of water. Perception and probably possible that the great Indus river is the main source of water for this lake. The lake is surrounded by the Indus river on one side and the Shigar river on the other side. Both of the rivers may be a source of water for this lake. District Shigar is the home of many of the eight-Thousander mountains. The most famous among them is the world’s second highest mountain K-2. This district has great destinations for mountaineering, hiking, trekking, camping, and other adventure sports. sr

Again, there are many folklores surrounding the name 'Blind Lake,' which I found really amusing. We were told that this lake is called so because the fish here are blind. Another one was that there is a well somewhere in the lake, and whoever finds it becomes blind. But I don't think there is a shred of truth in these. The only comprehensible explanation that comes to mind is the one related to its water supply and drainage, which has no obvious sources.


The lake’s charm is enhanced by lush green trees, which also help to calm the soul

This Punjabi song has been playing in the background of my mind while I've been writing these Skardu Diaries.

گہریے تے شانت بیٹھی جھیلے
نی دس کیڑا روگ لگیا
کیویں ہو گئے پانی تیرے نیلے
نی دس کیویں جوگ لگیا

O you lake! Why sits deep and serene?
Tell me, what sorrow has befallen you?
How did your waters turn so blue,
Tell me, how did this melancholy take hold?

ہو ویلہ کٹ لے تو کسے بھی وسیلے
آنی چلی چل کسے بھی وسیلے
کہ ایداں نیوں دل چھڈی دا
آپے رب کرو کوئی حیلے
کہ انہوں نئیں دلان چوں کڈی دا

Pass the time by any any means (courage) you can,
But don't let go of your heart like this,
Let God help you with your sorrows
Don't remove His hope from your heart...

This is such a melancholic song by Satinder Sartaaj, about the serenity and stillness of the lake, relating it to the sorrow of a person who has been deeply hurt.



With this beautiful song, I wrap up my Skardu Diaries. Thank you so much for reading and liking them. Your engagement and positive response kept me motivated to complete these blogs. I am so grateful for this motivation. It really felt like an accomplishment.

Below are the links to all my previous blogs related to this beautiful journey:

Skardu Part IV

Skardu part III

Skardu part II

Skardu part I

Note: All photos, unless otherwise credited, are owned by me. I kindly request that you refrain from using my photos, especially those involving family members, without permission.

Sort:  
 last month 

A beautiful ending to a beautiful story. But the story continues in your head and emotions )))
This guy's eyes look suspiciously like yours. Do you know by any chance why ? )))

If there is water nearby, the bare rocks are also covered with greenery. Nature is mighty )

 last month 

I'm astonished by your perceptive eyes; you could discern a similarity just from the eyes! Indeed, he is truly a mama's boy (in all ways). I simply must show this to the other parent, who insists he is his exact replica, lol. 😜

As for the second observation - yes, only you could detect something like that. Thank you for helping me realize it too after 4 years. Nature is truly magnificent. Water means life, but only in if it's in the right proportion...

:))))

 last month 

Those eyes and that look couldn't fool me )))😜

I've always marvelled at the lust for life in nature. We always have someone to learn that from)

Wow, wow...! Preserve these memories! They are the most valuable thing you can give yourself and pass on to your children!

 last month 

Steemit made me write a detailed account of these events; otherwise, I might not have.

Thank you for stopping by :)

Spectacular pictures once again.

180 feet tall waterfall !!! I think I've never seen such huge cascade.

Thanks to your vivid description. I already feel myself sitting by the lakeside and enjoying a cup of tea, while cool breeze blows over my face, refreshing my mind and soul.

P.S. It was one of the best travel series I've ever read.

 last month 

Someone had set the mark to live up to.

Thank you sincerely for reading these diaries. It sort of felt like a huge accomplishment, sorting everything into writing. I will be thankful to myself sometimes in the distant future for this effort now.


We support quality posts and good comments posted anywhere and with any tag.
Curated by : @patjewell

Yes! I got the last episode!

 last month 

Thank you millions for your support and motivation. Much appreciated @patjewell

 last month 

It's a pleasure!🎕
I enjoyed your travel experience.

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64310.07
ETH 3504.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49