WOX TRAVEL CONTEST | WEEK 6 | Morocco, MarrakechsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR11 months ago (edited)

I'm writing this with all my respect for the victims and those who lost their lives in Morocco after the devastating earthquake that hit them a few days ago.

I'll share my journey as i saw it, without holding back anything!

This is the first picture i took - the Medina, the old city. The dog on the scooter was completely unfazed by anyone and i really liked that. It made me feel like people here care about their animals.

P1060835.JPG

Koutoubia stands as the biggest mosque in Marrakech. It's famous for this tower that reaches a height of 69 meters and spans almost 13 meters in width. There is a story that goes around, suggesting that the muezzin, the person who calls for prayer, could actually ride up to the top balcony of the tower. I can't personally vouch for the accuracy of this tale, as i haven't been inside or taken that ride myself 😜

P1060836 1.JPG

Typical street for the old town. The buildings are constructed in a way that the streets are narrow and the buildings themselves aren't tall. And the cat? Well, it couldn't care less 😁

P1060839.JPG

The door is typical for Berbers and Muslims - it's made of wood and metal. It's beautifully crafted, adding a sense of freshness and romance.

P1070060.JPG

When i visited the country, i didn't see much street art, i only managed to take this photo even though i was on the lookout, as i love street art! Fatima, she was the daughter of Prophet Muhammad, and her husband was Ali. For Muslims, Fatima is like the second-best woman, just after the Prophet's mother. She's seen as a role model for being really good. So Fatima's hand is often depicted in blue because people believe this color wards off the evil eye and repels negativity from others. Souvenirs and jewelry featuring this image are sold everywhere. I can say it is like a symbol of Morocco. ✋ 🧿

P1070069 1.JPG

This kind of craftsmanship and architecture are very typical of the Muslim population and Morocco is no exception. They've certainly put in the effort and skill to achieve this beauty and I'd say coziness as well.

P1070070 1.JPG

Djemaa el-Fna Square is always crowded with people. For me, it was a big shock and i felt disgusted by the people there. What i saw were intoxicated snakes, monkeys on chains, birds on chains and they were even selling chickens... 🔴

P1070258.JPG

The women who call you to get a henna tattoo are incredibly aggressive and don't leave you alone. On the very first day, one of them grabbed me and started drawing lightning fast. She requested payment so i handed her some cash. But then she began shouting at me i gave her more, but she kept shouting. On the third try, i gave her some more and just walked away and she continued yelling. When i calculated how much money i had left her, it was 40 euros! I've never encountered such aggressive and rude behavior on any of my trips and I've traveled a lot! 🔴

P1070262.JPG

At night, on that very square, lots of musicians show up and it becomes quite a noisy scene. When you step aside to check out what is going on, people quickly come up to you, yelling and requesting money. They acted as if i were some sort of troublemaker. It was really unpleasant! 🔴

P1070074.JPG

During our daytime walks in the old town, we encountered people everywhere. Even the little ones, who seemed to be under 5 years old, came up to us selling trinkets, but that's just the surface. Automatically they would start begging and you can imagine this is encouraged by their parents. Despite the numerous police presence, one person managed to reach into my pocket, luckily finding it empty as my important belongings were elsewhere. Another common thing is that various people approach you, trying to take you to some supposedly amazing place. I had been warned about them by the hotel staff and avoided any harm, but there were others who fell victim to theft. Also, it's crucial to avoid eye contact and wear sunglasses if possible. This helps fend off at least some of the attempts to pull you in and start conversations. Another odd thing for me was that in cafes there are cups left tied with ropes. Anyone who is thirsty can have some water, which is quite humane, but the question of hygiene remains... 🔴
The mistake i made was that i was only with a female friend. If i had known that having a man in the group changes the locals' behavior and makes them less aggressive, we definitely wouldn't have been just the two of us.

