WOX Travel Contest | Week 19 | A Trip to Koneshwaram - Trincomalee

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year (edited)

ak2.jpg
Edited By Snapseed App

Hello my dear friends. I hope all my friends are fine. So today I am going to take you with me to tell you some details about a place where I started with passion. Before all that, I express my heartfelt gratitude to @o1eh for giving us the opportunity to share this kind of experience. Ok then let's move to the story.

ak1.jpg

In the year 2021, I was able to visit the Trincomalee. Trincomalee is a district located in the eastern province of Sri Lanka. Mainly Muslims and Tamils live in this area and Sinhalese are also a minority. Trincomalee is an area of historical and archaeological value. Tourists also visit this area because it has a beautiful beach. So guys, I joined this trip with my friend very willingly. There we stayed at a tourists house in Trincomalee. On the first day we chose to go to Koneshwaram temple which has historical value. This is located inside the Fort Frederick which has built during the dutch ruling period. I was very curious to visit this place, so we finished the breakfast and left the place where we stayed at 8 a.m. Since the place was about 2 kilometer away from where we were staying, we started the journey on foot. After walking for about twenty minutes, we entered inside the fort.

ak10.jpg

The middle road between the old buildings of the fort is a very peaceful road with shade. While traveling on that road and approaching the temple, there are rows of stalls, selling offerings and other various items like foods, cloths, toys, statues on both sides of the road.

ak3.jpg

This temple is situated on a big rock next to the sea. As soon as you enter this temple which dedicated to Lord Shiva, you will see a huge statue of Shiva, built on the rock.

ak9.jpg

Mainly Hindu devotees perform pooja and worships at this place, but people of other religions also visit this place. Although a temple dedicated to Lord Shiva, statues of other deities such as Lord Gana, Lord Parvathi are also found here.

ak7.jpg

ak6.jpg

The history of this place goes back to 400BC as mentioned in the plaques at that place. The earliest written evidence of this temple is found in the famous books "Ramayanaya" and "Mahabaratha". There are various legends associated with this temple. I will tell you one story as learned at that place. According to the famous book "Ramayanaya", king Ravana, who was the ruler of Sri Lanka at that time, visited this place and offered sacrifices along with his mother. With the time, King Ravana's mother fell ill and could not come to this place. The powerful king Ravana tried to take this rock with temple away from this place with his sword, to worship her. But seeing this, Lord Shiva threw down his sword and stopped this. There a part of the rock has cut and the sword fell in to the sea. Even today, there is a place in the temple that is believed to be the place where the sword fell. That place is called as Ravana cut.

ak8.jpg

Although this place reached the point of destruction due to various reasons over time, the dutch and British who invaded Sri Lanka have done restoration work. However, this place is very beautiful and anyone who goes to this place can see the sea very clearly.

ak5.jpg

"Thirukoneshwaram Ther Thiruvilah" can be called as the main festival of thus temple. This is done annually and is held for 22 days. We left the place before twelve as this place on top of a rock gets the best sun light when the sun is at it's peak. So guys, I hope you enjoyed reading about my trip and gained some additional knowledge. I hope to tell you about another travel story and I say goodbye for now. Finally I invite @saku49539 @senehasa @sudaraka96 for this contest.

Camera usedHandphone(Samsung Galaxy Grandprime)
LocationTrincomalee-Sri lanka

Thank You

Sort:  

Thank you for such an informative post. Being religious at one part of my life i used to think very much about all this. We are so busy in ourselves, we do not get enough time and authentic resources so we can have a look of it.
Great ❤

Thank you my sister for admiring my post. I am very interesting in traveling. And also I am willing to share those experiences with others. This type of contests are very valueable for those who are like me. Again thank you very much.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 last year 

Thank you, I really enjoyed your post. You brought us all a little closer to your culture. It was interesting to see the temple and read the legendary story.

Thank you very much for appreciating my post. I participate in this contest very willingly.

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

!upvote 40


This post was manually selected to be voted on by "Seven Network Project". (Manual Curation of Steem Seven. Your post was promoted on Twitter by the account josluds

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 120%

Thank you very much all who upvoted and appreciated my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30