Aragorn Charging Into Battle - Speed Painting Time LapsesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

aragornthumb.png

Hello everyone, today I would like to share my process in creating a digital painting of Aragorn from Lord of the Rings charging into battle. This piece was done over several hours on GIMP using a wacom graphics tablet and there is a timelapse video at the end of the whole process.

Step 1

I create the background using a few of the general colours from the original image.
1.png

Step 2

I then create the overall gesture of him and the horse. I am not too worried about the accuracy at this point just creating the general form.
2.png

Step 3

This step required greater accuracy. On a new layer I lowered the opacity of the previous sketch and started a line drawing with some block colours.
3.png

Step 4

Using a new layer I create the black and white tones for the piece. I will then set this to multiply so that the colours beneath will become darker depending on how dark they are in this one.
ianfeearagornblavkandwhite.jpg

Step 4

This step involved adding more tones to the colours and an overlay layer for where the light would hit.
ianfeearagorncolours.jpg

Step 5

Combining all the layers produced this result. I am almost finished however, there are some small things I want to fix such as the face and the background before I finish.
ianfeearagorn.jpg

Step 6

I pay extra attention in the accuracy and colours in the face before I finish as this is the main focal point of the piece. I also add in the background soldiers with a lower opacity. This came from the original photo as it was less important for the overall piece but provided context.

Finished!


aragorn.png


Below is a timelapse with some Lord of the Rings music added to the background. Enjoy :)


Thanks for checking out the post and for all your support! :)

-@iansart

Sort:  

Hello iansart!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Hi friend, an excellent painting, it looks great, thanks for sharing! Greetings!

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50