Wood-Burned Art: Dragon (Club100)steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

It's almost Halloween! My favorite holiday! What do I think about when I think of Halloween? Dragons....duh!

I am a little sad not to be in my old neighborhood where there were plenty of trick-or-treaters. Ah well, I will just do what I always do. No, not try to take over the world...make art!

This is one of the most complex, time consuming piece I have ever created. I made it a couple years ago and sold it last Christmas after posting it on Reddit. Perhaps I should start utilizing that platform a bit more often. I think that may have been my last post over there.

This is a pyrography piece, the image burned onto a plank of wood. The background, as you see in the above picture, is blackened using a blowtorch. Fire makes me feel like a dragon...rawr!

I loved the charred edges of this piece...so unique. A little color for the eyes and then some sealer and this art is ready to go!

That's it for now. I am going to get a little more work done then relax and watch some horror movies. I have a very cool commission piece I did that fits well with the Halloween that I am super excited to show off. Keep an eye out. I will be posting that tomorrow!

You can also check out my last art post: Jackalope, Sun and Moon

If you like my creations, consider checking out my other social media sites and my Etsy site by clicking the links below. Thanks and have a great day!


Social_IG.png Social_TT.png Social_FB.png Social_T.png Social_P.png Social_YT.png

Visit Etsy Shop.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

This result is impressive.
Have you ever protected the drawing itself during firing with a gas burner?

If I had any clue how to block the drawing portion with something that wouldn't melt or heat up too much (like metals) I would try it. Can't have the flame get underneath whatever the covering is.

 2 years ago 

you can try to cut a protective stencil from a sheet of tin... with a small margin on the borders of the image

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

this art is very impressive! art on halloween✨️

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71152.89
ETH 3805.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49