From Night Owl to Early Bird - Meandering through Life.

in WORLD OF XPILAR16 days ago

20240508_073449.jpg

First things first, I am kicking off this post with "proof of getting off my butt" this morning, lol - evident in the above photo which I snapped at the beginning of our walk this morning. As I mentioned in my "the lies we tell ourselves" post yesterday - I am trying to get back onto the health and fitness bandwagon.

We are sort of doing it as a family this time around, so hoping it sticks a little easier haha! We decided that on Wednesdays we would break the "gym style" routine of morning workouts and go for an early morning walk instead. Just as good for you and all that fresh air... DELICIOUS! And yes - I did the cold plunge again. Honestly, I would love to do the cold plunges at the lagoon... but the walk home in wet clothing is not very appealing - though I suppose we could do that on some of the other mornings.

20240508_073905.jpg

“Let me have a draught of undiluted morning air. Morning air! If men will not drink of this at the fountainhead of the day, why, then, we must even bottle up some and sell it in the shops, for the benefit of those who have lost their subscription ticket to morning time in this world.” - Henry David Thoreau

If I look at my almost fifteen year old son @judethedude and how much he pushes the boundaries of time in the evenings and how I myself was so much a creature of the night when I was younger, I would probably never believe you if you told me that there would come a time in my life when I would desperately try to get to bed at a decent hour, get in some decent hours of sleep and actually want to wake up and greet the early morning air.

Dave and I were laughing at ourselves in the kitchen the other day as he showed me a meme about old people and their birdwatching, lol. So close to home for the both of us as we specifically buy wild bird seed every month, have three bird baths in our garden and regularly banter about all those who frequent our garden, haha! It has gotten so bad (or good) that the franklins actually fly up to our back sliding door now to demand their food, lol.

3ghldfg6igr61.webp
Image Source

Yip, that is pretty much me in a nutshell and my expressions are probably similar when admiring the passing sunrises and sunsets. I suppose, the flashing strobes and night lights got my full attention for a fair portion of my life - it only makes sense that it is time to move on to different things - which tend to come with less aftermath too, lol.

It is interesting really how we move through life, with our priorities and habits changing ever so slowly along the way that often we don't really even notice it until we actually take a moment to stop and think about it all and then suddenly realise just how much has actually changed!

20240508_074131.jpg

The more things change, the more they are the same.

Then, on the flipside of that coin - I think about the above quote. I can't remember who I was talking to, but we were expressing how amusing it was that as kids you don't ever really think about your parents being young. You just see them as they are, as if they were born at the beginning of parenthood haha!

Time, life and its stages as we go through it all have not really changed much at all over the ages - only some of the details. I am pretty sure Jude looks at me in a similar manner to how I used to see my parents or grandparents... just OLD and highly uncool, haha!

20240508_074803.jpg

Yet, here I am - still feeling like I am 18 years old (in some ways - definitely not my knees, lol) and beginning to enter a completely new phase of my life, exploring new things I plod along, navigating my way through it all - happily so! It is very difficult not to see the beauty and magic in it all... life, I mean. Sure it has it's ups and downs and sometime more of the latter than the former, but that does not make it all any less fascinating.

One of the things I appreciate more about the current stage of my life versus being younger is that I definitely feel more connected to self now than I ever have before and for that, I am very grateful. I am quite in love with the mornings now and I have missed too many already, so definitely need to make up for lost opportunities :)

20240508_074938.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

image

Join me on other Social Media

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67495.61
ETH 3713.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66