I Won Stuff, Got Published in an Academic Paper, and am Making a Logo for Canadian Scientists

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

20220702_rmthroop_K_portrait_Throop_AAOMemberShow_04074.jpg

Eyebrows darkened and droopy jowl cleanly Photoshop-tightened for photo in front of winning painting: Morning Deep Love Meditation 2022. Acrylic on canvas, 36 x 24"

Two prizes at the Member’s Exhibition: Honorable mention for “The Last Birds and Mammals of Barcelona”, and The Kirk Beason Memorial Award for “Morning Deep Love Meditation”. I am also published for the first time in an academic journal. No Longer Stuck(ist) in Two Dimensions is at a safe Google Drive link for anyone interested in seeing if I’m telling the truth:) It’s a paper on how “...Augmented Reality (AR) technology can affect viewer engagement compared to the viewing of traditional static artwork”.

20220702_rmthroop_K_portrait_Throop_AAOMemberShow_04078.jpg

20220702_rmthroop_H_Throop_AAOMemberShow_04022.jpg

On Friday I’ll be off to the 87th Annual National Juried Art Exhibition in Cooperstown, NY. Two of my paintings have been selected to show. A long gas-guzzling drive, but worth it for a pristine lake to picnic at pretending the wealth of Croesus.

The two entries for Cooperstown:

ohdear.jpg

Oh My Dear, MY Dear Sweet Love 2022. Acrylic on canvas, 16 x 20"

bouffant.jpg

Heavenly Bouffant 2022. Acrylic on paper, 12 x 16"

If I win a prize here, I am confident the great galleries will fall at my feet and beg to represent me:)

Finally, this week I am working on a request from a research lab at a Canadian University to paint a logo design. I will make five from which the team of scientists will choose their favorite. I hear that painting proteases is the new black.

Thanks for the time!

Ron

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

wow! congratulations! What great news! You deserve all of it! Saludos!

A busy summer for sure! I’m catching up to sitting in a box for 2 years:) Thank you Romanie. Cheers to you and family!

Congrats dear friend :) I'm very glad to hear that your success

Thank you very much:)

Awesome well done. As someone who got somwhere in fashion photography and is now getting into painting I would love to see a post talking about your journey and how you went from painting to exhibiting/ being exhibited etc.

Thank you!
That should be easy. Most of my work in all creative endeavor is autobiographical. For better or worse:)

That every<thing sounds great, finally after "cold winter" during COVID now we are back to Exhibitions, meeting up and enjoying gatherings. I wish you all the best and good luck with the Exhibition :)

You post is nominated for „Wold of xpilar“ Community Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from community page are eligible. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

Yes, it’s been a strange adjustment. I was so used to a society of two (Rose and me), that I forgot all that I missed. This summer is a golden one.
Thank you so much Stef!

Deserved Friend Award, new ideas for the future will surely arise along the way, let the rains of offers rain down!

Greetings and success!

In this case, maybe more like the “reins” of offers:)
I don’t think I am capable of good graphic design. I’m just a painter. We’ll say.
Thank you!

 2 years ago 

Congratulations! I rejoice in your success. I would also like to see your five ideas for a new logo.

Thank you!
I just wrote to another that I have no business making logos. I am not a competent graphic designer. The lab’s founder is an art lover born into a family of artists. He told me to just paint something with proteases in mind. Easier said by a biological chemist than done by an ignorant painter:)

 2 years ago 

That's the task!

Proteases occur in all organisms, from prokaryotes to eukaryotes to virus.

Draw a human (or other organism) made entirely of proteases. In your perfect style, of course :)

Oh this is good. Thank you!

Congrats! And: you will show your five ideas for the Canadians here...?

Thank you. No, I am sending the lot to Calgary. I am no designer. I think my paintings are too noisy for a logo. I told the Lab liaison that they don’t have to pick one if none work. In situations like these, I just close my eyes and hope the bee doesn’t sting me:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87