WOX - CITYSCAPE #181 - Melbourne, Australia

in WORLD OF XPILAR10 months ago

Melbourne, Australia

If you want to know which city is the most livable in Australia, locals and tourists will tell you that it is Melbourne, Australia. I am one of them who will vow for it.

It is a city that reminds me so much of a city in my own country, Cape Town, where nature can dress it in all four seasons in one day: summer, autumn, winter, and spring.

When I visited Melbourne, I had five things on my “must do” list.

1. Standing and shouting my name in the middle of the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

I am a cricket lover, and since I was a little girl, I’ve been dreaming of putting my two feet on the international cricket grounds of the world. A visit to the MCG was the an unbelievable experience.

2. A visit to St. Paul’s Cathedral

A landmark in Melbourne is St. Paul’s Cathedral. When facing the building, you are filled with peace, yet when you turn around, you are drawn into the rush of Flinders Street Station.

3. A visit to the Old Melbourne Gaol

Coming from South Africa with the famous “apartheid” background, a visit to Melbourne’s most famous goal or prison was a must. Five of the first nine executions in Victoria were of Aboriginal men as a result of a clash of cultures.

4. A walk along the piers of St. Kilda Beach

A visit to Melbourne’s most famous beach, with its view of Port Phillip and outline of Melbourne, was not to be missed.

5. A cruise to Williamstown on the Yarra River with a city view of Melbourne

A must for me when I visit cities around the world is to take a river cruise to view the city. Well, that is, if they are located near a river.

The two-hour cruise on the Yarra River, which is the heart of Melbourne, was incredible. It was sightseeing at its best.

This is also where I want to stand still for this contest.

A a city view of Melbourne from the Yarra River, just after Princess Bridge, which was built where the oldest crossing of the river was.

View of Melbourne from Princess Bridge.jpg

Melbourne from the Southbank of the Yarra.

Yarra River & Southbank.jpg

Looking back from the boat as soft rain was starting to fall.

Yarra River.jpg

  • All photos are my own
Sort:  

Es realmente una ciudad hermosa, imagino la emocion al llegar al campo de cricket ya que esto era algo tan deseado para usted.

Lo que me da mas curiosidad dentro de todo es el por qué visita la cárcel, es la segunda vez que la encuentro en un artículo metida en una cárcel así que no puedo evitar sentir curiosidad por ello ya que no es un destino turístico común para quienes van por ahí visitando ciudades.

 10 months ago 

Umh... I love history. As a tiny tot, my father told us about Australia and how convicted criminals from England and Ireland were sent there. The same as our Robin Island.

When I studied law, I was fascinated by stories from all over the world of prisoners who were wrongfully executed. One of them was Colin Ross who was not only wrongfully convicted but also executed. Best of all, he was brutally left to hang for a long period of time as the ropes that were used failed. This happened at the Old Melbourne Goal.

And then there was Australia's "white law" which was the same as our apartheid which I am totally against.

In the end, it just all added up to me making an effort to pay this jail a visit.

Entiendo, si viene a Venezuela no solo le aconsejare, sino que le suplicaré que por favor no visite ninguna prisión. Son lugares realmente peligrosos (las de mi país).

 10 months ago 

I've seen some of the prisons of your country in the series "Banged Up Abroad." They are indeed scary.

Claro, no son como las prisiones que acostumbras a visitar, estas no son cárceles sino el centros de operaciones de las mafias. Es importante eso de investigar siempre antes de ir a un sitio, al menos ya tenias una imagen de lo que son, por eso siempre digo que eres genial!

 10 months ago 

Awh thank you! ☕

My dream city!!! Stil donno the reason, maybe the effect Aussie team made in my childhooD!!

 10 months ago 

Exactly! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 10 months ago 

Thank you!

Impressive beauty of the city landscape. The modern architecture of the city looks memorable. This post inspires you to travel. Nice description of the post. Thank you very much.

 10 months ago 

Thank you! ☕

 10 months ago 

This is a very lovely place where all three seasons can be seen. Similar weather has started here too.

 10 months ago 

It is THE city to visit when you are in Australia.
Thanks for the visit and the engagement.☕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55350.85
ETH 2319.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33