P1070256.JPG

P1070255.JPG

Looks like the sheep is a football fan. 😄

P1070237.JPG

The Bahia Palace, which translates to Brilliance, is a visual and mental treat. It was built as a personal residence for Sidi Moussa, a former slave who managed to rise in the hierarchy. Sidi Moussa constructed it as a gift for his beloved. The palace is striking due to its traditional mosaics, intricately carved wooden ceilings, marble and painted doors. Materials from all corners of the world were brought in to create this masterpiece. People do incredible things in the name of love, don't they? 💝

P1060851.JPG

P1060843 1.JPG

P1070041.JPG

I'll finish with the House of Yves Saint Laurent and its incredible garden. It's called Villa Oasis and it truly lives up to its name! Creating a place that's impeccably maintained, filled with various types of cacti and palms, feels like an oasis and a masterpiece. The colors of the house and the flowerpots complement each other so well creating such a vibrant atmosphere that personally, i felt like I was in Wonderland. I highly recommend visiting it, as well as the palace! ❤️‍🔥

P1070194.JPG

P1070185 1.JPG

P1070193.JPG

In Marrakech, there is a lot of excitement and diversity, but be cautious and don't get swayed by the locals. This way, your stay will surely be even better! Enjoy

Sort:  

I am so sorry that I came to this post so late - not that my vote would have been worth much anyway... but I suppose better late than never, lol!

Mother nature can be truly brutal sometimes and what happened there was absolutely awful.

Also, it's crucial to avoid eye contact and wear sunglasses if possible. This helps fend off at least some of the attempts to pull you in and start conversations.

We have similar circumstance here in South Africa - and yes, it can be very annoying!

Despite all the harassment, it looks like a really beautiful trip all round.

I am in LOVE with that door you captured!!!!

Lovely post! and nice to meet you!

I found this post because of @o1eh and the WOX Community Blogosphere Magazine #120

Wow! It's so nice when someone has taken the time to read the text. Many thanks!!! When I was in Tunisia, people were kind and respectful, and I was very worried about what I experienced in Morocco. If you like architecture, visit Tunisia! Malta and Italy also have very beautiful doors. I love doors, and the work of the people who make them is exceptional! check this post https://steemit.com/hive-109690/@kozanozdra/color-of-the-week-contest-or-blue-week-or-the-blue-doors And many thanks for your time!!!)))

Wow! It's so nice when someone has taken the time to read the text.

My pleasure - and yes, I can relate. It can be so disappointing when you share something and nobody seems to take any real interest...

and I was very worried about what I experienced in Morocco.

Morocco has always been a place I wanted to visit... but now I am not so sure - I would likely get into trouble by the sounds of things, because having lived with that type of harassment on the streets my whole life - my patience for it is rather thin, lol.

Italy is a definite yes though. My mom always wanted to go there and never got to... so I would like to do it just for her!

On my way to check out your door post now :)

 11 months ago 

Respect! I hope the population recovers quickly from this terrible disaster

I hope the country returns to normal soon

 11 months ago 

Your post is nominated for the WOX Booming Support Programme, @booming account upvote.

DesciptionInformationScore
Club Statusclub1001
Plagiarism Free1
AI generated post1
Steemexclusive1
Bot free1
Quality content4
Total score9
Verified by@o1eh13.09.2023

 

Only the posts that are original, not cross-posted and posted from the Xpilar community page are nominated. If your post gets an approval, then you get an upvote within a few days.
 
Good luck! @o1eh
 
wox.PNG

many thanks!

 11 months ago 

Morocco's old town is a great space to explore. Splendid!

Thank you for bring me along with your amazing travel to Marocco.. reading this make me feel like i'm there with you .i really hope people in Marocco will recover fast after the earthquake..

 11 months ago 

Thank you for sharing your journey and experiences in Marrakech, Morocco. It's clear that you had a mix of wonderful and challenging moments during your visit. The pictures you've included give a great visual insight into your adventure, from the vibrant streets to the impressive architecture and gardens.

Your cautionary notes about some of the more aggressive behaviors and approaches by locals in tourist areas are valuable advice for future travelers. It's always important to stay aware and take precautions while exploring new places.

Overall, your post provides a well-rounded view of your trip, and it's evident that Marrakech left a lasting impression on you. Thank you for sharing your story and advice with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45