Commission #39 Manned Raid Scorpion | Digital Art

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Hello there! I have returned with more commissions for @smanuels, in spite of being immersed in the Inktober, I still continue working hard on the Digital Art and this time I have elaborated a manned machine in the shape of a scorpion, completely comfortable to be manned and with a weaponry that would completely destroy a country if its crew members wanted it, it is capable of resisting any type of attack with the agility and dexterity that makes its structure famous.

Due to its arachnid shape, it can maneuver over any terrain, making it one of the best machines to move over land, but I believe that very deep waters are not its strong point, so it is normally used in arid terrain such as the desert in which it is found in this scene. So, come on board and see the process of illustration of this machine.

Tools:

  • Wacom Intuos 4
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

-Step 1:

Once I promised that I would show you the many sketches that I make until my idea is molded, because that day has arrived, you can finally see how layer after layer I am building the foundation for each illustration.

-Step 2:

Once the sketch is ready, in a lower layer, add the base tones for each element, separating the silhouette from the scorpion in a separate layer, all in order to use the "clipping mask" option later to color it without leaving the edges.

-Step 3:

The client asked me that the surface of the scorpion be made of chromed metal, so I added white lights and saturated colors to try to emulate the reflection of the environment. To achieve this I had to look for some references on the internet that would help me understand how light reflects from the polished metal.

-Step 4:

The landscape was a little forgotten, so I went to work on it, to not have an empty blue sky, I used the brushes provided by Imad, specifically those in the "clouds" section (obviously), so I turned off the "opacity by pressure" and "size by pressure" options and let the brushes do their thing, I must say I was impressed, they are ideal for conceptual art since they save you a lot of time and give you a realistic finish if you choose the right colors.

For the pyramids I had to use a real image, paint over it and then duplicate it and modify its tonal value a bit, in order to obtain a semi-realistic surface according to the clouds. The sand was a challenge, one in which I failed, I tried to make it realistic but for some reason I found its texture and colors too difficult. :c

Tell me in the comments that you imagine when you see this illustration.


I'll leave you a little gif with the whole process in it, so you can better appreciate the step by step.

See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

@HADLEY4RT

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87