A Wonderful, Nearly Magical Opening Night After Too Long a Pandemic

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

07.kiss.jpg

One of my paintings that sold at the opening: A Kiss 2020. Acrylic on canvas, 16 x 20"

Below is the morning briefing to exhibiting artists at my pop-up gallery, “Fuel”. It can be applied to viewers of art as well. Please contact me and come by to see the work. When I was a more closed person and shy to the world, my friend Dan asked me if I paint for chickens or people. It was a good American koan that got me thinking. “What does a painting look like that nobody sees?”
We make art to show to each other. Without your eyes, it doesn’t even exist.
Except maybe for chickens.

“Dear every one,

Thank you for the turn out on Saturday night. I had a great, busy time, though I’m sorry we didn’t get to chat as much as I would have liked. I hope you met up with some old friends and made some new ones.
I estimate that 75 people attended the opening. We sold 9 pieces. Not bad. However, let’s not forget that there are 25 days left to exhibit.
I urge each of you to tell interested people and parties to set up a time with me to come see the work. I promise to be a gracious host, maybe even bake bread to make the house smell nice. I regret that this Wednesday, and then Saturday, I will be hiding out in the Adirondacks. However, I am available any day before, between and after that until October 8 - 12, when either my mother, Keitha, or Mike Flanagan will be here to take your party through the “gallery”.
I am flattered and humbled to have your work in our home, which is YOUR exhibiting gallery until October 15. Please do not hesitate to stop by and admire what you’ve accomplished.
Just give me a head’s up message or call.

Your dutiful Pop-up gallerist,

Ron”

I cannot for the life of me figure out how to download Saturday night’s wobbly, adrenaline-induced live Instagram video. Usually, in the old days, I downloaded from Facebook Live and edited video to make it watchable. You can get a glimpse of the feel though, with just a five minute viewing. You’re missing out on the food, full ambiance, and the outdoor space, which grew and grew after our artist talk beneath the moon. Here is the Instagram link. Available for a limited time:)

¡Viva la Stuckism!

Ron

Sort:  

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Thank you!

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

¡Gracias!

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31