You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #club5050 Grow Your Own Mushrooms (Power Up 24 Steem)

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

How wonderful. Putting mushrooms on my food for many, many days isn't a problem for me. We love mushrooms at home, raw for salads and carpaccio (with basil pesto mayonnaise); for pasta, risotto and pizza. We used to get them fresh in the supermarket, until about 5 years ago. Now we hardly ever see them and when we do, they are very expensive. It is cheaper to buy them canned or in jars. Three days ago I went to a supermarket in my neighborhood and I saw them fresh at 14$ per kilo. I bought a jar and the equivalent price was 12$ per kilo. Of course we would prefer them natural, harvested directly from that wonderful little box.

Loved visiting this post, @petface. Wish we could see some recipe of yours where you use the mushrooms from your harvest. Cheers :)

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi there @marlyncabrera I have never tried a mushroom carpaccio and I love the sound of it. Oh dear, the world is going crazy lately, fresh mushrooms should be accessible to everybody. I guess it is hard to grow them where you are based and the fresh ones in the supermarket are maybe all imported which makes the price go up. Over here in London in an average supermarket part of a chain you can buy a family pack, six hundred and fifty grams of fresh white mushrooms for £1.40. This is a bit more than what they charge for two pints of milk and nearly as much as what a dozen of large eggs is priced at. I haven’t bought a jar of mushrooms for ages so I am not quite sure how much one is right now to be honest. But I am curious to find out whether it will also be cheaper compared to the fresh vegetables.

I am really pleased that you like my article. What a brilliant idea to actually post a recipe which I used some of my homegrown mushrooms for. I visited a fantastic flower show today and my tomorrow’s post will be all about it. But keep an eye out, I will make sure I post a recipe for a delicious meal including mushrooms next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26