My Vision of the World as a Child.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

photo_2023-01-17_19-14-31 (2).jpg

Hi everyone! 😊

Today I wanted to make a post which strays a little from the subject of art, but not to much! Because as you can see I already had an artist's soul 😁

I wanted to speak about geography.
In fact, since not so long, I set myself the project of redoing my geographical culture.
I noticed that I had big gaps in this subject.
In some situations, people around me spoke about a country, and everyone know where is it except me, and it was a complex for me.
But for long time I just keep in that complex without taking the time to fill this gap.

School left me quite a few holes, actually, because for long periods of time in school, I was just "not at it".
I could be very average or very good, depending on how interested I was in the subject, or simply if it was the right time for me to learn. Because I was a very, very dreamy person.

And so, geography is one of those things I am relearning today. But not only that. Maybe I'll do a publication describing my newfound love for languages (which was not at all a foregone conclusion)

Bannière3.png

So, how I proceed for learning geography ?
With a phone application.

And when I discovered it, I was asking "how I didn't think of it before !"
It's useful, didactic and yet playful, instead of all the time-consuming and useless applications that can be found.
And I was thinking about why we don't advise this to students, who are so attached to modern solutions and their phones.

The fact of having a little sound of "you got the right answer", it's very simple, but for the brain, it's a reward for learning. it's the most effective. Then we can see our score. It's encouraging.
And also it's more effective than looking at a sheet of paper with all the answers already on it, trying to hide them with your finger and reciting them (although I do love learning with books, tangible things).

Bannière3.png

As I was learning countries and capitals, I remembered this drawing that I made when I was a child, at 8 or 9 years old. I did that without reference, so it was my vision of the world in my head. And it's pretty funny to see.

photo_2023-01-17_19-14-31.jpg

It's funny that the American continent is giaaant, we could think that I was an american girl but not at all 😂
I was just a little belgian one.
And, by the way, you can see a cute little red point to show where I lived.
... but for my opinion, it looks more like where I used to live, but in prehistoric times 😂

photo_2023-01-18_15-08-53.jpg

It's also interesting to see the particular attention I put into representing the fact that the sea near the coast is shallower. but in my opinion the scale is not right, again 🤣

photo_2023-01-17_19-14-31 (2)3.jpg

I don't know why I separated the asia in two, but in any case it looks like there has been a nuclear attack on the continent 😂

Bannière3.png

After seeing back this drawing, an little idea come to me : "oh, and what if I do the same, as an adult ?"

And so, the project is launched! I will draw the world without reference, as I see in my mind, with all the knowledge I have accumulated in recent times.
I will show you the result! 😁

And you, are you good in geography ? Have you ever tried to draw the world by imagination ?

Don't hesitate to leave me a comment of what do you think 😄

Sort:  
 last year 

I would not try to draw the world from imagination, it will look completely different :o)

 last year 

Ahaha that's what's so funny :D

 last year 

When I studied geography at school, no one had heard about any smartphones and modern gadgets. They haven't been invented yet))

Contour maps are a very effective way to study (I don't know if there are such in your country). The album sheets have outlines of continents, islands, and everything else, but there is not a single name.
First you study the topic in class in class, and as a homework assignment you have to turn a contour map into a real one... with geographical names, with different colors of different countries, and so on.
It helps your memory a lot.
It will be interesting to look at your "modern" map :)

 last year (edited)

I see what you're talking about, I think I already had a kind of things like that, but most often I had sheets with pre-written names which is less effective than the process you mentioned :)

 last year 

Real contour maps contain only lines and diagrams without any names. This is their meaning.

Tbh my world geography still sucks as an adult lol. Someone posted a quiz the other week that asked to name all the American states I probably got 1/5 th of them and I can’t rven do all the counties in my own country.

 last year 

😆
I find the American states difficult to remember too, especially those in the east, there are so many!

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56263.97
ETH 2964.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18