Love and Gratitude for my late mom on International Womens Day

in WORLD OF XPILAR7 months ago

momq.jpg

I know it is International Women’s Day not mothers day, but it is us women who become mothers after all... so I thought I would dedicate a post to my late mom, as well as to acknowledge the gratitude I have for my own role in those same shoes.

My mom may have been gone for almost four years now, but there is not a single day that passes where she does not cross my mind, whether it is the memory of a moment or wishing I could ask her something I need to know - she is always there.

There are many special roles we play as women, but none so special as motherhood. I say this as someone who grew up with a mom who was my best friend. For as far back as I can dig into the recesses of my mind, my mom was always my emotional rock.

FB_IMG_1709893807122.jpg

No, she was not perfect - but neither am I, and now as a mom myself, knowing the trials I face, how could I ever expect that of her... but you know what - she was perfect in my eyes, because despite everything I put her through as a teen, and everything she went through in her own life - she never gave up on me - not even once, not even a little bit - and this stands true for not only me, but for my three brothers too.

We were all blessed to have one of those moms... you know, the GOOD MOMS - that ate the pan scrapings so that you could have that last egg, that would freeze after giving you her jersey if it meant that you would be warm, a mom that would have hot porridge ready for you in the mornings, would tell you again and again how "amazing" you are no matter how much you lacked self-belief, a mom that would drag you by your hair to your room and give you a fat smack after being on the phone to the police because you had not yet arrived home three hours after you were supposed to hehe.... A mom that has unconditional love for her children! - A REAL MOM!

momk.jpg

Honestly speaking, there are no words fit to describe the love and appreciation I have for my mom and everything she did for us. She stood by my side through my darkest times - never losing faith in me! I had actually made the decision not to become a parent when I found out I was already pregnant and yet again she was there for me - toxic marriage and all!

She moved in to my place for Jude and I, when his dad walked out on us after he was born and that is something that I will be eternally grateful for. It was the beginning of my journey into motherhood - something that was supposed to be so beautiful yet it turned out to be so incredibly challenging - and she was there for me every single step of the way.

Some years back, I had a conversation with my own son and I asked him… "what would you do without your mom?" - his response? "I would probably die". Well, never were truer words uttered.

momy.jpg

Motherhood may not have been a part of my original plan in life, but would I change it? Absolutely not. Not for the world. I may want to strangle my little man some days, but let me tell you... the days he is not here - even for a few hours, everything in my life feels incomplete and empty, because he IS my world. I may not be a perfect mom, but I am the best mom I know how to be - just as my own mother was.

Motherhood can often be such a thankless job and I am forever thankful that I had you as an example of what a mom should be. I am ever grateful to you MOM, for instilling in me - the value, importance and MAGNITUDE of a Mother, so thank you. I am blessed to have had you as my mom and to have known you as the incredible woman you were. And now, I too am blessed to wear the same shoes as a woman and mother to my own (not so little anymore) man.

mom.jpg

Happy International Women's Day to all the beautiful ladies here on Steemit!

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

jaynielea.png

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  
 7 months ago 

Loved every word of your post.

Beautiful beyond words.

And your mom, I could see the love she has for you and your siblings in each of her pictures. She is the beautiful, humble, and full-of-love kind of mom. Your post was a treat to read.

Am I crying? No, it's just the allergy or maybe the flu.

Thank you sweetheart! I appreciate that!

And your mom, I could see the love she has for you and your siblings in each of her pictures. She is the beautiful, humble, and full-of-love kind of mom. Your post was a treat to read.

She really DID love her kids AND her grandkids more than anything in this entire world. We were all very blessed.

Am I crying? No, it's just the allergy or maybe the flu.

aaaaaw :( Hugs angel!

xxx

You are such a beautiful human @soulfuldreamer

Hope you are having a most magical start to your week!

Women is always a name of love and support and here you are showing your gratitude for all women at this women's day.
Basically main dedication of your's is to late moms not generally to all women at this special day....
I love your way to show love for womens ❤️

Yes, you are right - and that was precisely how I felt about it too :) Women in ALL their facets and positions should get appreciation on such a day.

Thank you for stopping by to read @khursheedanwar

Have yourself a wonderful week!

Pleasure that you respond at my post 💗
I agree that there should be focus on women appreciation

Most welcome @jaynie

Felicidades en tu día amiga


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ This is a manual curation from the @tipu Curation Project.
Also your post was promoted on 🧵"X"🧵 by the account josluds

@tipu curate

Many thanks for the wishes @joslud :) and also for the tip :)

Happy Women's Day, may it be wonderful and creative.

Thank you very much @antonioeviesart :) It was a lovely day, thank you!

 7 months ago 

Happy day to you, because I am sure that with the example you have received from your mother, every day you can become a better version of yourself.

Your son's words are probably true. I still have my mother, and although I will not die when she is gone, it is certain that many things will change in my life, since she, at 78 years old, continues to be a fundamental pillar in my life.

Happy day to you, because I am sure that with the example you have received from your mother, every day you can become a better version of yourself.

I certainly hope so @oneray :): and thank you!

since she, at 78 years old, continues to be a fundamental pillar in my life.

Absolutely! She always will be. Whether she is around or not. Yes, life goes on... and we continue to carry them in our hearts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.15
ETH 2428.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65