Pivot.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 months ago

20240207_065247.jpg

“There's a fine line between heroic persistence and foolish stubbornness. Sometimes the best kind of grit is gritting our teeth and turning around” - Adam Grant

We can have laser-like focus and the greatest of intentions, life plans or goals but sometimes… life happens! Sometimes, despite our grandest efforts, things just don’t go according to plan or like we envisioned them to. This can obviously have a small or large impact in our lives, depending “what it is” that shifts its course.

Personally, I have had some seriously life changing diversions and de-rails over the years and if there is one lesson I have now got acutely drummed into my head, it is that you HAVE to learn how to pivot in life. “Adapt or die” is probably a slightly more blunt way of phrasing that, lol - but essentially it is one and the same.

I guess you could say that there is a delicate balance between being realistically and passionately dedicated to a dream, goal or vision versus clinging to something even when it is either failing or is no longer feasible for you.

I won’t lie and say that I am a lover of change - especially when it comes to something that I have put a lot of effort or resources into, but the reality is… even when it is hard to swallow, change is often the best thing for us. Sometimes it affords us the clearer perspective we have been needing.

As I have mentioned around here a couple of times before, I used to own a design and print business in Cape Town. I had that business for 11 years and one December whilst visiting my dad for the holidays, I got an email that literally changed my life forever. My landlord was not going to extend my two shop leases and I had one month to get out.

shopcopycatz.jpg

The amount of emotion which flooded me in that moment is almost impossible to describe. Eleven years!!!! That was my BABY, my livelihood, my bread and butter money. I had staff who depended on my business too. It was a mammoth thing for me to process because moving premises was simply not an option. To have to set up an entire new shop was just not something I was in a financial position to do… so I was left with little to no choice. Shut it down.

From January the next year, my shop was gone and my entire life was standing open like a big gaping wound. I sold the “business” to my shop manager at a good price - as in the customer base and the machinery etc. as it was the best compensation I could come up with, short of telling him that he no longer had a job after 9 years of being my right hand man, and he continues to run it to this day. Sure, I could have run it from home too, but after 11 years, I was tired and regardless of the fact that I was unlikely to have made such a bold move without being prompted - in hindsight it was my greatest blessing and precisely what I needed. I have never looked back.

20240207_065330.jpg

Change is inevitable, and yes, sometimes it can be hard to accept or adapt to it. But instead of resisting or fearing change, you can learn to embrace it and see it as an opportunity for growth and improvement - even far better opportunities than what we initially thought possible. Perhaps you discover new interests or talents which you would never have considered before. You may also learn new skills or knowledge that can help you in your personal or professional life… and it is ALWAYS good to broaden your skill sets.

I think the most important thing is that you don’t let change get you down, but look for the silver lining in every situation. Don’t let change happen to you, but rather… make it happen FOR you, by being intentional about it. You can take charge of your life and create your own change, instead of waiting for it or reacting to it.

“Accept the fact that you are the pivot along which the loads of your efforts will turn. Acknowledge yourself as the chairperson at the center of affairs management for your dreams. Take the chair and be at the fore-front.” - Israelmore Ayivor

20240207_065342.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

jaynielea.png

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

One of the hard lifelessons I've had to come to terms with is that — even though it is often admired and lauded — persistence and loyalty-to-a-fault can sometimes be a "cover story" that allows us to look at a deeper layer in which... maybe we're terrified of admitting to failure, or terrified of what happens if we quit and start in a new direction.

Like when I was young and stupid, staying in a marriage for 13 years, even though it had "ended" after about three...

We live and we learn...

Absolutely!!!!

maybe we're terrified of admitting to failure, or terrified of what happens if we quit and start in a new direction.

I can say this has been applicable to me on more than one occasion in my life for sure! Especially the failure and judgement part.


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ This is a manual curation from the @tipu Curation Project.
Also your post was promoted on 🧵"X"🧵 by the account josluds

@tipu curate

 4 months ago 

Yes, great post. Usually these difficult situations turn in to a blessing in disguise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62