Drawing the World from Memory - Europe.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

0.jpg

Hi everyone! 😊

Following my previous post about my vision of the world as a child, https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@pipoune/my-vision-of-the-world-as-a-child
I begin this serie of drawing the world from memory.

The main purpose is to confront the vision in my head and the real world, proportions, outlines,... but also to practice my study of geography, naming countries and capitals.

first of all, I do Europe, as it is my continent, the one I know best. I am proud to say that I know all the countries and capitals!
I've done the map in french, with capitals circled in green.

Here is the real map of Europe :

image.png

Source : https://www.actualitix.com

And comparative with my map by memory :

0.jpg

Bannière3.png

Feedback

I am happy that the result is quite similar to the real map.
The west part was easier to do, as I've seen this part of the world so often in my life because it's where I live.
The only mistake is the form of England, I couldn't remember its shape at this moment 🤣

It was the most perturbing thing, when doing this exercise. Some things looks so precises and known on our head, and when we had to put them on the paper, it looks impalpable and blurry.

4.jpg

Some parts was pretty difficult to do, like the South East, which contains a lot of little countries. Delimit the countries forms was complicated as each country outline depend on the other, and sometimes I traced the contouring and then think to myself "oh, but this country is not sensed to be next to this one!"
But after some trial and error, I had a satisfying result.

1.jpg

A big mistake is also about the black sea and the Turkey. I never really observed its shape, I forgot that it had to touch the Greece.
And my black sea is far too small! It is supposed to reach Georgia.

2.jpg

An another big mistake is about the Russia, I didn't expect that it goes so far on the north but after thinking it's obvious lol

3.jpg

Bannière3.png

It was very funny to make.
And it's really disturbing at first!! You should try it :D
The next continent I will do is Africa. It's going to be much harder!!

See you soon for others creations!

Sort:  
 last year 

Oh, it's a fun experiment))
A good way to learn geography lessons)

 last year 

Yes, absolutely! 😊

 last year 

Great work @pipoune I am pleased that you even featured the Isle of Man 🇮🇲 which is a favourite place of mine for spring summer adventures 🏞

 last year 

With pleasure! 🤗

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00