[Club75] A City on the Danube, Budapest 💫 🏛️ 🌁 🇭🇺

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am ending this series with my article on Budapest, the last city of my Central Europe tour, which I shared last week. It was a great pleasure for me to prepare this series. Since it has been a long time, it was like a flashback to those days for me. I hope I can start my travels again in the near future, but in the current situation, it seems that we can only get a glimpse of the past.

IMG_20191210_205515_764.jpg

The building that impressed me the most in Budapest was Fisherman's Bastion. So I would like to start my article with this impressive building. This magnificent structure was built in 1902 and took its name from the fish market located near the region in the middle ages. The structure, located on the Buda side of the city, is also on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List.

IMG_20191210_144750.jpg

This structure allows you to feel yourself in a Disney movie. It also offers a great view of Budapest as it is located quite high. There is more. At the very center of the fisherman's bastion is the 11th-century Church of Matthias (Mátyás Templom). Maybe it would be more accurate to just share a post on the Fisherman's Bastion. As you slowly climb towards the top of the structure, you will see Margaret Island, Chain Bridge, Budapest Parliament Building, St. Stephen's Basilica landscapes appear.


IMG_20191210_141534.jpg

Church of Matthias

IMG_20191210_150723.jpg

St. Stephen's Statue


The next magnificent building is the Hungarian Parliament Building. This building, located on the side of the Danube, was built in 1902 just like the Fisherman's Bastion. This building is also located in the Pest part of the city. Although it was built 100 years ago, it is architecturally important.


IMG_20191211_162337.jpg


One of the most important symbols of Budapest is undoubtedly the Chain Bridge 🌉. The bridge connecting the two sides of the city, Buda, and Pest, is located on the Danube river. The importance of the bridge is that it is the first bridge to connect these two sides.

This famous bridge was built in 1849 and was beyond history for the time it was built. The bridge was built on a smaller scale than a bridge in England and parts were made in England. It was later brought to Budapest by ship.

IMG-20191210-WA0137.jpg

Another beauty of the bridge is that it is open to both vehicular and pedestrian traffic. Crossing the bridge, you can see wonderful views from both sides of the Danube. Because of the lions at the entrance of the bridge, the bridge is also called the Lion Bridge. There is also an urban legend about this subject. Legend has it that the bridge's engineer, Clark, is very confident in his work. He claims that his work is flawless, whereupon the children say that the lion has no tongue. On this mistake, Clark commits suicide. I hope the story is not true.


Speaking of a sad story, let's take a look at the part of the city that has the most hurtful and sad story.

IMG_20191211_145800.jpg


What are these metal shoes on the banks of the Danube? Unfortunately, the story is very, very sad. During the Second World War, the Jews in Budapest were shot by removing their shoes and their dead bodies were thrown into the Danube. The shoes here were made to represent the exact shoes of the people who died in this massacre. It has been a monument reflecting the bitter face of this terrible war.

Another point with a great view of the city was Budapest Castle. We went here after dark and on a very cold day❄️🌫. Since the castle was already in an elevated position, it was colder compared to the city. The foggy weather added a different atmosphere to the scenery.

IMG_20191212_184913.jpg

When you look at the view of the city from the castle, the famous Chain Bridge draws attention. It must be great to sit there on a hot day and enjoy the view of the city.


That's all I can tell you about this beautiful city. I hope you like it.

Finally, it's power-up time🚀. The first goal is to be a Dolphin🐋

Ekran Resmi 2022-02-25 22.28.56.png

See you soon 🙃

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

You brought us together with very rich content, as always :) It is clear from the architecture that the city has a deep-rooted history. If I go to Budapest one day, I have an idea about places to visit thanks to you :) I can feel how happy you are with your beautiful smile in the photos :) The story of the monument on the shores of the Danube was very sad :( The view in the last photo is magnificent :)

I can't tell you how happy your beautiful words made me. I have a huge smile on my face now. I hope you have a chance to go to Budapest one day and remember me 🥰

 2 years ago 

I'm glad to hear that :)) Thanks for your good wishes, I hope I can visit there someday :)

Your post tempted me to read the rest of your publications and let me tell you I loved reading them. It's like sitting on my bed here in Pakistan, touring different cities. Budapest is beautiful, so is Prague and Vienna. It's one of my dream to rour around the Europe, starting from Turkey, admiring all the historical and cultural beauty and then moving towards the Scandinavian countries. Beautiful post.

Thanks for your beautiful comment. I also enjoyed writing the articles. I hope your journey will come true and we will have the opportunity to read your memories with pleasure. 😊

Great job!

Your high-quality post has been upvoted by the Lifestyle curator team managed by @o1eh. We enjoyed reading it a lot.

Follow @steemitblog to update the latest information about Steemit.

Thank you for your support🥰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49