TEARING DOWN THE PAST... ADIÓS CARPINTERIA LLUGAT!. THE MURAL/EL MURAL.Episode 1. (2000-2003).(ESP/ENG)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

muralfusteria2003.SEND.jpg

Dear Steemians,
this past year has been another year of changes and one that made a bit of history in our family here in Ibiza was the end of the Old Carpentry Building.
My husbands grandfather built a very big carpentry back in 1964 and it became the family´s business. His father and uncles and then his cousins and himself all worked in this business.
I came to this family back in the year 2000 when both grandparents were no longer around and one of the uncles was in charge.
About five years ago the last carpenter uncle retired and no other person in the family wanted to take the business. The building was found to have a few structural problems and it was recommended to be taken down. The cost being very high for all of this brought the family to decide on selling the property.
We did try to find someone who would want to keep the space, fit it and make it into an cultural center but we failed to find that kind of investment. Housing on this island is very precious and the family finally sold it to a constructor who would build and apartment block there.
These are some images of the main building when it was still active as a carpentry:
Queridos Steemians,
este año pasado ha sido otro año de cambios y uno que hizo un poco de historia en nuestra familia aquí en Ibiza fue el fin de la Antigua Carpintería.
El abuelo de mi marido construyó una carpintería muy grande en 1964 y se convirtió en el negocio de la familia. Su padre y sus tíos y luego sus primos y él mismo trabajaron en este negocio.
Yo llegué a esta familia en el año 2000, cuando ambos abuelos ya no estaban y uno de los tíos estaba a cargo.
Hace unos cinco años el último tío carpintero se jubiló y ninguna otra persona de la familia quiso hacerse cargo del negocio. Se descubrió que el edificio tenía algunos problemas estructurales y se recomendó su derribo. El coste de todo ello fue muy elevado, lo que llevó a la familia a decidir la venta de la propiedad.
Intentamos encontrar a alguien que quisiera quedarse con el espacio, acondicionarlo y convertirlo en un centro cultural, pero no logramos encontrar ese tipo de inversión. La vivienda en esta isla es muy preciada y la familia finalmente la vendió a un constructor que construiría allí un bloque de apartamentos.
Estas son algunas imágenes del edificio principal cuando todavía estaba activo como carpintería:

22861535_1790341494322998_1052730658668375256_o.jpg

22904653_1790341457656335_2355085834783086456_o.jpg

22904717_1790342207656260_2386664021594648119_o.jpg

22904857_1790341477656333_1740224917585296768_o.jpg

22904956_1790342290989585_995794412040479777_o.jpg

23116656_1790342357656245_1633241961913278859_o.jpg

23120288_1790342160989598_1048018855376680740_o.jpg

23130606_1790342070989607_614134369821351316_n.jpg

We used it to make lots of things like frames for my paintings.
https://steemit.com/art/@romanie/making-frames

All of this affects both Jason and myself more because we live just across the street and we used this carpentry quite a bit to make things and I used to have my art studio in there , in what used to be the blacksmiths area.
When Jason and I moved to our current house back in the year 2000, he and his best friend made a small carpentry in this room and I had a small space up the ladder glassed in, where I used to paint.

Lo utilizamos para hacer muchas cosas, como marcos para mis cuadros.
https://steemit.com/art/@romanie/making-frames

Todo esto nos afecta más a Jason y a mí porque vivimos justo al otro lado de la calle y usábamos bastante esta carpintería para hacer cosas y yo tenía mi estudio de arte allí, en lo que era la zona de los herreros.
Cuando Jason y yo nos mudamos a nuestra casa actual en el año 2000, él y su mejor amigo hicieron una pequeña carpintería en esta habitación y yo tenía un pequeño espacio acristalado en la escalera, donde solía pintar.

taller carpinteria2003SEND.jpg

studio2003SEND.A.jpg

studioSEND2003.1.jpg

studioSEND2003.2.jpg

One of the nice episodes I loved and enjoyed was when, back in 2002 I decided to paint the front of the carpentry. The idea came to me because from where I was living I didn´t like looking at the old run down industrial building, so once I asked the family for permission I asked my friends that if they had any left over half used pots of paint I´d use them to make this mural. Then the paint shops I knew also donated some. So, I was struck with a variety of colours I hadn´t chosen and I had to make do with what I had donated. I like those kind of challenges, it makes it more fun.
This is an image of the building before it was decorated.

