Drawing for Brenda

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

Hello to all art lovers !!! and especially of family portraits made with traditional techniques. ^ _ ^

Dibujpo Para Brenda.jpg

We start a new week, many hate Mondays for being the first day of the week, but on rare occasions Mondays manage to be the best day of the week, especially when a project starts, I still haven't been able to start any of the mine, since I still want and need to learn several things to be well oriented in what I really want to do in my life, but for this I still need a little more experience and especially better manage my time.

I already discovered that my thing is to be a digital illustrator, it is where my drawing shines the most, that is one of the reasons that I do not do already complex arts with traditional techniques, but a few days ago a colleague of my Avivarte work which I wish that This pandemic passes soon to return to work as a drawing teacher, something that I miss a lot, my current job generates much more income, but that of drawing teacher I enjoyed it much more and it made me feel better as a person, more than forcing myself to improve as a draftsman, returning to the subject, Brenda was one of those in charge of the administration of the academy who always liked my drawings very much, she called me asking me to make a portrait of her with her whole family, I as she had been owed a birthday drawing, I told him that he would do it and that he would send me the photograph by mail, so I dusted the drawing board and all my pencils, and began to start this portrait, in which I would try to get out of my zone a of comfort when drawing in a style with which I have almost no experience and "realism" is not my strength.

Reference Photography

FB_IMG_1592374686137.jpg

The one in the magenta dress is Brenda, and the rest are her family members.

Separadores para Web-01.png

Step by step

P1120540.JPG

I know that it is not very noticeable by the line, but for me this is the most important point of the whole drawing, because here all the elements must be distributed on the sheet, so that everything will fit exactly and no character is left out of the sheet.

P1120543.JPG

A sketch must be made to begin the second sketch, which is where the elements of each person within the drawing begin to be defined, and it is recommended to start with the person who is in the foreground of the photo.

P1120544.JPG

Then follow the people who are in the background and so on.

P1120545.JPG

P1120547.JPG

Here the sketch of the sketch is finished, at this point is where all the contours begin to be traced.


P1120548.JPG

You should always draw from right to left, so as not to dirty the sheet, or what had already been drawn.

P1120550.JPG

When finishing the first character, move on to the next one very carefully, not to soil the one that was previously drawn.

P1120551.JPG

Here I can define all the tones that you would use with the other people in the portrait.

P1120553.JPG

In the use the same values applied the second portrait of this image.

P1120554.JPG

And the same goes for this woman, only I had to be more subtle with the blur.

P1120574.JPG

In this woman's dress I had to make the flowers of the pattern first, and then fill the entire dress with dark tones.

P1120577.JPG

Finally, the portrait of Brenda was almost everything with the blurring tool, both for the skin and for the dress.

Separadores para Web-03.png

A summary of all the work


Paso-a-paso.gif

With this drawing I discovered that I prefer digital more, because I have more control and I feel that I have no limitations, on more than one occasion I saw errors, those annoying ones that you only notice after having finished the piece and that could no longer be corrected, because Trying to do so would end up ruining and staining, to the point that you would have to start over. I know that traditional drawing is not very common in my blog, but it never hurts to show some variety, more than I would love to know your opinion about this work, because this style is one that I do not master, and I feel that I still lack much to improve.

Technical information:

Traditional drawing
The applied technique was the pencil: HB, 3H, H, 2B, 3 B
It was drawn on Opal Cardboard 29.9 x 22.5 cm
Full resolution: 3015 x 2248 px at 300 dpi
Finishing touches made with Adobe Photoshop CC 2015

Thank you very much for reading my post

What are your criticisms and comments about this drawing, what would you improve?
Please let me know in the comments below.
I hope you liked my work
See you in a future post

Inu-Jim

Inu-Jim LOGO.png

Copyright @inu-jim –Allrightsreserved

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

I really enjoyed all the narration about this drawing, with those details in the live of the artist that made the work more close and valuable. About the drawing I just can see that is perfect, if it has errors I'm sure those only you know!! My recommendation would be, keep working also on the traditional techniques!! :)

Thanks for share on the World of Xpilar!!


Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89