Contest | Trapped in my dream | @khamarasteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago (edited)

20210118_223540_0000.png

I woke up with a start. My heart was violently pounding in my chest. I touched my cheeks and felt hot tears profusely streaming down my face. I realized at that point that I was muttering no! no! repeatedly under my breath. I was confused at first then I remembered, I remembered the horror I just escaped.

...

It started out happy. I had this feeling of anticipation and I was anxious for something to happen. The environment I was in was familiar. I recognized it to be our family house, the one we live in at the moment.

In the dream I was alone in the house. I realized the anxiousness and anticipation was because my family was due to arrive on that day. They'd gone away on a weekend trip. On the day they left I had an argument with my mum about something I couldn't even remember. I just knew that whatever it was, it was stupid and that was the reason I was left behind.

They left on a Friday and were due to arrive on Monday by noon. I had three days alone to think long and hard about what I'd done and said and all I could feel at that time was regret and remorse . I missed my family terribly, the depth of this emotion surprised me because as much as I wanted to be alone sometimes I never want to be left alone again this long with the knowledge that they were somewhere having fun and laughing without me.

I cleaned and arranged the whole house, I even prepared my mum's favorite dish in preparation for their arrival. I looked at the clock and it was 11:45 am. I couldn't stand the wait any longer so I left the house and walked down the road towards a junction I was sure they'd come through. I got there by 11:51 am . I stood by the street corner looking at every car that approached hoping it would be them. It felt like I stood there for hours but it was just 12:01 when I checked the time again. It's funny how time seems to crawl when you are anticipating something.

By 12:03 I saw and recognized the familiar red Toyota car which was the family car. I felt a huge smile start to form on my face as I started to wave with both hands at them. Just as they were about to make a right turn , a Jeep appeared from the opposite side at a high speed. It all happened in slow motion. I remember seeing the Jeep hit our car. The driver realizing too late stepped on the breaks but the Jeep didn't stop immediately because of its initial speed. I watched my dad lose control of the steering wheel because of the impact. The car went into a skid and finally stopped. The doors on the side the car was hit looked really bad. I didn't approach the car afraid of what I'd find. Memories of the fight with my mum and other things I had done came rushing in and all I could do at that moment was cry and shout no! no! repeatedly hoping that my worst fear hadn't come true.

I don't exactly remember what made me wake up but I was grateful that I had. The amount of relief I felt at the thought that it was all a nightmare is unexplainable. After I calmed down and wiped my tears I prayed. First thanking God that it didn't really happen then begging Him to never let it happen. I made a silent promise to myself that I'll be better towards my family and with the memory of this nightmare ingrained into my mind I can definitely pull it off.

CC;
@xpilar
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Greetings friend @khamara

Interesting dream, a dream with many things to think about, as you well say, served to make you understand that you must be better within the family.

Thank you for your entry to the contest.

Participant #35

#affable

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

So fear de catch u too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56512.08
ETH 2344.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33