Uno de los bonitos episodios que me encantó y disfruté fue cuando, allá por el año 2002 decidí pintar la fachada de la carpintería. La idea se me ocurrió porque desde donde vivía no me gustaba mirar el viejo y destartalado edificio industrial, así que una vez que pedí permiso a la familia le pedí a mis amigos que si les sobraban botes de pintura a medio usar los utilizara para hacer este mural. Luego las tiendas de pintura que conocía también donaron algunos. Así que me encontré con una variedad de colores que no había elegido y tuve que conformarme con lo que había donado. Me gustan este tipo de retos, lo hacen más divertido.
Esta es una imagen del edificio antes de ser decorado.

pared mural enero05 copia.jpg

So, for the first few days I had some friends and family helping me paint the lower part. We had snacks, wine and drumming to keep us happy and working. Here are some pics I found from one of those days.

Así que, durante los primeros días, algunos amigos y familiares me ayudaron a pintar la parte inferior. Tuvimos aperitivos, vino y tambores para mantenernos contentos y trabajando. Aquí hay algunas fotos que encontré de uno de esos días.

muralsend2002.1.jpg
Friends posing!
muralsend2002.2.jpg
In line... me in the green military flying suit. My sister in law next to me and firefighting friend in blue.
aquí en fila soy la cuarta que lleva un traje militar de aviador que usaba para pintar. La siguiente es mi cuñada y el de azul un compañero de los bomberos forestales. Un puñado de amigos!
muralsend2002.3.jpg

muralsend2002.4.jpg

mural grupo feb.jpg

muralsend2002.5.jpg

Some music to animate the work.
un poco de música para animar el trabajo
muralsend2002.6.jpg
some of the pots of old paint.
algunos botes de pintura vieja
muralsend2002.7.jpg

muralsend2002.8.jpg

muralsend2002.9.jpg

muralsend200210.jpg

muralsend200212.jpg

Then here are some more, really bad quality pics of how it evolved, when I painted it alone.

aquí unas imágenes que encontré de muy baja calidad pero que retratan el trabajo que seguí haciendo yo por mi cuenta para terminarlo

mural febrero05 copia.jpg

mural abril05 copia.jpg

mural abril2 copia.jpg

And here a picture of how it looked by the end of that winter. Inside this wall was my studio and it made this street look much happier.
Y aquí una foto del mural como quedó acabado al final del invierno

muralfusteria2003.SEND.jpg

These posts are a way of me keeping a place to keep this history and be able to process it.
estos post que haré sobre este proceso es para tener un recuero cronológico de la vida de este edificio desde que lo conozco

So... the story will be told in three posts to not make it sooooooo long. This past week this building was torn down by a bulldozer, I took great footage of that. That will be the third and last episode.
Next episode in a few hours!

Así que.... la historia continuará en el próximo post dentro de unas horas. Lo voy a intentar hacer en tres episodios para que no sea tan largo y tedioso. Hasta dentro de unas horas!!

Best Wishes,
Romanie

http://romanie.net/
http://sunlightart.blogspot.com/

Sort:  

Que todo sea por un bien comun. Un abrazo!

 2 years ago 

Gracias!

Me encantó el trabajo sobre el muro, lo cual demuestra que el arte une a la gente. Ese edificio tiene una historia genial pero llegó el momento de decirle adiós para dar comienzo a una nueva historia. Saludos y abrazo.

 2 years ago 

Saludos y gracias por parar por aquí!

 2 years ago 

I remember your first post about this building. At the time, you wrote that you were selling the building and taking things from there. There were a lot of photos. It reminded me of how we sold the house, the yard and the garden that I inherited from my grandmother. Life is a strange thing, sometimes you can't keep what is dear to you.

 2 years ago 

Yes, I remember you mentioning about your house. I´m making these posts to put these images out there and out of me. Move forward. I have a lovely studio I enjoy and I just needed to thread these images into the past. What a better time to do this than just before I move into the new year! hahha!

The mural is indeed beautiful, photographs and painting are one of the best ways to preserve memories 😊😊

 2 years ago 

yes you are right! Thank you!

Congratulations on being a runner-up in the Steemit Awards 2021...

 2 years ago 

Wow, this is very generous of you! Thank you so much! Happy New Year!

Like Kasparov likes to say a lot: The good old days...
There are three firefighters in the pictures, you forgot to mention Espe, in dark red jumper kneeling down. The flame look of the shapes might be due to that!
Looking at the pictures I recognize the only elements that still stand today, undefeated. A turbine that hangs on a wall and was used to aspire saw dust and a last glass wall. Finito, nothing else left from 57 years of very hard work! The last worker to leave the boat, retired when my uncle closed down, wanted to come and see how the building was demolished, but finally couldn't bring himself to do so. He spent 50 years of his life there, 14 hours a day some times; at the beginning even Sundays (the good old days?). My oldest uncle, the boss, couldn't really come either. For them it must be too much of a shock to see that, the destruction of the greatest part of their past. I'm sure if my grandfather raised from his grave and saw this, he would fall strait back into it!

 2 years ago 

You are right! But she wasn´t a firefighter then, Espe had already moved on to the Natural Park Job, that´s why I didn´t think of her in that way!
Lots of memories! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91