Orange Graphite Drawing & Tips - Ran Art BlogsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

My latest drawing. An orange graphite drawing.

Pay attention to the sharp edges of the foreground orange, and the soft edges of the background orange.
In addition, the leaf to the right of the main orange has lost edges in some places.

orange-graphite-drawing-with-prismacolor-turquoise.jpg

This was done with Prismacolor Turquois pencils.
They are professional pencils, though they are darker and harder than other brands.
Therefore, not recommended for beginners.

prismacolor-turquoise-pencils.jpg

Two recommended brands for ALL levels, are the Staedtler Mars Lumograph.

staedtler-mars.jpg

They are the main pencils I use.

drawing-with-staedtler-pencils.jpg

And, Faber-Castell 9000.

castell-9000.jpg

They are great for any task.

drawing-using-castell-9000.jpg

Some "honorable mentions", as @axeman says, are the Tombow MONO drawing pencils.

tombow-mono-drawing-pencils.jpg

They have nice balance between softness and precision, and they come unsharpened. Good for beginners.
They are dark too, and require a gentle touch.

drawing-with-tombow-pencils.jpg

The Mitsu-Bishi Hi-Uni are soft and great for beginners.

hi-uni-pencils.jpg

They come unsharpened, and due to their softness, they require constant sharpening.
I use them when I teach. My students love them.

drawing-with-mitsubishi-pencils.jpg

Goldfaber by Faber-Castell are nice and affordable for beginners.

goldfaber-pencils.jpg

I prefer them for sketching, and less for realistic drawing.

drawing-with-goldfaber-pencils.jpg

Dark (soft) grades may break while sharpening.

farmtruck-drawing.jpg

Caran d'Ache Grafwood are very soft and fun, but therefore not recommended for realism.

grafwood.jpg

Their body is a bit wider than usual, and might not fit into every sharpener.
In addition, their body has different color value to represent the brightness value of the pencil.
Due to their softness, they are great for quick sketching.

drawing-with-grafwood-pencils.jpg

Koh-I-Noor 1900 are very friendly and soft, and will appeal to beginners.

koh-i-noor-1900-pencils.jpg

They are a bit lighter than other brands.

woman-graphite-portrait.jpg

Though not pencils for realism, the Faber-Castell Grip 2001 are super fun to sketch and write with.
There are only 5 grades for the Grip 2001.

faber-castell-grip-2001-pencil.jpg

I use them all the time for demos to my students, and they use them too.

soap-bottle-sketch.jpg

In addition, the Staedtler tradition, Derwent Graphic, and Lyra Rembrandt Art Design are nice to.

For more info about drawing pencils, and other drawing supply and equipment, visit my guide fordrawing materials.

Ran

Website: https://ranartblog.com/
Tutorials: https://ranartblog.com/blog.html
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ran_art_blog/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/ranartblog/

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I really like the staedtler pencils. Do you really use pencils like 9H ?
I don't use to play with the H ones, the maximum for me is 2H, after that it seems really too dry, I don't find it pleasant. But then, a 9H.. 🤣

 2 years ago 

H is an amazing pencil. Usually the lightest I go is 2H.
For brands that are super dark, like Prismacolor, I do use 5H, and it is still dark.
Mostly I do not go over 4B (depending on the brands).
Yes, the after 2H, they are too hard. Too much clay in addition to the graphite.
The harder the pencil is, the less graphite particles it lays on the surface, and therefore looks lighter.
Graphite is super soft, so B levels means more graphite, and it covers the surface fast, and looks darker.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! Your Comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support good comments anywhere..
Curated by : @stef1

Es impresionante lo que puede hacer con cada uno de los distintos lápices, gracias por la información disfruté cada dibujo

Saludos

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much. I am glad you liked it.

 2 years ago 

Very interesting and useful information! I used to think that good pencils were Koh-I-Noor, and I hadn't even considered that the world of plain pencils is much more diverse.

 2 years ago 

Koh-I-Noor are good. There are several types of Koh-I-Noor. I have not tried all of them.
Yes, each pencil brand is different. So it is a matter of personal preference.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @stef1

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much.

Wow, I love the texture in this… fantastic work!

 2 years ago 

Thank you :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34