Listen to the Words.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 months ago

20240321_180107.jpg

“Words can do a lot
Make sure you use them properly". - Damodhar L. Vanjari.”

My mom always told me to listen to the words. The following of that advice has impacted my life in more ways than I can recollect. Yes, she was referring to the lyrics of songs because they are the passionate, emotional and creative stories of the artists themselves, but leave it to me to take it too far.

I have been “listening to the words” and overthinking ALL OF THEM since close to my inception, and it is very much a love/hate relationship I have with myself. Not quite what she meant when she uttered that encouragement in my direction, I know - though, if I look back at her life now that she’s gone, I would probably say perhaps “it was” how she lived her story and also - the apple didn’t fall very far from the tree.

20240321_175733.jpg

“There is something about words. In expert hands, manipulated deftly, they take you prisoner. Wind themselves around your limbs like spider silk, and when you are so enthralled you cannot move, they pierce your skin, enter your blood, numb your thoughts. Inside you they work their magic.” - Diane Setterfield

There is a quote by Frank Ocean which says “When you're happy, you enjoy the music but when you're sad, you understand the lyrics.” - or as my once boyfriend said to me “only depressed people listen to the words” which made me react with a thought process resembling “whattheactualfuck”.

Then I read another quote tonight that went something along the lines of “life is great for the thinkers but hell for those that are emotional” - lol, not entirely untrue - but even worse for the ones which are emotional and over-thinkers! - Welcome to my world.

20240321_180745.jpg

I have always loved being an “emotional thinker” but I do have to say that it is undeniably obvious that this world is just not geared, steered or even coached for people like me.

It is like we are faced with two extremes these days - those who are inadequately equipped emotionally and in denial of anything which appears to make them appear vulnerable or what society deems “weak”- and then there are those who are equally ill equipped on the above counts but are over confident and don’t know how to “read a room” yet seem to consider nobody but themselves. Neither are great… and honestly, I don’t know what to do with either, nor myself amidst it all.

20240321_180209.jpg

I broke down into tears the other day, like tears beyond tears - weeping. It was a sad state of affairs, but it was necessary and long overdue. It afforded pent up relief, but not really any answers. The gas was gone out of the bottle, but hey - guess what, all of the emotions were still there - so was the confusion & lack of clarity which caused all the emotions in the first place as well as the respective thoughts which accompanied me in the process of self-drowning.

Oh man, what it would be to not “think” and “feel” as much as I do. I like to try and convince myself that life would be easier, but the reality is - I have lived with the opposite end of the spectrum for most of my life and as much as my emotions and thoughts are hard to deal with at times - they at least afford me the open door for personal growth. What I have witnessed from those that have an inability to truly FEEL, makes me truly sad, because their lives are emptier for it.

20240321_174632.jpg

“When you're drowning you don't think, I would be incredibly pleased if someone would notice I'm drowning and come and rescue me. You just scream.” - John Lennon

You can lock the doors, tape up all the windows, shove the backs of chairs under the knobs or built a moat and yes, you will keep out a lot of the hurts and pain, but you will simultaneously prevent yourself from EVER experiencing anything which sets your soul on fire and if you have never felt your soul on fire with true passion, then you have not lived.

I want to live. I want to feel it all, good and bad - this is how I grow as a spiritual being. It is how I discover your soul and learn about my own. This is my road forward - without it I would be crippled and numb. This is why I listen to the words - All words from every facet.

20240321_181032.jpg

“There exists, for everyone, a sentence - a series of words - that has the power to destroy you. Another sentence exists, another series of words, that could heal you. If you're lucky you will get the second, but you can be certain of getting the first.” - Philip K.

Words are like ethereal messengers of the soul - They are not characters written on paper or sounds uttered into the ether; they are the conduits through which a heart finds its truth. Words are companions of introspection, gently walking their way through our thoughts. They breathe life into the silent soul.

20240321_182047.jpg

“Words are like eggs dropped from great heights; you can no more call them back than ignore the mess they leave when they fall.” - Jodi Picoult

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

jaynielea.png

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

Amazing, very beautiful natural scenery photos, I like it👍

Many thanks @midiagram :)

Ok my friends🙂

This post has received a 100.0 % upvote from @boomerang.

I thought you were talking about me here;)

They say life is miserable for intelligent people for they dive deep in everything, and are hard to satisfy on superfacial levels.

I guess they were talking about prople with high emotional intelligence, people like you, people who have empathy, people who write, and people who think before they write.

A deep read💫

Well, I like your perspective of emotional intelligence ;) so i'll take it - thanks :D

I wish we weren't so damn rare lol - would make life a whole lot easier if there were more people around me that could actually understand my level of living.

A deep read💫

Thanks for taking the time to read it and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts xxx

Hope you have an awesome Wednesday!

If people were that understanding this world would be a heaven, which it is not, unfortunately:(

So, gotta bear their stupidity:p

Good day to you too jaynie!

Hearing that is a key to maturity. We will be able to become more aware if we listen a lot. What often happens is that we don't want to listen completely and understand the communicator's intentions. We immediately cut the sentence before it finishes speaking so that the perspective becomes different. Usually this is based on emotion. Without knowing what the problem is, we immediately give #comments until what happens is a misunderstanding.
Thank you for sharing positive things with everyone.
Warm greetings from Indonesia

 4 months ago 

Well, here's one of those occasions where synchronicity is almost spooky!

I wrote a post today that's remarkably similar to this and has remarkably similar observations to yours even though I had not had a chance to prevoiusly sit down and read your lovely piece here. Perhaps the oddest thing about it is our having an almost identical reaction to almost the same words - yours from a past boyfriend and mine from listening to a podcast - in which somebody asserted that "only depressed people listen to the lyrics,"and both of us getting supremely annoyed with that!

Would that goosebumpy moment out of the way, I have to say that I am quite grateful for being an emotional chronic overthinker. I think life would be very dull and monochromatic absent this push-pull dynamic of feeling and analysis.

Words are spells, magical in their way...

<3