The silent watchmen of our lives

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 days ago



If there is one smell I will never forget, it is the smell of a eucalyptus tree.

It was among these trees that we played hide-and-seek. It was under the shade of one of these trees where my grandpa would take his afternoon rest, and it was from the leaves of these trees that my grandmother would boil some leaves for us to inhale when we had the slightest of coughs.

Yes, there is so much more to trees than shade and beauty.

Many of us have personal memories tied to trees. I have already mentioned mine to you. What can yours be? The treehouse your dad built for you and your siblings, those initials that you carved together with the “love of your life,” or can it be for the branches that kept you safe when things got too much?
Trees, they are the living monuments of our lives. The silent watchmen that will keep our secrets, challenges, milestones, and those changes in our lives.

My mom loves trees. I can remember how she would always tell us stories about the three children. I can remember so clearly when she told us to look out the windows of the car at the trees instead of fighting where we were sitting in the back seat. Not that it really helped me, as I was always sitting on the right side of the car, behind my dad. Instead of watching the trees on the other side of the road, I would be daydreaming or counting the cars passing by.

My mom is no longer the woman she used to be. She now has Alzheimer's.
Not long ago, she and my sister came to visit me. When I took her for a drive around town, her very first words were, “Kyk net die mooi bome.” She saw the beauty of the trees and reminded us. I just looked at my sister in my rearview mirror, and we both silently shed a tear. It was clear evidence that trees offer a moment of stillness and connection.

For us, it was evidence that Mom would be okay. She might live in her world, but we are certain that it is full of trees. It was also a reminder of the importance of taking time to breathe and appreciate the world around us.

When I saw this contest, I went in search of a photo of trees I took some time ago and found them amongst the 1,046 photos of trees I have on my phone.

Many moons ago, I would travel 120 kilometers to visit my eldest grandchild for the day. Now that is 120 kilometers there and 120 all the way back home. My mom often traveled with me, as she did not like me traveling on my own.

Saturday, February 4, 2017, was one of those visiting days. It was on our way back home that Mom saw the most beautiful trees.



We were already past them when I slammed breaks, made a U-turn, and turned into the farm gate. We were in awe as we were traveling on the ground road and, at times, through pools of water.

We sat there in silence among the trees for a couple of moments, just holding hands.



Looking back now, I count myself lucky that I took some photos that day, even more fortunate that I still had those photos on my phone, and that I can now appreciate that special moment even more.



Next time you encounter a tree, take a moment to reflect on its role as a quiet observer in your life and appreciate the silent wisdom it offers.



Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  
Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @petface and received a bonus from the curation account of the WOX community. Only the posts that are original, not cross-posted and posted from the Xpilar community page qualify.

WOX_BONUS_Curation_Trail.png

 yesterday 

Thank you!

I am so sure that I will not certainly be able to stand the smell of the tree if i comr near it actually

 5 days ago 

Awh it is a wonderful smell... clean and earthy.
In Austalia you can buy eucalyptus sweets. When you suck them it is as if you can taste the smell.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 5 days ago 

Thank you!

 5 days ago 

Que buen mensaje dejan estos árboles en tu vida, silentes pero duradero, fieles en el tiempo. Los árboles son símbolo de vida y testigos de grandes recuerdos.

Gracias por compartir tus pensamientos.
¡Un fuerte abrazo!

 5 days ago 

Oh yes! Trees are vital components of our planet's health and our own well-being.
When I wrote the post, I was actually debating over the heading. Must I make it "Trees of life" or "The silent watchmen of our lives."
Well, the latter got the upper hand; as you've stated, trees are "witnesses of great memories."

Thanks for the visit! ☕

Those trees symbolises special moments and memories that lives in the heart of men for years to come

 4 days ago 

Indeed they do! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Saya mencoba mencari di google apa itu ekaliptus, semula saya mengira itu adalah pohon kayu putih, yang di gunakan sebagai obat penghangat badan. Ternyata kayu putih adalah salah satu spesies ekaliptus, dan ekaliptus sendiri mempunyai aroma yang meneduhkan dan di gunakan sebagai obat batuk dll. Trimakasih patjewell sudah berbagi informasi bagi saya khususnya melalui cerita anda. Sejahtera selalu untuk anda.

 4 days ago 

It is for me to say thank you for the visit! 🎕

Awesome photograph of tree and inspiring post..
As always.. is you..

 4 days ago 

Thanks my friend! 🎕

With all my pleasure...

 5 days ago 

@patjewell. This article is now being scheduled for featuring on our WOX channel on Telegram, https://t.me/woxchannel.

Everyone is also invited to join ChatSteemBot on Telegram through this link: https://t.me/SteemBot or scan the QR Code on the flyer below. Thanks.

v3.png
World of Xpilar Telegram Channel | Chat SteemBot on Telegram

 5 days ago 

Thank you! ☕

CONGRATULATIONS!!

Your post has been supported by THE DEC TEAM. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.

Black Modern Personal LinkedIn Banner_20240801_181829_0000.jpg

 23 hours ago 

Thank you! @aaliarubab

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62