A bit about Pen Drawing (technical pens) - Ran Art BlogsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

technical-pens-review.jpg

Technical pens (also fine liners) are intended to draw lines of uniform thickness.

For detail drawing, I like size 0.1.
For bold outlines (like drawing coloring pages or comics), I like size 0.5.

Note:
With time, pen nibs will wear down and become useless.

worn-down-pens.jpg

Unlike pencils, pens are not erasable.
You can use a light pen (light gray) for the initial sketch, and when you are happy with the result, you can go over it with a black pen.

drill-pen-sketch.jpg

Some of my recommended pen brands:

Zig Mangaka:

zig-mangaka-technical-pen.jpg

Staedtler Pigment Liner:

staedtler-pigment-liner.jpg

Faber-Castell Ecco Pigment:

ecco-pigment.jpg

There are many more brands that I use and recommend.
For the full list, visit my guide for drawing pens

In addition to black pens, some brands offer colored pens:

drawing-of-a-wood-log-with-rope.jpg

There are many styles of art you can do with pens.
Here are some examples (all drawing examples in this article were made by me):

country-house-pen-drawing.jpg

cowgirl-pen-drawing.jpg

crocodile-pen-drawing.jpg

sailboat-pen-drawing.jpg

Especially, I like drawing trees with pens:

weeping-willow-pen-drawing.jpg

For drawing trees with pens, you are welcome to visit my guide for drawing trees, like the examples below:

pen-tree-drawings.jpg

Pens are great when combined with markers.

landscape-pen-drawing.jpg

For this example, I used Copic markers:

landscape-marker-drawing.jpg

I tested many of the top pen brands for lightfastness (I put them in front of direct sunlight for a week), and none of them faded.
In addition, I tested them for water resistance, and most passed with flying colors.

I hope you enjoyed.
As usual, if you have any question, feel free to ask.

Ran

Website: https://ranartblog.com/
Tutorials: https://ranartblog.com/blog.html
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ran_art_blog/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/ranartblog/

Sort:  

Amazing drawings but also very useful information about pens. I saw so many times the drawings with pens and how fine detailed they were but was not able to find what type of pens were used.

The drawing with trees at water that you also made colourful using markers, can you please next time talk about markers and how to achieve such colourful smooth effect, like painting. Thanks,

 2 years ago 

Done!
Next time, a guide about markers.
I love markers, because it is not complicated like oil painting (which I love too).
On the other hand, markers, like pens, are not as forgiving, as pencils or oil painting.

Can you mix couple of marker colours like overpainting yellow with red and create orange or any other colour like with paints when you can mix your own colours?

 2 years ago 

OMG!
You can...
If... you use a non-absorbent paper, you can mix them.
But, with markers, I prefer to use the right color (I have more than 300 Copic markers and many others).
With colored pencils, on the other hand, I still think I am using oil paints, so I cannot bring myself to use greens, I have to mix them (blue and yellow).
Example:

leaves-drawing-with-colored-pencils.jpg

You have to first look at the correct brightness value.
Then, the right saturation.
The, the hue.
Lastly, the temperature.

In many cases, you will have to mix markers.
For example, sky is lighter at the bottom, so you have to use lighter markers and mix them with darker markers at the top.

Love that green effect that you achieved with pencils, they are so bright, looks so greeny :) What about the paper what you should use for markers?

I have never tried markers and do not know if I even try, because as you say it is difficult to correct and erase the errors. But I love the result!

 2 years ago 

It looks like it's a very good tool... for those who can draw :)
I can't...)

 2 years ago 

Well, I cannot dance or sing :)

 2 years ago 

me too... :)

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88